back to press releases

Senate Republicans Fill Leadership Posts

Senator Glenn Coffee Senator Glenn Coffee

State Capitol, Oklahoma City – Republicans in the Oklahoma State Senate have selected their leadership team for the 2007-08 legislative sessions, Co-President Pro Tempore designate Glenn Coffee announced Wednesday.

Coffee, who was elected co-president pro tempore designate by his caucus on Tuesday, named Senator Owen Laughlin of Woodward to serve as Republican co-floor leader.

Coffee also announced that Senator James A. Williamson of Tulsa will serve on the Senate GOP’s leadership team as Republican leader emeritus.

On Wednesday, the Senate Republican caucus elected the following senators to leadership positions:

  • Senator Randy Brogdon of Owasso as assistant co-floor leader
  • Senator Mike Mazzei of Tulsa as assistant co-floor leader
  • Senator Kathleen Wilcoxson of Oklahoma City as whip
  • Senator Cliff Branan of Oklahoma City as whip
  • Senator Clark Jolley of Edmond as whip
  • Senator Todd Lamb of Oklahoma City/Edmond as caucus chair

“This talented team will do a great job working for the people of Oklahoma in the State Senate. It is an honor to serve with this fine group of leaders,” stated Coffee, R-Oklahoma City.

Coffee said committee co-chairs and membership will be selected at a later date, and will be announced jointly with Senate Democrats.

Republicans gained two seats in the 2006 elections, which led to a historic 24 to 24 tie in the Oklahoma State Senate. Earlier this week, Republicans and Democrats announced a power-sharing agreement.

Contact info
Senate Republican Leadership Assistant's Office: (405) 521-5654