Oklahoma Child Passenger Safety

Issue: Oklahoma ranks 50th in the nation in protecting older children, ages 8-17, in vehicles as the
only state without a law requiring children 8 and older to wear a seat belt when riding in the back seat.
Right now, only those under 8 years old are protected.

Solution: Vote "YES" for a law that protects those 17 and younger in the back seat.
(Exemptions for licensed agricultural vehicles will remain.)

Top 10 states don't let kids
ride Without Seat belts Number of Children Ages 8-17 Unrestrained in Crashes

W Fatal Injuries = Serious Injuries
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Seat Belts: Coverage of Minors
O Required in all seats for children under 18 (40 states + DC)
[ Required in all seats for children under 17 (1 state)
O Required in all seats for children under 16 (6 states)
B Required in all seats for children under 15 (3 states)

'&,ﬂ O No requirement for children over age 8 (1 state)

Source: AAA, 2019



Oklahoma's Child Passenger
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Oklahoma ranks 40th in the nation for
minor passengers killed in crashes.

Riding in a vehicle without a seat belt
is a greater threat to teenage lives

than all forms of violence combined. HALF of these deaths and serious injuries would
have been prevented with proper use of seat belts.

Current Oklahoma law does not meet the
° standards of the American Academy of
\/ Pediatrics and Safe Kids Worldwide.

“Car crashes are the leading cause of death and injury for children in Oklahoma, and yet we are the
only state without a requirement for children over the age of 8 to wear seat belts in the rear seat.
As the father of a 2-year old daughter who was killed in a car crash, the loss of one more child is
unacceptable. It's time to act!”

Sheriff (ret) John Whetsel, National Sheriffs’ Association Traffic Safety Committee Chair, Choctaw

“AAA believes this is about protecting children on our roads. Oklahoma doesn’t have a law
requiring all young people under the age of 18 to be securely buckled, no matter where they sit in
vehicles. It doesn’t make sense to put young people at risk on the road. To dismissitas a
personal rights infringement — as some legislators have — is ludicrous. On behalf of AAA
Oklahoma's 404,000 members, and for safety’s sake, | implore our state leaders to correct this
embarrassing gap in our law.”

Jared Peterson, President, AAA Oklahoma

“In my 30 years in law enforcement, I've never unbuckled a dead person after a crash.”
Deputy James Caskey, Pottawatomie County Sheriff

Data sources: Oklahoma Highway Safety Office, a division of the Oklahoma Department of Public
Safety; Oklahoma State Department of Health; National Highway Transportation Safety
Administration; Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; American Academy of Pediatrics; AAA



These organizations urge you to VOTE YES to protect
children, 8-17, in the back seat of vehicles.

ALL Oklahoﬁa children must be BUCKLED UP for the
healthy future they deserve.




