back to press releases

Senate Congratulates University of Oklahoma Women’s Basketball Team

OU Women's basketball coach Sherri Coale addresses the Senate. OU Women's basketball coach Sherri Coale addresses the Senate.
Sherri Coale addresses the Senate.

The state Senate on Tuesday congratulated the University of Oklahoma women’s basketball team for a season that saw the Lady Sooners reach the Final Four of the NCAA Tournament for a second consecutive year. The team is the first in state history to appear in consecutive Final Fours, and one of just eight programs in women’s college basketball history to achieve the feat.

The Lady Sooners played the nation’s toughest schedule, meeting 22 ranked teams through the course of the season, including all four number one seeds of the NCAA Championship. Sen. John Sparks co-authored Senate Resolution 113 to commend the team for their athletic and academic achievements.

“This team and coaching staff accomplished something truly special this season,” said Sparks, D-Norman. “Their consistently exceptional performances against the nation’s toughest competition distinguished them as an elite team. They showed marked improvement throughout the year, an indication of strong coaching and leadership.”

The Lady Sooners finished the season with 27 wins, the sixth most in the program’s history. The crimson and cream had an average home attendance that ranked among the top eight nationally for the fifth consecutive year. The team had three representatives on both the All-Big 12 Conference Team and the Academic All-Big 12 Conference Team.

“The athletic and academic accomplishments of this team are certainly worthy of recognition,” Sparks said. “They showed tremendous perseverance in achieving their goals, and they admirably represented the state of Oklahoma.”

Contact info
Sen. Sparks: (405) 521-5553