back to press releases

Senators Taylor, Capps, Rabon Picked to Fill Leftwich Posts

(Oklahoma City) Senate President Pro Tempore Cal Hobson announced today the appointment of two veteran senators to fill key committee chairmanships that had been held by the late Senator Keith Leftwich.

Senate President Pro Tempore Emeritus Stratton Taylor, D-Claremore, will assume chairmanship of the Senate Transportation Committee. Senator Gilmer Capps, D-Snyder, will chair the Senate Appropriations Sub-committee on General Government and Transportation.

Hobson also announced that second-term Senator Jeff Rabon, D-Hugo, will assume responsibilities as Majority Whip.
“Senator Leftwich’s value to the Senate can be easily seen in the fact that it will take three very qualified men to fill his leadership roles. I am confident, however, in the abilities of the senators who have agreed to take these important posts,” said Hobson, D-Lexington.

Taylor is a 26-year veteran of the Legislature, having served longer as the leader of the Senate (8 years) than anyone in state history.
Capps’ 33 years of service in the upper chamber makes him the dean of the Oklahoma State Senate. He will continue to chair the standing committee on Aerospace and Technology and as an Assistant Majority Floor Leader.

“Senators Taylor and Capps are proven leaders in whom I have unwavering confidence and for whom I have tremendous respect,” Hobson said.

Rabon was elected to the Senate in 1997 and is chairman of the Senate Finance Committee.

“Senator Rabon is a bright young man who is wise beyond his years and has earned a chair at the Senate leadership table. He will bring a southeastern Oklahoma voice to our team,” Hobson said.

A special election to fill Leftwich’s senate seat for the three remaining years of his unexpired term is scheduled for later this year.

Contact info
Senate Communications Division - (405) 521-5605