back to press releases

Senate Pro Tempore announces appointees to Capitol repair committee

Sen. Brian Bingman Sen. Brian Bingman
Senate President Pro Tempore Brian Bingman has chosen his appointees to the State Capitol Repair Expenditure Oversight Committee. On Wednesday,
Bingman announced that Sens. Dan Newberry, R-Tulsa, Corey Brooks, R-Washington, and Susan Paddack, D-Ada, will serve on the nine-member, bipartisan committee mandated under House Joint Resolution 1033, the legislation approved last May authorizing a $120 million bond issue to pay for critical repairs to the Capitol building.

The panel is charged with determining the scope and order of repair and restoration work. According to HJR 1033, the group must hold its first meeting no later than September 6, 2014, and has until December 31, 2014, to deliver a preliminary plan to the Director of the Office of Management and Enterprise Services. The committee’s final plan must be delivered by June 30, 2015.

“This magnificent building is a state treasure that belongs to the people of Oklahoma. There is no understating the importance of repairing and restoring this historic structure,” said Bingman, R-Sapulpa. “We must be good stewards not only of the Capitol building, but of the resources we’ve dedicated to ensure its structural and architectural integrity. I want to thank Senators Newberry, Brooks and Paddack for accepting that responsibility.”

The remaining members of the committee include David Thompson, Phil Kennedy and Steve Mason, who were appointed by Gov. Mary Fallin, and Reps. Mark McBride, R-Moore, Earl Sears, R-Bartlesville, and R.C. Pruett, D-Antlers, appointed by House Speaker Jeff Hickman.

Contact info
Pro Tempore Brian Bingman: (405) 521-5528