back to press releases

Morgan Announces Democratic Leadership Team

Senate President Pro Tempore Mike Morgan Tuesday announced the members of his Democratic leadership team for the 51st Oklahoma Legislature.

Morgan, D-Stillwater, named Senator Charlie Laster, D-Shawnee, as Democratic co-floor leader.

“I have complete confidence in Senator Laster’s ability to work with his Republican counterpart in managing the daily floor activities in the Senate. As chairman of the Senate Judiciary Committee for the last two years, Senator Laster has deftly navigated difficult waters to emerge as a respected leader in the Senate.”

On Tuesday, Morgan also announced the selection of the following senators to leadership positions:

Jeff Rabon, D-Hugo, as Co-Assistant Floor Leader;
Jay Paul Gumm, D-Durant, as Co-Assistant Floor Leader;
Susan Paddack, D-Ada, as Democratic Whip;
Charles Wyrick, D-Fairland, as Democratic Whip;
Nancy Riley, D-Tulsa, as Democratic Whip;
And Kenneth Corn, D-Poteau, as Caucus Chairman.

“I am honored that these talented senators have agreed to serve on the Democratic leadership team. Each one of them is committed to doing their part to ensure that the Senate continues to serve the people of Oklahoma as this great institution has for the last 100 years,” Morgan said.

Morgan said he will jointly announce committee co-chairs and membership with Senate Republicans later this week.

Following the Nov. 7 elections, the Senate will be evenly split with 24 Democrats and 24 Republicans for the 51st Oklahoma Legislature.

Contact info
Senate President Pro Tem's Office: (405) 521-5605