back to press releases


Senate Co-President Pro Tempore designate Glenn Coffee announced his appointments for Republican committee co-chairs today.

As part of the historic power-sharing agreement announced this week, each Senate committee will have equal numbers of Democrats and Republicans, as well as a co-chair from each party who will share the responsibility of running the committee.

“This is the first time in state history that Republicans will have a significant impact on the legislative process in the State Senate. We look forward to adding our new leadership and fresh ideas to the Senate committees during the upcoming legislative session,” stated Coffee, R-Oklahoma City.

Coffee’s appointees as Republican co-chairs are:

Appropriations Committee:

Appropriations co-chair: Sen. Mike Johnson, R-Kingfisher;
Appropriations co-vice chair: Sen. David Myers, R-Ponca City;
Education subcommittee co-chair: Sen. Clark Jolley, R- Edmond;
Health and Social Services subcommittee co-chair: Sen. Brian Crain, R-Tulsa;
Human Services subcommittee co-chair: Sen. Patrick Anderson, R-Enid;
Natural Resources and Regulatory Services subcommittee co-chair: Sen. David Myers, R-Ponca City;
General Government and Transportation subcommittee co-chair: Sen. Randy Brogdon, R-Owasso;
Public Safety and Judiciary subcommittee co-chair: Sen. Jonathan Nichols, R-Norman;

Standing committees:

Agriculture co-chair: Sen. Ron Justice, R-Chickasha;
Business and Labor co-chair: Sen. Harry Coates, R-Seminole;
Criminal Jurisprudence co-chair: Sen. Anthony Sykes, R-Moore;
Education co-chair: Sen. Kathleen Wilcoxson, R-Oklahoma City;
Energy and Environment co-chair: Sen. Brian Bingman, R-Sapulpa;
Finance co-chair: Sen. Mike Mazzei, R-Tulsa;
General Government co-chair: Sen. Cliff Aldridge, R-Midwest City;
Health and Human Resources co-chair: Sen. Todd Lamb, R-Edmond;
Judiciary co-chair: James A. Williamson, R-Tulsa;
Public Safety and Homeland Security co-chair: Sen. Don Barrington, R-Lawton;
Retirement and Insurance co-chair: Sen. Bill Brown, R-Broken Arrow;
Rules co-chair: Sen. Mike Schulz, R-Altus;
Tourism and Wildlife co-chair: Sen. John Ford, R-Bartlesville;
Transportation co-chair: Sen. Cliff Branan, R-Oklahoma City;
Veterans and Military Affairs co-chair: Sen. Jim Reynolds, R-Oklahoma City

Coffee said he will select and announce his appointments of the Republican members to the Senate committees at a later date.

Contact info
Senator Coffee's Office: (405) 521-5654