back to press releases

Senate Republicans Designate Senator Coffee as Next President Pro Tem

Sen. Glenn Coffee Sen. Glenn Coffee

Republican state senators unanimously voted to designate Sen. Glenn Coffee, R-Oklahoma City, to be the next President Pro Tempore of the Oklahoma State Senate. The President Pro Tem is the Senate’s top leader.

“I am honored and humbled by the confidence my colleagues have shown by entrusting me with the leadership of our caucus,” stated Coffee.

“Senate Republicans have the issues on our side, and we are confident that Oklahomans will make history in 2008 by electing the first-ever Republican majority to the Senate. As Republicans have already shown while sharing power in the Senate the past two years, we are ready and able to lead the Senate in bringing positive and innovative changes to Oklahoma,” Coffee said.

Under the rules of the Senate Republican Caucus the remainder of the Senate GOP’s leadership team will be chosen following the general election this November.

Coffee currently serves as Co-President Pro Tempore under the power sharing agreement that governs the evenly divided State Senate. As part of the Senate’s power sharing arrangement, Coffee became the first Republican in history to serve as the Senate’s President Pro Tempore in July 2007.

The Senate has 24 Republicans and 24 Democrats, but a net gain of a single seat in 2008 would make the GOP the Senate’s majority party for the first time in Oklahoma history.

Republicans have had a net gain of at least two State Senate seats every in election since 2000, netting three seats in 2000; two seats in 2002; two seats in 2004; one seat in a May 2006 special election; and two more seats in the 2006 general elections. Conversely, it has been 18 years since Democrats last had a net gain of seats in the State Senate.


- Lives in Oklahoma City with his wife Lisa and their four children, sons Collin and Blaine and daughters Anna and Kate.

- Undergraduate degree in Political Science from Northeastern State University (1989), where he was named Outstanding Senior. Juris Doctorate degree from the University Of Oklahoma College Of Law (1992).

- Member of the Oklahoma County, State and American Bar Associations. Active member of Leadership Oklahoma, Leadership OKC Fast Track and the NSU Alumni Association.

- Recent honors include NSU’s Citation of Merit, Young Alumnus award (2003); Durocher’s “Forty Under 40” (2003), which recognizes individuals who are most influential young business and community leaders in the Oklahoma City metro area; Journal Record’s “Forty Under 40” (2006).

- Member of Phillips, McFall, McCaffrey, McVay & Murrah Law Firm and specializes in the areas of business, commercial and electronic commerce law.

- General counsel to TVC Marketing Association, Inc., a family business providing road service, motor club services, and other services to small businesses.

- First elected to the State Senate in 1998. Leadership positions: Republican Caucus Chair (2000-2002); Assistant Republican Floor Leader (2002-2004); Republican Floor Leader (2004-2006); Co-President Pro Tempore (January 2007 - June 2007; August 2007 - present); President Pro Tempore (July 2007).

Contact info
Senator Coffee's Office: (405) 521-5636