back to press releases

Senators To Take Oath of Office

The newly and re-elected members of the State Senate will officially begin their terms when they take the oath of office at 10:30 a.m., Tuesday, November 19th. The ceremony will take place in the State Senate Chamber with Chief Justice Rudolf Hargrave administering the oath.

Those re-elected members being sworn in on the 19th include the following:

  • Gilmer Capps, D-Snyder
  • Glenn Coffee, R-OKC
  • Johnnie Crutchfield, D-Ardmore
  • Kevin Easley, D-Broken Arrow
  • Ted Fisher, D-Sapulpa
  • J. Berry Harrison, D-Fairfax
  • Cal Hobson, D-Lexington
  • Mike Johnson, R-Kingfisher
  • Robert M. Kerr, D-Altus
  • Keith Leftwich, D-OKC
  • Jim Maddox, D-Lawton
  • Angela Monson, D-OKC
  • Scott Pruitt, R-Broken Arrow
  • Frank Shurden, D-Henryetta
  • Stratton Taylor, D-Claremore
  • Bernest Cain, D-OKC, also re-elected to another term in the State Senate was administered the oath of office in an earlier ceremony.

Newly elected members taking the oath of office on November the 19th include:

  • Kenneth Corn, D-Poteau
  • Jay Paul Gumm, D-Durant
  • David Myers, R-Ponca City
  • Daisy Lawler, D-Comanche
  • Harry Coates, R-Seminole
  • Randy Brogdon, R-Owasso
  • Cliff Branan, R-OKC
  • Cliff Aldridge, R-Midwest City.

As a result of the November elections, the Democrats will control 28 seats in the Senate, while the Republicans will control 20.

The members of the 49th legislature will convene in regular session on January 7th, 2003 at noon for an organizational day, and then reconvene on Monday, February 3rd. The constitutional deadline for Sine Die adjournment is 5 p.m., Friday, May 30th

Contact info
Senate Communications Division - (405) 521-5605