back to press releases

Senators to be Honored for Higher Education Support

Senate President Pro Tempore Mike Morgan and Co-President Pro Tempore Glenn Coffee have been named recipients of the Lifetime Achievement award by the Higher Education Alumni Council of Oklahoma (HEACO). The leaders and other members of the Senate will be formally honored next week during HEACO’s annual meeting. The ceremony will be held at noon on Thursday, July 24, at the Nigh University Center of the University of Central Oklahoma.

Morgan, who is leaving office this year due to term limits, said he was extremely honored by the HEACO award.

“When I first came to the State Senate 12 years ago, I recognized how crucial it was to support higher education and help more students gain access to our colleges and universities,” said Morgan, D-Stillwater. “We’ve expanded Oklahoma’s Promise and provided funding for capital improvements that will benefit our entire state. It is gratifying to see what we have accomplished.”

Coffee said he too was honored to receive the Lifetime Achievement award, and would continue to make higher education a top priority during his final two years in the Senate.

“Creating more Oklahoma college graduates and more economic opportunities to keep them in Oklahoma are keys to greater personal prosperity and a better quality of life for all our citizens,” said Coffee, R-Oklahoma City. “I’m proud that we’ve created a permanent funding source for OHLAP, that we’ve continued to dedicate resources for endowed chairs at our state’s colleges and universities, and that we’ve provided hundreds of millions of dollars in new funds for higher education in recent years. Our investments in higher education are an investment in the future of Oklahoma.”

Senate Appropriations Co-Chairs Mike Johnson, R-Kingfisher, and Johnnie Crutchfield, D-Ardmore, will be recognized with the HEACO Distinguished Service award, while Sen. Patrick Anderson, R-Enid, has been selected for the Courage of Convictions honor.

Freshman State Sen. Sean Burrage, D-Claremore, will be honored with the Legislative Newcomer award, given for his resolve and commitment to higher education’s needs during his first two years in the Senate.

Contact info
Communication's Office: (405) 521-5774