back to press releases

Senators Take Their Oath of Office

Senators take their Oath of Office in the Senate Chamber on Statehood Day. Senators take their Oath of Office in the Senate Chamber on Statehood Day.
Oath of Office Ceremony

Newly elected and reelected members of the Oklahoma State Senate took their Oath of Office during a ceremony Tuesday in the Senate Chamber. The Oath was administered by Oklahoma State Supreme Court Vice-Chief Justice Steven W. Taylor.

In his last official act as President Pro Tempore of the Senate, Sen. Glenn Coffee presided over the ceremony. Coffee said it had been an honor to serve in the chamber and congratulated those members taking the oath of office, including Senate President Pro Tempore Designate Brian Bingman, R-Sapulpa. He will be formally installed in that position in January.

“I think it is very fitting that our members were sworn in on Statehood Day. We have a tremendous history and heritage to build upon, and I’m looking forward to working with all of our members in the coming session,” Bingman said.

Other returning members who were sworn in included Sean Burrage, D-Claremore; Roger Ballenger, D-Okmulgee; John Sparks, D-Norman; David Myers, R-Ponca City; Anthony Sykes, R-Moore; Tom Ivester, D-Sayre; Harry Coates, R-Seminole; Randy Bass, D-Lawton; Bill Brown, R-Broken Arrow; Mike Schulz, R-Altus; Cliff Branan, R-Oklahoma City; Cliff Aldridge, R-Midwest City; and Constance N. Johnson, D-Oklahoma City. (Due to a scheduling conflict, Andrew Rice, D-Oklahoma City, took the Oath of Office on November 5.)

New members of the Senate include Mark Allen, R-Spiro; Josh Brecheen, R-Coalgate; Eddie Fields, R-Wynona; Frank Simpson, R-Springer; Kim David, R-Wagoner; Rob Johnson, R-Kingfisher; David Holt, R-Oklahoma City; Rick Brinkley, R-Owasso; and Ralph Shortey, R-Oklahoma City.

The full Senate will return for an organizational day on Tuesday, January 4, 2010, with the First Session of the 53rd Legislature formally convening on Monday, February 7.

Contact info

Senate Communications: (405) 521-5774