back to press releases

Impaired Driving Elimination Act 2 passes out of Senate Committee

Sen. Kim David Sen. Kim David
Sen. David discusses DUI program.

The Senate Public Safety Committee gave the green light to the Impaired Driver Elimination Act 2 (IDEA2) Thursday. Sen. Kim David, R-Porter, is the author of Senate Bill 643, which will create the Impaired Driver Accountability Program (IDAP) within the Department of Public Safety for first time DUI offenders while their license is revoked.

“This program will help identify first time offenders who simply made a one-time mistake versus those who have had repeat offenses in the past and need services to address their addiction,” said David. “Those who agree to go into the program must go through a mental health evaluation and have an interlock device for 180 days. During the last 60 days, they must have no positive violations to be able to get their license back. They’ll still be on probation but their record won’t show a revocation, which will keep them from being subject to higher insurance rates and they’ll be able to obtain a job easier.”

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), Oklahoma ranked 51st worst for impaired driving fatality rates from 2000 – 2010. However, Oklahoma has seen a 34 percent decrease in alcohol-impaired crashes.

“While steps have been taken in recent years to strengthen our impaired driving laws, more must be done. In 2014, 154 Oklahomans were killed in impaired driving crashes involving a driver over the legal blood alcohol level,” said David. “One lost life is too many. This program will help decrease the likelihood of first time offenders re-offending, which could save lives and make our roads safer.”

Participants in the IDAP program or who seek driving privileges during a license suspension must pay $50 for an interlock restricted license. Upon completion of the program, there will be no revocation on their license and they will not be charged any reinstatement fees.

The measure makes it a misdemeanor for anyone to operate a non-interlock vehicle for a drunk driver who is in the IDAP program or has an interlock restricted license.

Those who refuse to go into the program will have to have a modified license and an interlock device on their vehicle for one year (rather than the current 180 days) before they can reinstate their license. The revocation will go on their record.

SB 643 was recommended by the Governor’s Impaired Driving Prevention Advisory Council. It is strongly supported by Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD).

The bill will now go before the full Senate Appropriations Committee.

 For more information contact:

 Sen. David: 405-521-5590