Cottage Food Laws

Oklahoma Farm-to-Table Interim Study October 23, 2019

Thanh Tran Urban Farm Manager Farmers' Market Vendor

4 years as farmer in Essex, NY and OKC, OK

3 years Commercial Kitchen/Food Hub in Essex, NY and OKC, OK.



Photo: Commonwealth Urban Farms Farmers Market Booth at Paseo Farmers Market

Presentation Overview

- Cottage Foods Definition
- Cottage Food Laws in Oklahoma
- Cottage Food Laws in Other States
- Cottage Food Law Trends
- Recommended Amendments to Oklahoma Cottage Food Laws

"Cottage" Foods

Cottage food laws are state laws that regulate the sale of small-batch foods made outside of commercial kitchens. They allow small-scale producers to use appliances in their homes to bake, cook, can, pickle, dry or candy certain low-risk foods for sale. By contrast, state laws require all other food producers to process foods in commercial kitchens.

*Exist in 49 States + Washington DC *Share 6 Elements in Common

6 Common Elements of State Cottage Food Laws

- 1. Types of products sold
- 2. Where products may be sold
- 3. Required registration, licensing, permitting, or inspection requirements
- 4. Sales Limitations
- 1. Labeling requirements
- 2. Tiered systems for different types of foods, producers, or sales

Product Type

FIGURE 1. TYPES OF COTTAGE FOOD PRODUCTS ALLOWED'

Allowed Foods Not Limited to a List	E.g., "non-potentially hazardous foods" or "non-potentially hazardous foods, including, but not limited to" or "non-potentially hazardous foods, excluding"	Alabama (home processed products), Alaska, Colorado, Connecticut (cottage food), ² Delaware (cottage food), Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois (cottage food), Indiana, Iowa (cottage food), Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oregon (domestic kitchen), Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, ³ Tennessee, Utah, Vermont (home caterer, exempt food processor), West Virginia, Wyoming
Allowed Foods Limited to a List	E.g., "foods are limited to the following [categories or items]:"	Alabama (cottage food), Arizona, Arkansas, California, Connecticut (residential farmers), ³ Delaware (on-farm home processing), ³ District of Columbia, Illinois (home kitchen), Iowa (home bakery), Kansas, Kentucky, ³ Louisiana, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon (cottage food, farm direct ³), South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Vermont (home bakery), Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin
Does Not Allow Cottage Foods		New Jersey



Product Venues

FIGURE 2. WHERE COTTAGE FOOD PRODUCTS CAN BE SOLD¹

Allows Both Indirect and Direct Sales (including restaurants, retail, wholesale, etc.)	Arizona, California (Class B), Iowa (home bakery), Louisiana (excluding baked goods), Maine, New Hampshire (licensed), New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon (domestic kitchen), Pennsylvania, Vermont (home caterer, exempt food processor)
Allows for All Direct-to-Consumer Sales	Alabama (cottage food), Alaska, Colorado, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois (home kitchen), Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana (baked goods), Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Mexico, North Dakota,2 Oregon (cottage food, farm direct), Tennessee, Utah, Vermont (home bakery), Washington, Wyoming (food freedom) ²
Allows for Direct- to-Consumer Sales Only at Limited Venues	Alabama (home processed products), Arkansas, California (Class A), Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Illinois (cottage food), Indiana, Iowa (cottage food), Maryland, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire (exempt), Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming (cottage food)



Certification Requirements

FIGURE 3. REQUIRED REGISTRATION, LICENSES, AND/OR PERMITS'

Requires Both (1) Food Safety or Food Handler Course for Operator And (2) Registration, Permit, or License for Premises	California, Connecticut (cottage food), ² Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Illinois (cottage food), Kentucky (home- based microprocessors), Minnesota, New Mexico, Utah
Requires Food Safety or Food Handler Course for Operator	Alabama (cottage food), Colorado, Connecticut (residential farmer), Hawaii, Oregon (cottage food), Texas
Requires Registration, Permit, or License for Premises	Arizona, Iowa (home bakery), Kentucky (home-based processors), Maine, Massachusetts, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire (licensed), New York, North Carolina, Ohio (home bakery), Oregon (domestic kitchen), Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont (home bakery), ³ home caterer), Washington, West Virginia (canned acidified foods only)
No Registration, Permit, License, or Food Safety Course Required	Alabama (home processed products), Alaska, Arkansas, Florida, Idaho, Illinois (home kitchen), Indiana, Iowa (cottage food), Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire (exempt), North Dakota, Ohio (cottage food), Oklahoma, Oregon (farm direct), South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Vermont (exempt food processor), Virginia, West Virginia (excluding canned acidified foods), Wisconsin, Wyoming



Sales Limits

OKLAHOMA

FIGURE 4. LIMITS ON SALES'

\$10,000 or less	Colorado (each product or flavor), South Dakota (baked goods sold out of producer's home only), Vermont (exempt food processors), Virginia (acidified products and pickles only), Wisconsin (pickles)
\$10,001- \$30,000	Alabama (cottage food), Alaska, Connecticut (cottage food), ² Delaware (cottage food), District of Columbia, Illinois (home kitchen), Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Hampshire (exempt), Oklahoma, Oregon (cottage food, farm direct), South Carolina, Washington
\$30,001- \$50,000	California, Delaware (on-farm home processing), Florida, Iowa (home bakery), Kentucky (home-based microprocessors), Missouri, Nevada, Texas
No Sales Limit	Alabama (home processed products), Arizona, Arkansas, Connecticut (residential farmers), Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois (cottage food), Indiana, Iowa (cottage food), Kansas, Kentucky (home-based processors), Maine, Massachusetts, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire (licensed), New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon (domestic kitchen), Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont (home bakery; home caterer), Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin (baked goods; by court decision), ³ Wyoming

Labeling Requirements

FIGURE 5. REQUIRED LABELING¹





Oklahoma Labeling Requirements

• Affixed Labels

OK requires a basic label affixed, when possible,
to the product containing the following information.
If a label is not easily affixed to the packaging
of the bakery item, a free-standing label may be placed
by the product or placed on the receipt.

Sample Label

Chocolate Chip Cookies

"Made in a home food establishment that is not licensed by the State Department of Health"

Forrager Cookie Company

123 Chewy Way, Cookietown, OK 73531

Tiered-Systems

FIGURE 6. STATES WITH TIERED COTTAGE FOOD SYSTEMS

State	Tiers
	Cottage Food: limited items; all direct to consumer sales
Alabama	Home Processed Products: broader items; certified farmers market sales only
California	Class A Cottage Food: direct to consumer sales only
California	Class B Cottage Food: indirect sales in certain counties
	Cottage Food: anyone producing low-risk items ¹
Connecticut	Residential Farms: farmers producing jams and acidified canned food on- farm
Delaware	Cottage Food: anyone producing low-risk items
Delaware	On-Farm Home Processing: farmers producing listed items on-farm
Illinois	Cottage Food: variety of allowable foods
minois	Home Kitchen: baked goods only
lowa	Cottage Food: low-risk food items
Iowa	Home Bakery: bakery items including higher-risk items
Kontucku	Home-Based Processors: farmers producing low-risk products
Kentucky	Home-Based Microprocessors: farmers producing higher-risk products

Tiered-Systems (cont'd)

	New Hampshire	Exempt Homestead Food Operation: sales cap; limited sales venues
		Licensed Homestead Food Operation: no sales cap; indirect and internet sales allowed
	Ohio	Cottage Food: listed low-risk foods
		Home Bakery: baked items including higher-risk items
	Oregon	Cottage Food: low risk baked goods and confectionary
		Domestic Kitchen: broad range of allowed foods
		Farm Direct: farmers processing acidified foods with ingredients from own production
	Vermont	Home Bakery: baked goods
		Home Caterer: prepackaged and on-demand food items
		Exempt Food Processor: jarred and packaged products
	Wisconsin	Baked Goods: baked goods allowed, according to court decision
		Pickles and Canned Goods: canned goods allowed, according to state legislation
	Wyoming	Food Freedom: all foods except some meat, poultry, and fish; foods must be sold to an informed end consumer for home consumption only
		Cottage Food: non-potentially hazardous foods; no limit on where food is consumed

6 Policymaking Methods to Legalize Cottage Foods

- 1. Amending the definition of "food establishment"
- 2. Enacting stand alone cottage food legislation.
- 3. Creating administrative regulations on cottage food.
- 4. Providing guidance on state agency websites.
- 5. Enacting food freedom laws.
- 6. Taking cottage food restrictions to court.

Recommended Amendments to Oklahoma Cottage Food Laws

- 1. Expand types of foods that can be sold (i.e. "nonpotentially hazardous foods")
- 2. Expand cottage food sales venues to include restaurants and retail establishments
- 3. Eliminate or increase sales thresholds

References

- Oklahoma's current state law governing production and sales. http://factsheets.okstate.edu/documents/fapc-183-understanding-the-oklahoma-homebakery-act/
- State-by-State comparison as of August 2018
 Harvard Law School Food Law and Policy Clinic (FLPC)
 August 2018 Report (64 pages)
 https://www.chlpi.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/FLPC_Cottage-Foods-Report_August-2018.pdf
- SARE: Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education (Grants and Education to Advance Innovations in Sustainable Agriculture <u>https://www.sare.org/Learning-Center/Topic-</u><u>Rooms/Farm-to-Table-Building-Local-and-Regional-Food-Systems</u>
- <u>https://www.forbes.com/sites/nicksibilla/2019/01/22/hundreds-of-homemade-food-businesses-flourish-under-state-food-freedom-laws/#2f85551b2226</u>
- <u>https://www.foodsafetynews.com/2017/04/two-year-old-wyoming-food-freedom-act-gets-expanded/</u>
- <u>https://law.justia.com/codes/wyoming/2017/title-11/chapter-49/section-11-49-103/</u>
- <u>https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/DEHS_CtgFds_Final_unofficial.pdf</u>
- <u>https://www.chlpi.org/new-yorks-making-easier-makers-start-selling-home-kitchens/</u>