back to press releases

Pro Tem-designate, Speaker announce members of bipartisan medical marijuana working group

Sen. Greg Treat Sen. Greg Treat

Oklahoma Senate President Pro Tempore-designate Greg Treat and House Speaker Charles McCall on Thursday announced the lawmakers who will serve on the bipartisan, bicameral working group on medical marijuana implementation.

The legislative leaders announced the formation of the group last week. The first meeting will be July 25. Meetings will be open to the public. The working group will meet with various stakeholders and will make recommendations on a permanent regulatory framework for the implementation of State Question 788.

“The Oklahoma Senate will work to ensure the will of the people is respected. This bipartisan group of senators and representatives will work with stakeholders as we seek to develop a framework that will guide the implementation of a medical marijuana industry. Oklahoma voters made their choice, and the Senate will work to ensure State Question 788 is implemented efficiently, effectively and safely in accordance with the voters’ choice. I appreciate the senators on the working group for accepting the task and eagerly await their recommendations,” said Treat, R-Edmond.

“This group of bipartisan lawmakers will be working diligently with all the stakeholders to determine the most efficient way to enact the will of the voters,” said Speaker McCall, R-Atoka. “Oklahoma is in unchartered territory, and there are still a lot of unanswered questions and differing opinions on how to create the best regulatory framework that ensures patients have access to safe and effective medicinal products. I hope it can be done quickly, but more importantly, it needs to be done right.”

The senators serving on the working group are:
Sen. Greg McCortney, R-Ada, co-chair
Sen. Lonnie Paxton, R-Tuttle
Sen. Darcy Jech, R-Kingfisher
Sen. Julie Daniels, R-Bartlesville
Sen. Michael Brooks, D-Oklahoma City

The representatives working on the group are:
Rep. Jon Echols, R-Oklahoma City, co-chair
Rep. Dustin Roberts, R-Durant
Rep. Scott Fetgatter, R-Okmulgee
Rep. Josh West, R-Grove
Rep. Carol Bush, R-Tulsa
Rep. Steve Kouplen, D-Beggs
Rep. Ben Loring, D-Miami
Rep. Jacob Rosecrants, D-Norman

Contact info
Sen. Treat: 405-521-5780