back to press releases

Sen. Kay Floyd Elected as Senate Democratic Leader

Sen. Kay Floyd Sen. Kay Floyd

The Senate Democratic Caucus announced today they have elected Sen. Kay Floyd (D-Oklahoma City) to serve as Senate Democratic Leader for the 57th Oklahoma Legislature.

Floyd, who currently serves as Senate Democratic Caucus Chair, will succeed Sen. John Sparks (D-Norman) in January of 2019. Sen. Floyd will be the first woman to lead a caucus in the Oklahoma Senate.

Sen. Floyd was elected to the Oklahoma Senate in 2014 after serving one term in the Oklahoma House of Representatives. She previously served as an Administrative Law Judge for the State of Oklahoma, a Municipal Court Judge for the City of Oklahoma City, as Deputy Executive Director of the Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission, and as an Assistant Attorney General for Oklahoma. Sen. Floyd is a graduate of Oklahoma State University and the University of Oklahoma College of Law. She grew up in Ada, Oklahoma.

“It is an honor to be elected by my colleagues to serve as Senate Democratic Leader,” said Floyd. “I thank Senator Sparks for his many years of dedicated public service and I look forward to working every day on behalf of the people of Oklahoma.”

“Kay Floyd is a rock star,” said Sparks. “She will do an excellent job leading the Senate Democratic Caucus.”

Contact info
: Sen. Sparks: (405) 521-5601