back to press releases

Senate Recognizes State’s Country Stars

Senator Jim Reynolds Senator Jim Reynolds

In the final days of the 2006 Legislative Session, the Senate took a moment to recognize Oklahoma’s outstanding country music talent that was showcased this week in Las Vegas, Nevada at the 41st Academy of Country Music Awards. Senate Resolution 122, by Senator Jim Reynolds, congratulates those Oklahomans who were nominated or won awards as well as the hosts and performers.

“Oklahoma is a hotbed for music talent and that was obvious to everyone that watched the Country Music Awards earlier this week,” said Reynolds, R-Oklahoma City. “We are so proud of these individuals not only for their music, but also for representing our state around the country and the world.“

Oklahomans dominated the Awards not only as nominees and winners, but as hosts and performers. Carrie Underwood from Checotah received four nominations and won the Top New Female Vocalist Award and the Song of the Year with “Jesus Take the Wheel.” Rascal Flatts, whose member Joe Don Rooney is from the Tulsa area, received four nominations and won the Vocal Group Award. Oklahomans Brooks and Dunn were nominated for five awards and won the Vocal Duo Award and Song of the Year for “Believe.” Vince Gill from Oklahoma City won the Humanitarian Award and Toby Keith, a Moore resident, was nominated for Entertainer of the Year. Reba McIntyre hosted the show for the eighth time and Oklahoma performers included Rascal Flatts and Toby Keith.

A copy of the resolution will be distributed to the Country and Western Hall of Fame in Del City.

“Oklahoma has a tremendous amount of talent and there is so much more out there that has yet to be discovered,” said Danny Barton, president of the Country Music Singers Association. “We’re proud of those who were recognized this week and hope that their success encourages others to pursue their dreams just as Carrie Underwood did last year, and look where she is today. The success of these musicians really does wonders for our state.”

Contact info
Senator Reynold's Office: (405) 521-5522