back to press releases

Senate Democratic Leadership Team Announced

The Senate Democratic Caucus announced the remainder of its leadership team Monday after having elected Sen. Andrew Rice of Oklahoma City in November to serve as the next Democratic Leader.

“I was so honored that my colleagues chose me to lead our caucus. It is a tremendous privilege and I’m grateful for this opportunity,” said Rice. “I’m looking forward to working with our colleagues on the other side of the aisle to create public policy that will help strengthen our state’s economy and help move Oklahoma forward.”

Rice will succeed Sen. Charles Laster of Shawnee who has served as Senate Democratic Leader since 2008. The remainder of the Democratic Leadership team includes:

Caucus Chairman:
Sen. Tom Ivester

Caucus Vice Chair:
Sen. Susan Paddack

Assistant Minority Floor Leaders:
Sen. Sean Burrage
Sen. Roger Ballenger
Sen. John Sparks
Sen. Charles Wyrick

Democratic Whips:
Sen. Earl Garrison
Sen. Judy Eason McIntyre

“We have a tough legislative session ahead of us facing yet another significant budget shortfall, but we must not lose sight of the many other important issues that need addressing in order to better our state,” said Rice. “I’m confident that this leadership team, with its strong balance of rural, suburban and urban senators, will be a tremendous asset to the Senate, and to the citizens who elected us. We will work hard in a bipartisan manner to ensure that those citizens’ voices are heard and their needs are addressed in a fair, professional, and effective manner.”

Members of the Senate will officially vote on all of the leadership positions when they convene at noon on Tuesday, January 4 for a constitutionally-mandated organizational day.

Contact info
Sen. Rice: (405) 521-5610