Oklahoma Senate Committee on Appropriations

2015-16 Performance Report

Oklahoma Energy Resources Board

AGENCY MISSION STATEMENT:

The creation of the Oklahoma Energy Resources Board (OERB) was requested by the oil and natural gas industry. The agency was created by Title 52, OS 288.1 et. Seq. of the Oklahoma Statutes to be effective September 1, 1992 and was amended October 1, 1993, at which time the mission of the agency was adopted.

Specifically, the purpose of the Board is to coordinate a program designed to demonstrate to the general public the importance of the Oklahoma oil and natural gas exploration and production industry, to encourage the wise and efficient use of energy, to promote environmentally sound production methods and technologies, to develop existing supplies of Oklahoma's petroleum resources, to support research and educational activities concerning the petroleum exploration and production industry and to cause remediation of historical oilfield environmental problems.

As a quasi-state entity, the OERB board has focused mainly on two primary functions: to restore abandoned oil and natural gas exploration/production well sites to a usable condition by the landowner; and provide public education about the petroleum industry through public outreach and student education programs.

LEAD ADMINISTRATOR:

Mindy Stitt, Executive Director

Email: mstitt@oerb.com
Phone: 405-601-2277

Address: 500 NE 4th, Suite 100, Oklahoma City, OK 73104

GOVERNANCE:

The Oklahoma Energy Resources Board (OERB) is comprised of 21 members, with twelve (12) members being independent oil and natural gas producers, six (6) members being major petroleum company representatives, two (2) members being crude oil and/or natural gas purchasers, and one (1) member being a royalty owners representative. All Board members, except the two purchasers and the royalty owner representative, who are appointed by the Board, are appointed equally by the Governor, the President Pro Tempore of the Oklahoma Senate and the Speaker of the Oklahoma House of Representatives. Each member must be at least 25 years of age and must have at least five years active experience in the petroleum industry. Terms for members are three years and can be re-appointed without stipulation.

Oklahoma Senate Committee on Appropriations

2015-16 Performance Report

BOARD MEMBER NAME	CLASSIFICATION	APPOINTING AUTHORITY
Mark Aebi	Major	Governor
Thomas Goresen	Major	Governor
Danny Morgan	Independent	Governor
Mike McDonald	Independent	Governor
Tony Maranto	Independent	Governor
Phil Cook	Independent	Governor
Vacant	Major	President Pro Tempore / Senate
Wade Hutchings	Major	President Pro Tempore / Senate
Ronnie Irani	Independent	President Pro Tempore / Senate
David House	Independent	President Pro Tempore / Senate
Tim Munson	Independent	President Pro Tempore / Senate
Russell V. Johnson, III	Independent	President Pro Tempore / Senate
Will Whitley	Major	Speaker of the House
Terry Adamson	Major	Speaker of the House
John Pilkington, Jr.	Independent	Speaker of the House
Clay Gaspar	Independent	Speaker of the House
David Le Norman	Independent	Speaker of the House
Robert V. Johnston	Independent	Speaker of the House
William "Bill" Gifford	Purchaser	Board
Garrett Phelan	Purchaser	Board
Julie Kruger	Royalty Owner	Board

A chairman selected by the Board heads the agency. The Board appoints officers every two years. The officers consist of a chairman, vice chairman, secretary and treasurer.

The committees of the Board are:

COMMITTEE	AREA OF FOCUS
Administrative Committee	Administrative issues
Accounting Committee	Accounting issues
Scholastic Outreach Committee	Student Education issues
Environmental Restoration Committee	Environmental issues
Public Education Committee	Public Education issues
Sustaining Oklahoma's Energy Resources	Industry Research Technology

All committee chairs are board members; however, not all members of the committees are required to be board members.

GOVERNANCE ACCOUNTABILITY:

All board members are volunteers and do not have an attendance requirement. The Board does not have a formal attendance policy.

Oklahoma Senate Committee on Appropriations

2015-16 Performance Report

Oklahoma Energy Resources Board

MODERNIZATION EFFORTS:

None.

The OERB is a quasi-state agency and does not have state employees (FTEs). All functions of the Board are performed through private contracts.

CORE MISSION:

The OERB does not provide any services that are considered outside its core mission. The services the OERB provides are not duplicated or replicated by any other agency.

PRIVATE ALTERNATIVES:

The OERB provides its services at no cost to the State, or its citizens. These services are voluntarily funded by the oil and natural gas industry. All functions of the OERB are privatized.

The OERB is the first of its kind in the nation. Several other states have adopted OERB's program to varying degrees. Those states are Kansas, Illinois and Ohio. Wyoming is currently considering legislation to create a student education program similar to the OERB's.