back to press releases

Hobson Completes GRDA Board With Appointment of Ada Oilman

(Oklahoma City) Senate President Pro Tempore Cal Hobson has appointed Ada oilman Steven Michael “Mike” Cantrell to the Grand River Dam Authority.

“I am pleased to be able to add Mr. Cantrell to this important board. His contributions to the energy industry in Oklahoma and his volunteer efforts with organizations committed to making his hometown and this state a better place to live will make him an asset to the Grand River Dam Authority,” said Hobson, D-Lexington.

Cantrell is the chairman of Cantrell Energy Corporation of Ada and the former president of Oklahoma Basic Economy, an oil and gas exploration and production company. He was a founding member of the Oklahoma Energy Resources Board and a former OERB chairman.

He is a member of the board of directors of the Oklahoma Independent Petroleum Association and has previously served on the board of the Oklahoma Marginal Well Commission and the Industry Advisory Board for the National Association of Royalty Owners.

Cantrell is a past or present member of the board of directors of the Oklahoma Academy of State Goals, the Oklahoma Foundation of Excellence, the East Central University Foundation, Citizens Bank of Ada, the Jasmine Moran Children’s Museum in Seminole, Leadership Oklahoma and the Oklahoma Heritage Association. Cantrell was also co-founder of the Ada City School Foundation.

The GRDA is an agency of the State of Oklahoma, which produces, transmits and delivers electricity across its 24-county service area in northeastern Oklahoma.

Senate Bill 408, which passed the Legislature last spring and was signed into law by Governor Henry, abolished the old seven-member GRDA board and created a new five member board.

Cantrell will be joined on that board by Henry appointees James Edward Frasier of Afton, David James Chernicky of Tulsa and Terry G. Frost of Afton along with W. Brent LaGere of Chandler who was appointed by Speaker of the House Larry Adair.

Cantrell will serve a term expiring Aug. 29, 2010.

Contact info
Senate Communications Division - (405) 521-5605