back to press releases

Senators Take Oath of Office

Twenty-four newly elected and returning Senators take the oath of office on Thursday
Oklahoma Supreme Court Joseph M. Watt administers the oath of office to 24 new and reelected senators on Statehood Day 2006

Twenty-four members of the Oklahoma State Senate took the oath of office on Statehood Day, Thursday, November 16, 2006, in the Senate chamber.  The oath was administered by the Honorable Joseph M. Watt, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.

Newly elected members sworn in were Sean Burrage, D-Claremore; Roger Ballenger, D-Okmulgee; Joe Sweeden, D-Pawhuska; Brian Bingman, R-Sapulpa; John Sparks, D-Norman; Anthony Sykes, R-Moore; Tom Ivester, D-Sayre; Bill Brown, R-Broken Arrow; and Andrew Rice, D-Oklahoma City.

Returning members taking the oath of office included Kenneth Corn, D-Poteau; Jay Paul Gumm, D-Durant; Johnnie Crutchfield, D-Ardmore; Mary Easley, D-Tulsa; David Myers, R-Ponca City; Mike Johnson, R-Kingfisher; Harry Coates, R-Seminole; Glenn Coffee, R-Oklahoma City; Randy Bass, D-Lawton; Randy Brogdon, R-Owasso; Mike Schulz, R-Altus; Cliff Branan, R-Oklahoma City; Cliff Aldridge, R-Midwest City; Debbe Leftwich, D-Oklahoma City; and Constance N. Johnson, D-Oklahoma City.

Freshmen members will return to the Capitol on Friday, November 17, to begin orientation, with a second day of orientation slated for December 5.

The full Senate will return for an organizational day on Tuesday, January 2, 2007, with the First Session of the 51st Legislature formally convening on Monday, February 5.

For more information, contact:
Senate Communications Office - (405) 521-5774