back to press releases

Senate Honors Sherri Coale and Sooner Women’s Basketball Team

Sherri Coale and members of the OU women's basketball team were honored in the Senate Chamber on Monday. Sherri Coale and members of the OU women's basketball team were honored in the Senate Chamber on Monday.
Audio includes reading of SR 34 and comments from Sen. Sparks and Sherri Coale.

The state Senate on Monday honored the accomplishments of the University of Oklahoma Women’s Basketball team and head coach Sherri Coale, passing a resolution commending the team on another championship season.

Sen. John Sparks authored Senate Resolution 34 to recognize Coale and the Sooner women, who in 2006-07 became the first Big XII program to win back-to-back regular season and post-season conference championships.

“Sherri Coale has lifted the OU women’s basketball program to a position of prominence, both on the court and off,” said Sparks, D-Norman. “Conference championships and NCAA tournament success have become commonplace under her leadership. More importantly, the women’s basketball team has consistently produced some of the highest grade point averages within the athletic department.”

Formerly the head coach at Norman High School, Coale was named head coach of the University of Oklahoma women’s basketball team in 1996. Coale’s leadership produced immediate results and the struggling program was quickly re-established as one of the perennial favorites in NCAA women’s basketball.

Coale’s teams have earned a grade point average of 3.0 or better during every semester she has served as head coach. Four of her teams have been named to the Women’s Basketball Academic Team Honor Roll and 31 of her players have earned Academic All-Big 12 honors.

“Coach Coale has distinguished herself as more than just a basketball coach,” Sparks said. “She’s a master motivator, a role model and a true Oklahoma success story. “

Coale currently serves as President of the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association, is a member of the USA Basketball Women’s Collegiate Committee and was recently inducted into the Oklahoma Women’s Hall of Fame.

Contact info
Senator Sparks' Office: (405) 521-5553