back to press releases

Senate Committee approves reappointment of Nisha Wilson to State Board of Behavioral Health Licensure

OKLAHOMA CITY – The Senate Health and Human Services Committee reconfirmed Nisha L. Wilson of Choctaw to the State Board of Behavioral Health Licensure Monday to serve a three-year term ending October 31, 2019. Sen. Ron Sharp carried her nomination in the Senate for Gov. Mary Fallin.

“Nisha has served on this board since 2014 and has done an outstanding job,” said Sharp, R-Shawnee. “She is a great person who truly cares about others. Her nearly 15 years of knowledge and expertise in mental health and criminal justice are a great asset to this important board, and I’m pleased that she was reconfirmed.”

Before serving as the Director of Criminal Justice Services for the Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services (ODMHSAS), Wilson served in ODMHSAS as the Director of Specialty Courts, a Drug Court Administrative Coordinator, a Criminal Justice Specialist, a Mental Health Court Coordinator/Interim Satellite Clinic Director and as a Case Manager and Therapist for the Program of Assertive Community Based Treatment. 

Wilson also is a member of the Remerge Program Committee and as a District Attorney Council RSAT Grant Board Designee.  She previously served on the Governor’s Subcommittee on Treatment Services

She has a Master of Science in Counseling Psychology from Northeastern State University and a Bachelor of Science in Psychology with a Minor in Chemical Dependency Counseling from Southwestern Oklahoma State University.

Created in 2013, the State Board of Behavioral Health Licensure has all of the powers and duties relating to the regulation of Licensed Professional Counselors, Licensed Marital and Family Therapists and Licensed Behavioral Practitioners previously held by the State Board of Health, the State Department of Health, and the State Commissioner of Health.  Under provisions of the Licensed Professional Counselors Act, the Board is authorized to establish and maintain a system of licensure and certification and to adopt and enforce standards governing the professional conduct of persons licensed under the provisions of the Act. The Board consists of eleven appointed members including four licensed professional counselors, three licensed family and marital therapists, two licensed behavioral practitioners and two members representing the public and possessing knowledge of counseling issues.