back to press releases

Senate Honors Sooner Football Team

Sen. Nichols introduces Coach Bob Stoops annd his OU Sooners. Sen. Nichols introduces Coach Bob Stoops annd his OU Sooners.
Reading of resolution honoring Sooners and Coach Stoops.

The state Senate on Wednesday honored the Oklahoma University football team and Head Coach Bob Stoops for their 2010 Big XII championship season and Fiesta Bowl victory.

Senate Concurrent Resolution 3, authored by Sens. John Sparks and Jonathan Nichols, commends the Sooners on their accomplishments on and off the field.

“This team and coaching staff accomplished something truly special this past season,” said Sparks, D-Norman. “In addition to winning another Big 12 championship and rising to the occasion in a BCS bowl game, the team helped their program reach a number of important milestones. They have represented our state and the University of Oklahoma well, and we take great pride in their success.”

The Sooners in 2010 won ten or more games for an NCAA-record 32nd time, and became only the seventh program in college football history to win 800 games. The team also extended the nation’s longest active home winning streak to 36 games.

In addition, defensive back Quinton Carter was awarded the Wooden Citizenship Cup and was one of just eleven players named to the American Football Coaches Association Good Works Team. Offensive lineman Brian Lepak was named Academic All-American.

“I applaud these young men not only for their efforts in the field, but also in the classroom and community,” said Nichols, R-Norman. “The overall accomplishments of this group distinguish them as a truly special team. We salute them for bringing the championship home to Norman.”

Contact info
Sen. Sparks: (405) 521-5553 Sen. Nichols: (405) 521-5535