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Overview 
 
The Oklahoma State Senate convened the 1st 
Session of the 58th Legislature on February 
1, 2020, to tackle a host of issues ranging 
from extending regulatory oversight related 
to marijuana, encouraging economic growth 
in the aftermath of COVID-19, adjusting 
Senate and House Districts to match the 
state’s population, and to continue reforming 
the criminal justice system. The 58th 
Legislature also tackled the issue of rising 
utility bills following the prolonged North 
American winter storms of 2021.  
 
The Oklahoma State Senate welcomed 7 
new members to the body following the 
2020 election, including Senators George 
Burns, Jo Ana Dossett, Jessica Garvin, 
Warren Hamilton, Jake Merrick, Cody 
Rogers, and Blake Stephens. 
 
At the beginning of the 1st Session of the 
58th Legislature, the Senate remained 
cautious as COVID-19 continued to infect 
Oklahomans. Retaining the option for its 
members to vote and appear for Senate 
business remotely, the Senate cautiously 
returned to normal business to maintain the 
safety of the public, its members, and its 
staff. Following the release of the vaccine in 
March to members of the public, the Senate 
began to phase out many of the COVID era 
restrictions it imposed in the 2020 Session.  
 
With the successful expansion of medical 
marijuana growers and retailers throughout 
the state, the Legislature grew concerned 
with the emerging black market. To combat 
these issues, the Senate voted to tighten 
financial and license regulations.  
 
The Senate also addressed matters relating 
to criminal justice reform and public safety. 
The passage of the Sarah Stitt Act and 
various measures relating to “restorative 

justice” as well as bail reform for medically 
frail patients helps to alleviate crowded 
prisons and provides prisoners with a viable 
path to reintegration. The newly created 
Unified State Law Enforcement 
Commission will examine the question of 
unifying state law enforcement entities to 
both reduce the administrative costs of 
public safety as well as increase 
coordination.  
 
Mask mandates and the specter of “vaccine 
passports” also drove the Senate to action 
with the passage of SB 658. The measure 
prohibits any school district from 
implementing a mask mandate without 
consulting the county or state health 
department as well as prohibits the use of 
documents relating to proof of vaccination 
for entry.   
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Appropriations Overview 
 
HB 2900 (Wallace/Thompson) became law 
on May 24, 2021, with the approval of the 
Governor. The measure provided $9.1 
billion in total appropriations, which 
included a $212 million increase for 
common education. Additionally, the Health 
Care Authority a $28 million budget 
increase to incorporate newly eligible 
Oklahomans that qualify for Medicaid 
services.  
 

Subcommittee 
Budget FY21 Total FY22 GA Bill 

Changes 
from 
Original 

Education $3,953,211,053 $4,165,614,219 5.37% 
General 
Government 
and 
Transportation 

$1,019,645,842 $1,005,808,701 -1.36% 

Health $1,543,540,021 $1,761,300,769 14.11% 
HHS $844,317,829 $849,821,728 0.65% 
NRR $172,828,417 $157,248,036 -9.01% 
Public Safety 
and Justice $859,247,741 $891,232,291 3.72% 

Total FY'21 
Appropriation 
vs. Total 
FY'22 
Appropriation 

$3,953,211,053 $4,165,614,219 5.37% 

  

 
 
Additionally, the Legislature needed to 
encourage economic recovery in the 
pandemic’s aftermath. The Senate chose to 
lower individual and corporate income taxes 
in HB’s 2962 and 2960 respectively to 
encourage investment and job growth.  

General and Miscellaneous 
Appropriations Measures 
 
SB 1076 (Thompson/Wallace) directs the 
Oklahoma Tourism and Recreation 
Department to make available matching 
funds to multicounty organizations using 
funds appropriated to it in HB 2900. 
 
SB 1077 (Thompson/Wallace) extends the 
maximum 7% workers’ compensation 
premium assessment for the Multiple Injury 
Trust Fund for a five-year period until fiscal 
year 2027. 
 
SB 1083 (Thompson/Wallace) sunsets 
provisions of law relating to the Oklahoma 
Capitol Improvement Authority issuing 
notes, bonds, or other evidences of 
obligation for the construction of the State 
Health Laboratory on July 1, 2025, if the 
Authority has failed to issue such evidences 
of obligation by the sunset date. 
 
HB 2780 (Pfeiffer/Rader) adds unpaid 
mixed beverage gross receipts tax to taxes 
for which corporations, limited liability 
corporations and other legal entities are 
personally liable. The measure provides that 
a claim for refund of erroneously paid sales 
taxes may only be made if a vendor refuses 
to honor proof of eligibility for sales tax 
exemptions. Additionally, the measure 
authorizes the Oklahoma Tax Commission 
(OTC) to enter into a contract with a state 
agency to assist in the collection of any state 
tax, penalty, or interest in which that agency 
has authority to collect and control. The 
Commission must charge a collection 
assistance fee to the agency equal to 10% of 
the total amount collected. OTC may also 
enter into the same type of contract with the 
Oklahoma Employment Security 
Commission and have the authority to 
collect and enforce unemployment tax, 
penalties, and interest. The OTC may 
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garnish the accrued earnings of a delinquent 
taxpayer by sending notice and specific 
procedures to the taxpayer’s employer and 
places liability on the employer for the total 
amount of delinquent taxes if they willfully 
disregard or refuse a notice from OTC 
regarding the delinquency of an employee. 
The measure also increases the time period 
from 5 days to 15 days, in which delinquent 
taxes must be remitted when OTC contracts 
with a debt collections agency. Additionally, 
the measure removes the name of the 
County Government Education Technical 
Revolving Fund and alters it to an agency 
special account to be used for the collection 
and distribution of documentary stamp 
revenues, the apportionment of which shall 
start in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022. 
Any funds remaining in the revolving fund’s 
reserve account on November 1, 2021, shall 
be transferred to the special agency account. 
The measure also allows OTC to distribute 
funds from the agency special account to the 
Oklahoma State University Center for Local 
Government Technology or the Oklahoma 
Cooperative Extension Service County 
Training Program. The measure also limits 
the liability of incentive payments made for 
film production rebates to the balance of the 
Oklahoma Film Enhancement Rebate 
Program Revolving Fund. 
 
HB 2870 (Wallace/Thompson) authorizes 
the Commissioners of the Land Office to 
pay fees to multiple custodial banks as well 
as investment consultants from certain 
funds. The measure also directs the CLO to 
require written competitive bids for 
custodial banks every 10 years rather than 
every 5 years. 
 
HB 2893 (Wallace/Thompson) modifies the 
apportionment of taxes and fees collected 
from the insurance premium tax to the 
Oklahoma Firefighters Pension and 
Retirement Fund, the Oklahoma Police 

Pension and Retirement System, the Law 
Enforcement Retirement Fund, and the 
Education Reform Revolving Fund.  
 
HB 2894 (Wallace/Thompson) eliminates 
the second year of an insurance premium tax 
apportionment change provided in HB 2741 
(2020).  
 
HB 2897 (Wallace/Thompson) creates a 
revolving fund in the state treasury for the 
Ethics Commission to be known as the 
“Ethics Commission Online Filing 
Revolving Fund.” The fund shall be a 
continuing fund and the deposits to the fund 
shall consist of the first $200,000.00 
designated for deposit to the fund. Monies in 
the fund may be used by the Commission to 
develop, maintain, and administer the 
Commission’s online filing system and for 
payment of fees and charges to other state 
agencies for information technology 
services.  
 
HB 2898 (Wallace/Thompson) provides that 
all monies submitted by sheriffs to the 
Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation as 
processing fees for applications for a 
handgun license are to be deposited in the 
General Revenue Fund beginning July 1, 
2022. 
 
HB 2907 (Wallace/Thompson) directs the 
Oklahoma Conservation Commission’s 
Master Irrigator Program to utilize 
appropriated dollars as follows:  
 
1) $90,000.00 for training and 
2) $50,000.00 for research on the Ogallala 
Aquifer 
 
HB 2910 (Wallace/Thompson) authorizes 
certain state agencies to establish a Capital 
Account Fund consisting of funds from the 
agencies’ standard appropriations for the 
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purpose of maintaining, repairing and 
improving agency property. 
 
HB 2911 (Wallace/Thompson) exempts the 
Department of Tourism and Recreation from 
the requirement that state agencies allocate 
1.5% of expenditures for capital projects to 
the Oklahoma Arts Council to fund the Art 
in Public Places Act. 
 
HB 2951 (Wallace/Thompson) creates the 
State-Tribal Litigation Revolving Fund for 
the purpose of hiring legal counsel and 
paying expenses related to legal 
controversies between the State and tribal 
governments. The measure provides that if 
these provisions are found unconstitutional, 
the balance of the Fund shall be reverted to 
the General Revenue Fund. 
Medical Marijuana, Hemp, and 
Associated Products  
 
SB 460 (Paxton/Fetgatter) authorizes 
industrial hemp growers to remediate any 
industrial hemp so long as all THC is 
removed and it is processed as Cannabidiol. 
 
SB 862 (Paxton/Bush) provides that 
buildings owned by a county or municipal 
government as well as trusts or authorities 
with a county or municipal government as 
the beneficiary to be designated as smoke 
free locations. Such locations prohibit the 
use of tobacco, nicotine, marijuana, or other 
lawful products consumed in a smoked or 
vaporized manner. 
 
SB 1033 (Leewright/Fetgatter) caps the 
number of patients a caregiver may cultivate 
medical marijuana plants for at no more than 
5 licensed patients. The measure provides 
for medical marijuana establishments to 
maintain a building within 1000 feet of a 
new school building provided the license for 
such an establishment was granted prior to 
the establishment of the building or there 

was an error of measurement as it relates to 
the distance of the dispensary from the 
school. The measurement shall be based on 
the distance in a straight line from the school 
door nearest the front door of the retail 
marijuana establishment to the front door of 
the retail marijuana establishment. The 
measure also clarifies that any original 
medical marijuana business license issued 
on or after June 26, 2018, by the Authority, 
for a medical marijuana commercial grower, 
a medical marijuana processor, or a medical 
marijuana dispensary shall be deemed to 
have been grandfathered into the location on 
the date the original license was first issued 
and provides for the grandfathered status to 
be transferred is a change in ownership 
occurs. The Medical Marijuana Authority 
shall not deny any issuance or renewal of 
licensure, deny any transfer of licensure due 
to a change in ownership, or revoke any 
license due to mistake in measurement by 
the Authority. The measure authorizes 
municipalities to object to the continued 
licensure of the grandfathered medical 
marijuana dispensary when it is operating 
contrary to the required setback distance 
from a public or private school. Upon the 
municipal government providing the 
required documentation outlined in the 
measure, the Authority shall not renew or 
transfer the medical marijuana dispensary 
license and shall cause the license to be 
revoked. The measure also clarifies that 
“marijuana” shall not include any plant or 
material containing delta-8 or delta-10 
tetrahydrocannabinol which is grown, 
processed or sold pursuant to the provisions 
of the Oklahoma Industrial Hemp Program. 
The State Department of Health is 
authorized by the measure to enter into and 
negotiate the terms of a Memorandum of 
Understanding between the Department and 
other state agencies concerning the 
enforcement of laws regulating medical 
marijuana by the measure. Additionally, the 
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measure requires each medical marijuana 
research facility, medical marijuana 
education facility, and medical marijuana 
waste disposal facility develop written 
standard operating procedures outlining the 
way it operates its seed-to-sale tracking 
system. Additionally, the measure authorizes 
a publicly traded company as defined in the 
measure may purchase up to 40% of the 
equity in an existing Oklahoma business that 
holds a valid Oklahoma medical marijuana 
grower, processor or transporter license. 
Such a business must hold a valid medical 
marijuana grower, processor or transporter 
license for at least 18 months prior to the 
investment. A licensed medical marijuana 
dispensary shall not be qualified for 
investment or equity purchase. The measure 
also expands medical marijuana waste to 
include any products deemed to have failed 
laboratory testing and cannot be remediated 
or decontaminated. Medical marijuana waste 
shall also include products from a medical 
marijuana business facility deemed to have 
gone out of business or products that are 
unable to be lawfully transferred or sold the 
to another commercial licensee. After 
November 1, 2021, the measure eliminates 
the cap on medical marijuana waste licenses 
that may be issued. The State Department of 
Health is authorized by the measure to enter 
into a contract with the Oklahoma Tax 
Commission to collect and enforce the 7% 
tax on retail medical marijuana sales. The 
assessment, collection, and enforcement 
authority shall apply to any tax and any 
penalty or interest liability on retail medical 
marijuana sales existing at the time of 
contracting. The Commission may charge 
the Department a 1.5% fee on the gross 
collection proceeds. 
 
HB 2272 (Josh West/Murdock) requires 
current medical marijuana business licensees 
and applicants seeking licensure as a 
medical marijuana business to respectively 

submit an attestation confirming or denying 
the existence of any foreign financial 
interests in the medical marijuana business 
operation and to disclose such ownership 
within 60 days to the Oklahoma State 
Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs 
Control or the Medical Marijuana Authority. 
Failure to submit the attestation or 
accompanying information to the Bureau 
within the specified 60-day period shall 
result in the immediate revocation of the 
medical marijuana business license. 
 
HB 2279 (Josh West/Kidd) creates the 
Oklahoma Industrial Hemp Remediation 
Program and provides definitions for terms 
used in the act, including Hemp Program, 
which is defined as the Oklahoma Hemp 
Industrial Reform Program and any final 
ruling from the USDA. The measure allows 
a person licensed by the Oklahoma 
Department of Agriculture, Food, and 
Forestry whose hemp is deemed 
noncompliant with the Hemp Program to 
request approval from the Department to 
remediate the hemp. The licensee must 
promptly have the hemp extracted by a 
licensed processor into concentrated form 
and sampled by a certified laboratory for 
THC levels if approved. If the samples are 
below USDA levels for THC, the hemp is 
compliant and can be sold commercially. If 
the samples are noncompliant, the 
Department must be notified and the 
samples must be destroyed. 
 
HB 2646 (Echols/Taylor) changes several 
provisions of law relating to medical 
marijuana usage, production, and disposal. 
The measure provides that patient licenses 
must be signed by an Oklahoma physician 
licensed by and in good standing with the 
State Board of Medical Licensure and 
Supervision or the State Board of 
Osteopathic Examiners. Patients are 
authorized by the measure to request the 
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withdrawal of their caregiver’s license at 
any time. The measure extends the time for 
the Department of Health to review 
dispensary licenses from 2 weeks to 90 days. 
Additionally, the measure authorizes 
dispensaries to package and sell prerolled 
marijuana to licensed medical marijuana 
patients and licensed caregivers. Such 
products shall contain only the ground parts 
of the marijuana plant and shall not include 
marijuana concentrates or derivatives and 
may not exceed 1 gram. Dispensaries are 
also prohibited from displaying or offering 
for sale products not contained in a sealed or 
separate package. Commercial growers are 
authorized by the measure to sell pre-rolled 
marijuana to dispensaries. Such products 
shall be subject to the same limitations 
placed on dispensaries as it relates to 
prerolled marijuana. Additionally, the 
measure provides that the State Department 
of Health may issue 2 types of processor 
licenses for hazardous and non-hazardous 
materials. Licensed commercial growers 
may transfer medical marijuana that has 
failed testing to a licensed processor only for 
the purposes of decontamination or 
remediation. The measure clarifies that the 
Department may also inspect a processing 
facility up to 2 times a year. The Department 
is also directed to establish regulations 
which require a medical marijuana business 
to submit information to the Oklahoma 
Medical Marijuana Authority deemed 
reasonably necessary to assist the Authority 
in the prevention of diversion of medical 
marijuana by a licensed medical marijuana 
business. Business licensees are required to 
submit a sample or unit of medical 
marijuana or medical marijuana product to 
the quality assurance laboratory when the 
Department has reason to believe the 
medical marijuana or medical marijuana 
product may be unsafe for patient 
consumption. The measure establishes fines 
for fraudulently reporting within a 2-year 

period information as well. The fine is set at 
$5,000.00 for the first violation and 
$10,000.00 for second and subsequent 
violations. Licensees whose license was 
suspended or revoked during the 5 years 
preceding an application shall be denied a 
license. The Department is authorized by the 
measure to issue a written order to any 
licensee the Department has reason to 
believe has committed a violation. The 
written order shall state with specificity the 
nature of the violation and shall become a 
final order not more than 30 days after the 
order is served to the licensee. The licensee 
may request an administrative hearing. The 
Department is authorized by the measure to 
issue an emergency order in certain 
circumstances. Entities failing to comply 
with the emergency order shall be subject to 
a $10,000.00 fine per day of noncompliance. 
Additionally, unless the Department 
determines otherwise, an application that has 
been resubmitted but is still incomplete or 
contains errors that are not clerical or 
typographical in nature shall be denied. The 
measure directs the Department to issue 
medical marijuana transporter licenses to 
licensed medical marijuana research 
facilities, medical marijuana education 
facilities and medical marijuana testing 
laboratories upon issuance of such license 
and upon renewal. Laboratories may not be 
owned by any person with a business 
interest in a licensed medical marijuana 
business or any person who is related to a 
person with an interest in the commercial 
aspects of the industry. The measure 
specifies that distance from schools is to be 
measured from the nearest property line of 
the school to the nearest perimeter wall of 
the dispensary. Properties that are not used 
for classroom instruction on core curriculum 
and are not on the same campus as a 
building used for such do not constitute a 
school. The establishment of a school within 
1,000 feet of an already existing dispensary 
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shall not be cause for revocation or 
nonrenewal of the license. The measure also 
authorizes the Department to appoint 8 
additional members to the Medical 
Marijuana Advisory Council. The measure 
requires the makeup of the council to 
include members of the medical marijuana 
industry. Any person who manufactures, 
distributes, dispenses, prescribes, 
administers or uses for scientific purposes 
any controlled dangerous substances within 
or into this state without first obtaining a 
registration issued by the Director of the 
Oklahoma State Bureau of Narcotics and 
Dangerous Drugs Control shall be subject to 
the same statutory and administrative 
jurisdiction of the Director as if that person 
were an applicant or registrant. 

Agriculture & Rural Measures 
 
SB 775 (Murdock/Dempsey) authorizes the 
Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food, 
and Forestry to create a Livestock Offender 
Registry and to provide access to this 
registry to the public on the Department’s 
website. Counties in which the offender is 
convicted shall submit a certified copy of 
the judgment and sentence confirming the 
conviction for entry in the Livestock 
Offender Registry to the Oklahoma 
Department of Agriculture, Food, and 
Forestry or to a statewide livestock 
organization designated by the Department. 
 
SB 812 (Murdock/Fetgatter) provides for the 
court to order a person to surrender his or 
her hunting or fishing license to an officer 
from the Department of Wildlife 
Conservation present at the hearing upon 
conviction of a violation relating to certain 
violations. The measure also authorizes the 
court clerk to transmit the conviction 
information by using an electronic method 
authorized by the Department of Wildlife 
Conservation. 
 

SB 839 (Dahm/Sean Roberts) specifies that 
a game warden shall not have the authority 
to use or place a game or wildlife camera on 
private property without the permission of 
the owner or controller of the property.  
 
SB 844 (Dahm/Gann) repeals the provision 
of law entering Oklahoma into the Southern 
Dairy Compact. 
 
HB 1001 (Bush/Hall) clarifies the data 
required to be maintained by a scrap metal 
dealer. The measure provides that any 
federally recognized identification card can 
be used and requires a vehicle identification 
number to be recorded if no license plate is 
affixed. Items purchased by a buyer or sold 
by a dealer must be captured digitally and 
records of the transaction must be 
maintained for at least 2 years after the date 
of sale. The measure removes separate 
requirements for recording data about 
purchases of scrap metal under 35 pounds 
and of purchases 35 pounds and over. The 
person selling the scrap must provide either 
a certificate of title, a notarized power of 
attorney from the individual on the title 
authorizing the seller to dispose of the 
vehicle on their behalf, or a statement of 
ownership from the seller accompanied by a 
bill of sale from the lawful owner. The 
measure places any copper wire that is 4 
gauge or larger and any copper wire from 
which the insulation or coating has been 
burned or melted, as well as remote storage 
batteries, under the provisions of the Scrap 
Metal Dealers Act. 
 
HB 1032 (Mize/Pugh) changes the name of 
the Home Bakery Act of 2013 to the 
Homemade Food Freedom Act. The 
measure provides that the production and 
sale of homemade food products that meet 
the certain conditions outlined in the 
measure shall be exempt from licensing 
requirements. Such conditions shall regulate 
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the sale and delivery of non-time- or -
temperature-controlled-for-safety 
homemade food products and requires such 
products to be sold directly to the consumer 
from the producer. Producers are also 
required to complete at least 8 hours of 
training approved by the Oklahoma 
Department of Agriculture, Food, and 
Forestry. Homemade food products must 
also have a label affixed to its packaging. 
 
HB 1620 (Mize/Montgomery) prevents any 
political subdivision or the state government 
from prohibiting agritourism activities, 
which is defined as using livestock or other 
animals for entertainment or educational 
purposes. 
 
HB 1631 (David Hardin/Murdock) requires 
nutrient management plans for new or 
expanding poultry feeding operations to be 
prepared by the operator or designee of the 
operator. The plan must be submitted to the 
Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food 
and Forestry for review and approval. Every 
nutrient plan must be updated and submitted 
to the Department every 6 years. The 
measure also allows a current operator to 
submit a 1-page amendment to the most 
recently submitted plan in lieu of a renewal 
plan. 
 
HB 2214 (McDugle/Murdock) provides that 
every annual license issued by the 
Oklahoma Wildlife Conservation 
Commission shall be valid for a full 365 
days after issuance notwithstanding any 
provision of law or rule to the contrary. 
 
HB 2325 (Frix/Bergstrom) provides that 
escort vehicle requirements shall not apply 
to retail implement dealers transporting farm 
implements from a retail distribution point 
to a farm or other location within a 150 air-
mile radius from the distribution point. 
 

HB 2364 (Burns/Murdock) prohibits anyone 
from labelling a bovine product as 
“Oklahoma Certified Beef” unless the 
product was bred, born, raised, and 
slaughtered in the state. 
 
HB 2467 (Kerbs/Murdock) repeals the Fuel 
Alcohol Act. 
 
HB 2471 (Dick Lowe/Kidd) allows the 
Department of Agriculture to establish 
expiration dates and renewal due dates for 
pesticide applicator licenses. 
Agriculture Funding 
 
HB 2906 (Wallace/Thompson) directs the 
Department of Agriculture to utilize 
appropriated dollars as follows:  
1) $3 million for the Oklahoma State 
University College of Veterinary Medicine; 
2) $2 million for the Oklahoma State 
University Agriculture Extension Service; 
3) $1 million for the Oklahoma State 
University Agriculture Experiment Stations; 
4) $150,000.00 for facility improvements for 
cattle stock shows; and 
5) $300,000.00 to hire additional meat    
inspectors. 
 

Agency FY21 
Appropriation 

FY22 
Appropriation 

Change 
From 

Original 
Department 

of 
Agriculture 

$26,989,607 $31,527,896 16.81% 
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SB 200 (Montgomery/Pae) authorizes a 
victim of domestic violence, sexual 
violence, or stalking to terminate a lease 
without penalty by providing written notice 
and a protective order within 30 days of the 
incident to his or her landlord. The landlord 
may waive the 30-day deadline. 
Additionally, the measure prohibits any 
landlord from denying renewal of or 
terminating a lease because the applicant or 
tenant is a victim or alleged victim of 
domestic violence, sexual violence, or 
stalking regardless of whether there exists a 
current protective order. The measure also 
prohibits any landlord from denying an 
applicant tenancy or retaliate against a 
tenant because the applicant or tenant has 
previously terminated a rental agreement 
using the provisions outlined in this 
measure. 
 
SB 228 (Montgomery/O’Donnell) modifies 
certain provisions of the Oklahoma General 
Corporation Act. The measure authorizes 
written notice to be provided in an electronic 
format as it applies to organization meetings 
of a corporate board and notification 
applying to the transfer of stock. The 
measure additionally authorizes members of 
a board to consent to an action that will be 
effective at a future time, provided the 
action occurs within 60 days. The measure 
also creates a new section of law governing 
the document form, signature requirements, 
and delivery requirements of electronic 
documents. The measure provides for the 
issuance of capitol stock to be issued in one 
or more transactions in a manner outlined in 
a resolution passed by the board. The 
resolution must fix a maximum number of 
shares that may be issued and a schedule of 
issuance. Stock may be issued in a manner 
dependent upon facts ascertainable outside 
the formula adopted by the board, provided 
the manner in which such facts shall operate 
upon the formula is clearly and expressly set 

forth in the formula or in the resolution 
approving the formula. The measure states 
that a corporation may not send defective 
corporate act to its shareholders for 
ratification provided there are no shares of 
valid stock outstanding and entitled to vote. 
The measure also defines a stock ledger to 
mean records administered by or on behalf 
of the corporation in which the names of all 
the corporation’s shareholders of record, the 
address and number of shares registered in 
the name of each such shareholder, and all 
issuances and transfers of stock of the 
corporation are recorded. The measure 
removes outdated language relating to 
telegrams and replaces it with electronic 
transmissions as it relates to granting 
consent for certain actions. The measure 
requires corporation merger agreements to 
clearly show any changes made to the 
certificate of incorporation of the surviving 
corporation or a statement showing that the 
merger shall not amend the certificate if the 
merger includes a domestic corporation. In 
cases of consolidation, the certificate must 
be as set forth in the consolidation 
agreement. 
 
SB 273 (Quinn/Miller) requires any person 
preparing or persons charging a fee for the 
preparation or assistance in preparation of 
lien notices on personal property to register 
with the Oklahoma Tax Commission and 
submit a $50.00 annual registration fee. Any 
person found to prepare or assist in the 
preparation of a lien notice without 
registration shall be assessed a $100.00 
penalty. The provisions of this measure do 
not apply to a lawful possessor or employee 
of a lawful possessor of the property for 
which such notices are issued. 
 
SB 335 (Pederson/Newton) provides a 
mechanism to revert burial sites to public or 
private cemeteries. The measure requires the 
site to be unused for 75 years and a 
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reasonable search to find the owner is to be 
conducted by the entity responsible for the 
site. A reasonable search, as defined by the 
measure, includes sending a certified letter 
to the last known address associated with the 
site on record and publishing a description 
of the site in a newspaper qualified to 
publish public notices. If no address is on 
file, no letter will be required. If no person 
proves their claim on the site within one 
year of publication in the paper, the site will 
be deemed abandoned. Any person with a 
legitimate claim on a site deemed abandoned 
shall be compensated with a plot equal in 
value to the site deemed abandoned. 
 
SB 549 (Standridge/Frix) provides that 
neither a relocation permit nor any outdoor 
advertising sign permit shall be issued in 
those areas in which a municipality or 
county has lawfully enacted a prohibition on 
the erection of an outdoor advertising sign. 
 
SB 552 (Murdock/Martinez) increases the 
maximum bracket amounts a pawn shop 
may levy on finance charges by the 
following amounts:  
1) $250.00 from $100.00 for 20%,  
2) $500.00 from $250.00 for 15%,  
3) $1,000.00 from $500.00 for 10% and,  
4) $5,000.00 from $1,000.00 for 5% 
 
SB 568 (Montgomery/Hilbert) exempts sales 
of securities offered by corporations that 
meet the requirements of the federal 
exemption for intrastate offerings sold to 
persons residing in the state from the 
provisions of the Oklahoma Uniform 
Securities Act of 2004. Such sales shall be 
limited to $5 million transactions and shall 
not exceed $5,000.00 per individual. The 
issuer shall be required to hold the funds in 
an escrow account and shall be required to 
make certain notifications. Certain entities 
are prohibited from offering securities using 
the provisions of the measure. 

 
SB 792 (Leewright/Manger) provides for the 
Insurance Commissioner to authorize a 
bondsman exceeding the maximum amount 
of Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation 
basic deposit coverage when a state of 
emergency or disaster is declared. The 
measure also requires bondsmen to deposit 
cash or other forms of compensation within 
2 business days after receiving such 
compensation in an established, separate 
non-interest-bearing trust account. 
Additionally, the measure provides for 
bonds posted for a petition for revocation of 
a suspended sentence, a petition for 
acceleration of a deferred sentence or any 
violation of a probationary term to be 
exonerated by operation of law in certain 
circumstances. Premiums for a bail bond 
shall be considered earned when the 
defendant on the bond is released from 
custody and is not incarcerated in any 
capacity or if the bondsman and the payor of 
the bond premium have agreed in writing 
that the purpose of the bond is to secure the 
transfer of the defendant to another 
jurisdiction. The payor of the premium or 
the depositor of any collateral may request 
the return of any unearned bond premiums. 
 
SB 794 (Leewright/Wallace) requires the 
Oklahoma Employment Security 
Commission (OESC) to shift its filing 
methods to prefer electronic e-filing and 
provides for the Commission to complete 
the process during its OESC 2020-21 
business process transformation. All 
claimants and employers tendering 
documents to the Commission will be 
expected to tender the documents 
electronically. The measure also exempts 
employees of private for-profit entities that 
provide to or on behalf of an educational 
institution from the requirement to pay 
unemployment benefits in on the same terms 
and subject to the same conditions as 
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benefits payable on the basis of other service 
subject to the Employment Security Act of 
1980. Additionally, the measure specifies 
that an individual, seasonal employee shall 
only be eligible for payments based on the 
wages of the nonseasonal employment. The 
OESC is required by the measure to send 
notice of overpayment to any individual 
receiving more compensation than he or she 
is entitled to. If the individual disagrees with 
this determination, the individual may file 
an appeal of the determination with the 
Appeal Tribunal within 10 days of receipt. 
The OESC is also authorized to enter into an 
agreement with the Department of Human 
Services for information required to identify 
persons that owe child support obligations. 
The measure also requires the OESC to 
return overpayments received in the 
Employer's Unemployment Tax Account. 
The measure directs the OESC to return the 
remaining balance of the employer’s 
unemployment tax account to the employer 
upon terminating the employer’s account, 
unless the balance has remained the same 
for over 180 days and the employer has not 
requested a refund. 
 
SB 796 (Leewright/McEntire) increases the 
cap on loan finance charges for supervised 
lenders from 27% to 32% per year on that 
part of the unpaid balances of the principal 
which is $7,000.00 or less and adjusts the 
other tiers accordingly. The measure also 
provides for lenders to assess a up to a 
$28.85 closing fee. 
 
SB 1013 (Daniels/Kannady) provides for 
litigation files and investigatory reports of 
the Workers’ Compensation Commission to 
be considered confidential. The measure 
also allows an attorney of the Compliance 
Division of the Commission or an 
investigator of the Division to provide 
testimony on matters the employee has 

received through the performance of the 
employee’s duties. 
 
HB 1034 (Mize/Pugh) requires banks and 
credit unions to transfer the money to the 
known heirs of the deceased without 
requiring the heirs to open an additional 
account if the owner of a bank or credit 
union account with $50,000.00 or less dies 
and has no payable-on-death beneficiary if 
no probate proceedings are pending. The 
affidavit sworn to and signed by the known 
heirs establishing jurisdiction, heirship and 
intestacy may contain a clause indemnifying 
the bank from any damages relating to the 
release of the funds. The measure provides 
that in the event of pending probate 
proceedings, the release of the deposits in 
the account shall be determined by the court. 
 
HB 1112 (Talley/Allen) eliminates statutory 
hunting seasons and authorizes the Wildlife 
Conservation Commission to establish 
hunting season timeframes. 
 
HB 1772 (Sims/Pugh) requires the State 
Board of Health to provide a multi-seasonal 
license for snow cone stands that sell hot 
beverages in addition to snow cones. Snow 
cone stands that do not sell hot beverages 
will be classified as a seasonal food 
establishment. 
 
HB 2026 (O’Donnell/Daniels) amends the 
definition of employee as it relates to the 
Administrative Workers’ Compensation Act 
to no longer exclude persons who provide 
services in a medical care or social services 
program or participants in a work or training 
program administered by the Department of 
Human Services. 
 
HB 2238 (May/Rader) provides that persons 
are not prohibited from soliciting rides, 
donations, employment, or business from 
occupants of vehicles on roadways 
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maintained by a city or town if they are in 
compliance with a permit and regulations 
adopted by ordinance. 
 
HB 2397 (Russ/Howard) includes 
judgement liens and their holders as it 
relates to current law regulating title 
insurers. 
 
HB 2398 (Russ/Howard) includes 
judgement liens in certain requirements 
regarding debt payments on real estate. The 
measure also allows an agent representing a 
mortgagor or debtor to request the release of 
a mortgage or lien if the holder has failed to 
do so within 30 days after payment of the 
debt. 
 
HB 2501 (Culver/Bullard) defines 
“authorized agent or representative” within 
the Oklahoma Abstractors Act. The measure 
authorizes the release of an abstract to an 
authorized agent or representative of the 
owner. 
 
HB 2568 (Chad Caldwell/Murdock) 
authorizes Oklahoma banks and credit 
unions to offer savings promotion raffles as 
defined in the measure and provides that 
such raffles shall not constitute a violation 
of the provisions of Oklahoma lottery and 
gambling laws. 
 
HB 2677 (Marti/McCortney) modifies 
several provisions of the Pharmacy Audit 
Integrity Act. The measure strikes language 
relating to appeal procedures to be 
specifically described in a contract between 
a pharmacy and the entity conducting the 
audit and requires the auditing entity to give 
the required written notice by certified letter. 
A 30-day notice is required to be given prior 
to a wholesale purchase audit as well. Audits 
are reduced from 75 prescriptions per year 
per pharmacist to 50 per year per pharmacist 
and must be delivered within 10 days. 

Pharmacists may reverse and resubmit 
claims within 30 days of receipt of the final 
audit report. Auditors are required to 
conduct each pharmacy audit under identical 
standards, regularity, and parameters as 
similarly situated pharmacies. Additionally, 
pharmacists are not required to open for 
single-patient-use only packaging nor are 
they required to submit a full dispensing 
report in a wholesale purchase review. 

Corrections Funding 
 

Agency FY21 
Appropriation 

FY22 
Appropriation 

Change 
From 

Original 
Department of 

Corrections $531,112,247 $544,278,904 2.48% 

Pardon and 
Parole $2,273,400 $2,273,400 0.00% 

 

 
Office of Juvenile Affairs Funding 
Law Enforcement Funding 

Agency FY21 
Appropriation 

FY22 
Appropriation 

Change 
From 

Original 
Office of 
Juvenile 
Affairs 

$96,795,111 $93,033,434 -3.89% 
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Economic Development & Commerce 
Measures 
 
SB 71 (Bergstrom/McDugle) requires the 
Oklahoma Department of Commerce to, in 
addition to the other rulemaking 
requirements relating to the Oklahoma Local 
Development and Enterprise Zone Incentive 
Leverage Act, establish reporting 
requirements for the purpose of collecting 
data. 
 
SB 587 (Howard/Boles) adds entities subject 
to the jurisdiction of the State Board of 
Career and Technology Education or the 
Oklahoma State Regents for Higher 
Education to the list of eligible local 
government entities as it relates to the 
Oklahoma Community Economic 
Development Pooled Finance Act. 
 
SB 608 (Hall/Fetgatter) creates the Filmed 
in Oklahoma Act of 2021. The measure 
provides for the establishment of an 
incentive rebate program for certain film 
projects and eligible television series 
projects filmed or produced in Oklahoma 
that meet the requirements outlined in the 
measure. Such projects must provide 
evidence that all Oklahoma crew and local 
vendors have been paid and that there are no 
pending liens against the production 
company, file appropriate tax returns, 
provide evidence of financing for production 
prior to the commencement of principal 
photography, provide evidence of a 
certificate of general liability insurance with 

a minimum coverage of $1 million and a 
workers’ compensation policy, and provide 
evidence that the projects are completed. 
Companies cannot simultaneously claim the 
rebate and the sales tax exemption provided 
for in current law or the rebate provided in 
the Compete with Canada Film Act. If a 
production company has received the 
exemption from sales taxes and submits a 
claim for rebate pursuant to the provisions 
of this act, the company shall be required to 
fully repay the amount of the exemption to 
the Tax Commission. The program shall be 
administered by the Oklahoma Department 
of Commerce and the Oklahoma Tax 
Commission. The Department shall be 
required to submit an annual report to the 
President Pro Tempore of the Seante, 
Speaker of the House, the Chair of the 
Appropriations and Budget Committee of 
the House of Representatives, the Chair of 
the Appropriations Committee of the Senate, 
and the Director of the Legislative Office of 
Fiscal Transparency detailing the program 
and incentive rebate payments on October 1 
of each year. The total amount of rebate 
payments conditionally pre-qualified by the 
Department of Commerce each fiscal year 
shall not exceed $30 million. The measure 
also caps the amount of rebates awarded to 
projects based on the expenditure of the 
individual project. The base incentive 
amount for a project filmed in this state shall 
be a maximum of 20% of the qualified 
production expenditure amount. An 
incentive for a project filmed in this state for 
wages paid to nonresident crew, not 
including above-the-line personnel, before 
July 1, 2023, shall be provided in the 
amount of 7.5%. The measure provides 
additional incentives to projects that film or 
locate in certain areas outlined in the 
measure. The measure also requires projects 
to utilize apprentices and display a 
Department-approved logo in the end credits 
to qualify for the rebate. Additionally, the 
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measure creates the Filmed in Oklahoma 
Program Revolving Fund and provides for 
$30 million to be transferred to the Fund 
using monies derived from the income tax. 
 
SB 609 (Coleman/Hilbert) provides that the 
minimum investment into real property must 
be valued at a minimum of $500,000.00 to 
qualify for the investment income tax 
exemption during calendar year 2022. The 
amount shall increase annually based on the 
previous year’s increase in the Consumer 
Price Index-All Urban Consumers. To 
qualify for the exemption using newly 
created jobs, the measure requires 
corporations to maintain an average 
annualized wage which equals or exceeds 
the average wage requirement in the 
Oklahoma Quality Jobs Program Act for the 
year in which the real or personal property 
was placed into service, depending on 
location. Additionally, the measure expands 
eligibility for the program to include 
facilities engaged in the manufacturing, 
compounding, processing or fabrication of 
materials into articles of tangible personal 
property. The measure also modifies the 
definition of facility and facilities to specify 
that the land, buildings, structures, and 
improvements must be used directly and 
exclusively in the manufacturing process. 
Effective January 1, 2022, and for each 
calendar year thereafter, for establishments 
with a manufacturer exemption permit and 
facilities engaged in manufacturing activities 
classified in the NAICS Manual under 
Industry numbers 311111 through 339999, 
facility and facilities also includes 
machinery, fixtures, equipment, and other 
personal property used directly and 
exclusively in the manufacturing process. 
The measure specifies that districts that are 
wholly or partially comprised or become 
comprised of industries operating under 
NAICS code 518210 shall not be subject to 
certain findings requirements. 

 
SB 659 (Rosino/Hilbert) creates the 
Unmanned Aircraft Systems Development 
Act of 2021. The measure establishes the 
Oklahoma Aeronautics Commission as the 
Clearinghouse for Unmanned Aircraft 
Systems (UAS). The Clearinghouse shall 
create a partnership between those persons 
and entities that currently operate UAS, 
those that desire to use this technology in the 
future, and any other entity that supports the 
research and development of UAS. The 
measure also directs the Clearinghouse to 
coordinate with other government entities to 
develop UAS in the state. Additionally, the 
measure updates several terms within the 
Oklahoma Aeronautics Commission Act. 
 
SB 739 (Leewright/Bashore) transfers the 
regulatory authority relating to the 
Oklahoma Tourism Development Act from 
the Tourism and Recreation Department to 
the Oklahoma Department of Commerce. 
The measure also provides for the 
Department of Commerce to prepare the 
report required to determine the company’s 
qualifications. The fee for utilizing the 
Department in this manner is set at no less 
than $5,000.00. 
 
SB 893 (Pugh/Fetgatter) clarifies that 
“qualified program” as it relates to the 
income tax credit for aerospace employees 
shall include graduate and undergraduate 
programs. The undergraduate and graduate 
programs of the same discipline of 
engineering at an institution shall be part of 
the qualified program if either program is 
ABET accredited. The measure modifies 
“qualified employee” to require such 
persons to possess either an undergraduate 
or graduate degree from a qualified program 
by an institution or be a licensed 
Professional Engineer. 
 



16 
 

SB 922 (Howard/Kendrix) creates the Invest 
In Oklahoma Act. The measure directs the 
Oklahoma Department of Commerce to 
create the Invest In Oklahoma Fund to 
provide entities funds with opportunities to 
invest in Oklahoma-based private equity 
funds, venture capital funds, and growth 
funds. The Department is directed to select 
venture capital funds to qualify for 
investments within the Invest In Oklahoma 
Fund based on factors outlined in the 
measure. Qualified public entities may 
invest up to 5% of their principal into the 
Fund. The Department is directed to 
maintain a list of entities participating in the 
program.  
 
SB 949 (Hall/Hill) transfers all 
administrative rules and responsibilities 
relating to the Oklahoma Film and Music 
Office to be transferred from the Oklahoma 
Tourism and Recreation Department to the 
Oklahoma Department of Commerce. 
 
HB 1124 (Phillips/Leewright) directs the 
Department of Commerce to promulgate 
rules and procedures for the establishment of 
the State Broadband Deployment Grant 
Program with the participation and advice of 
the Rural Broadband Expansion Council. 
The State Broadband Deployment Grant 
Program shall include development of a 
competitive grant program to award funding 
to applicants seeking to expand access to 
broadband Internet service. The measure 
also creates the State Broadband 
Deployment Grant Program Fund. 
 
HB 2040 (McCall/Leewright) provides 
definitions for certain telecommunications 
and broadband related terms, including 
“Broadband”, “Eligible entity”, “Served 
area”, “Underserved area”, “Unserved area”, 
and “Wireless Internet service provider”. 
The measure also directs the Rural 
Broadband Expansion Council to develop a 

set of broadband incentive award guidelines 
to recommend to the Legislature. 
 
HB 2860 (Wallace/Thompson) creates the 
Oklahoma Remote Quality Jobs Incentive 
Act. The measure provides for quarterly 
incentive payments for a 10-quarter period 
for qualifying proxy establishments as 
defined in the measure. Proxy 
establishments must meet certain 
qualifications to receive payments. Such 
qualifications shall include roof of basic 
health benefits plans for its remote workers 
and meeting a certain threshold of 
employees and wages. Establishments that 
receive these incentive payments are not 
eligible to receive credits or exemptions 
provided by the Oklahoma Quality Jobs 
Program Act, the Small Employer Quality 
Jobs Incentive Act or the 21st Century 
Quality Jobs Incentive Act. The measure 
also directs the Department of Commerce 
and the Tax Commission to prepare a 
triennial report and to submit the report to 
the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, 
Speaker of the House, and Governor no later 
than March 1, 2023 and every 3 years 
thereafter. 
 
HB 2928 (McCall/Leewright) directs 
broadband service providers in the state to 
submit a report containing their network 
area coverage map to the Department of 
Commerce and the Rural Broadband 
Expansion Council by October 31, 2021. 
The providers would be required to update 
this map and report annually. OneNet must 
provide mapping of all assets and network 
coverage. Internet service providers are also 
directed by the measure to disclose the 
properties they serve, and average minimum 
upload and download speeds at which they 
provide services to those properties.  
Commerce Funding 
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Agency FY21 
Appropriation 

FY22 
Appropriation 

Change 
from 

Original 
Department of 

Commerce $52,739,680 $22,077,680 -58.14% 

 

 
Historical Society Funding 
 
SB 1081 (Thompson/Wallace) apportions 
the appropriations made to the Oklahoma 
Historical Society in HB 2900 in the 
following manner:  
1) $150,000.00 shall be used to hire a grant 
writer for Black Towns in Oklahoma  
2) Not less than $150,000.00 shall be used to 
provide grants for schools to provide 
transportation to The Freedom Center & 
Clara Luper Civil Rights Center, The 
Greenwood Historic District, and The 
Oklahoma City National Memorial & 
Museum 
 

Agency FY21 
Appropriation 

FY22 
Appropriation 

Change 
from 

Original 
Historical 
Society $21,524,457 $23,461,601 9.00% 

 

 

Common Education 
 
SB 13 (Stanley/Baker) requires a teacher 
whose certificate was suspended by the State 
Board of Education to be placed on 
suspension while proceedings for revocation 
or other action are pending before the Board. 
These actions do not preclude the initiation 
of due process procedures under the Teacher 
Due Process Act.  
 
SB 21 (Floyd/McEntire) requires rather than 
allows each school district to adopt a policy 
related to suicide awareness and training. 
The measure requires a board of education 
to provide districtwide training to all staff on 
a biennial basis addressing suicide 
awareness and prevention. It requires rather 
than allows school districts beginning in the 
2021-22 school year to provide a suicide 
prevention training program, provide 
curriculum made available by the 
Department of Mental Health and Substance 
Abuse Services or provide a suicide 
prevention training program selected from a 
list maintained by the Department of Mental 
Health and Substance Abuse Services. 
Additionally, the measure provides for 
suicide awareness and prevention training 
for students in grades 7-12 beginning in the 
2022-23 school year. 
 
SB 22 (Floyd/Tammy West) modifies the 
powers and duties of school district boards 
of education. The measure gives a right of 
first refusal to purchase real or personal 
property to a nonprofit organization that is 
leasing the real or personal property from a 
board of education when the decision is 
made to dispose of the property, whether 
such disposal is by public sale, public bid or 
private sale. The measure states that if a 
board of education receives a bid or offer for 
the real or personal property, the board is to 
provide notice to the nonprofit organization 
leasing the property. The measure gives the 
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nonprofit organization 30 days after receipt 
of such notice to inform the board whether it 
elects to purchase the property on the same 
terms and conditions provided in the notice. 
The measure states that if any portion of the 
consideration in the purchase price is not in 
cash, the nonprofit organization can pay fair 
market value in cash of such non-cash 
consideration. 
 
SB 54 (Montgomery/Pae) directs the State 
Department of Education beginning in the 
2022-23 school year to designate a school 
campus as a Purple Star School campus if 
the school meets certain qualifications 
related to availability of services for 
military-connected students. 
 
SB 68 (Simpson/Wolfley) directs a student 
to be considered in compliance with the 
residency requirements for school 
attendance if the parent or legal guardian of 
the student is transferred or is pending 
transfer to a military installation within the 
state while on active military duty. It directs 
school districts to accept enrollment 
applications for such students by electronic 
means and directs the parent or legal 
guardian of such a student to provide proof 
of residence to the school district within 10 
days after the published date of arrival. It 
defines what shall constitute proof of 
residence. 
 
SB 69 (Simpson/Wolfley) allows a student 
to enroll in a statewide virtual charter school 
if the parent or legal guardian of the student 
is transferred or is pending transfer to a 
military installation within the state while on 
active military duty. It directs statewide 
virtual charter schools to accept enrollment 
applications for such students by electronic 
means and directs the parent or legal 
guardian of such a student to provide proof 
of residence to the statewide virtual charter 
school within 10 days after the published 

date of arrival. It defines what shall 
constitute proof of residence.  
 
SB 89 (Haste/Baker) creates the Health 
Education Act. The measure directs the 
State Department of Education to develop a 
micro-credential for teachers teaching health 
education and professional development 
programs no later than the 2022-2023 school 
year. It directs school districts by the 2023-
2024 school year to provide instruction 
addressing all health education subject 
matter standards adopted by the State Board 
of Education. It allows health education to 
be integrated into one or more existing 
subjects. The measure requires teachers 
assigned to teach health education as a 
stand-alone course to be certified in physical 
and health education. The measure also 
directs the State Textbook Committee to 
include a review of health and physical 
education instructional materials as part of 
its textbook review and adoption cycle. The 
bill creates the Health Education Revolving 
Fund to carry out the act and directs the 
Healthy and Fit School Advisory Committee 
within schools to study and make 
recommendations regarding implementation 
of the Health Education Act. 
 
SB 121 (Hicks/Hasenbeck) requires each 
school district board of education to adopt a 
policy allowing school employees who are 
lactating to take paid break time to maintain 
their milk supply. The measure allows the 
break time to run concurrently with any 
break time and requires school district 
boards of education to make reasonable 
effort to provide a private, sanitary room for 
employees to express milk or breastfeed a 
child. 
 
SB 128 (Rader/Dick Lowe) creates the 
Seizure-Safe Schools Act. The Act requires 
each school district with a student who has a 
seizure disorder beginning Jan. 1, 2022, to 
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have at least 1 employee who has training to 
administer or assist with self-administration 
of seizure medication and recognize 
symptoms of seizures and take steps to 
respond. The measure states that before 
seizure medication can be administered, the 
parent or legal guardian of the student is to 
provide written authorization to the school, 
provide a statement from the student’s 
health care provider, provide medication to 
the school and collaborate on a seizure 
action plan. It requires such authorization to 
be renewed annually. The measure exempts 
from disciplinary proceedings school 
employees who take action in compliance 
with the act. It provides immunity from civil 
liability to a school employee who takes 
action in compliance with the act, unless the 
actions rise to the level of reckless or 
intentional misconduct. It states that a 
school nurse shall not be responsible for and 
shall not be subject to disciplinary actions 
for actions taken by a volunteer. 
 
SB 211 (Dugger/Luttrell) modifies the 
powers and duties of the Oklahoma Board of 
Private Vocational Schools. The measure 
authorizes the Board to develop applications 
for sustained licenses, develop and present 
optional training, conduct announced and 
unannounced site visits, invoice a travel fee 
for site visits, and collect data required to be 
reported to the U.S. Department of 
Education or any state or federal agency. 
The measure allows for schools accredited 
by a U.S. Department of Education-
approved accrediting organization for 
multiple years to obtain a sustained license. 
Additionally, the measure modifies fees for 
reviewing a revised or replacement catalog 
and provides fees for review of 
documentation to be forwarded to the U.S. 
Department of Education or another state or 
federal agency, for optional training, for 
review of enrollment agreements and for in-
state site visits. The measure also directs that 

the Board’s base fees will increase by 7% in 
fiscal year 2022. 
 
SB 252 (Stanley/Baker) requires all public 
and charter high schools to offer a minimum 
of one computer science course beginning in 
the 2024-25 school year. It also requires all 
public and charter elementary and middle 
schools to offer instruction in computer 
science beginning in the 2024-25 school 
year. It allows the courses to be offered in an 
in-person setting or as a virtual or distance 
course when a traditional classroom setting 
is not feasible. 
 
SB 302 (Coleman/Kannady) grants visiting 
teams in all regular high school athletic 
competitions the same rights to radio 
broadcast, video stream and provide 
telegraphic play-by-play accounts as the 
home team in all seasonal high school 
athletic competitions beginning in the 2021-
22 school year. To utilize these rights, the 
visiting team must have either a valid 
agreement between a media organization 
and the school’s board of education or a 
curricular program for students that provides 
streaming for home games. The bill applies 
to contracts for rights to radio broadcast, 
video stream and provide telegraphic play-
by-play accounts entered into or renewed on 
or after July 1, 2021. 
 
SB 619 (Bullard/Kevin West) requires the 
Oklahoma Tax Commission to pay interest 
on tax refunds not paid within 45 days for 
returns filed electronically and 90 days for 
all other returns after the return is filed or 
due, whichever is later. The measure also 
allows the Commission to provide a later 
due date for the returns of individuals and 
certain entities if a state of emergency is 
declared by the Governor or upon 
declaration by the Internal Revenue Service 
to postpone deadlines in disaster areas. 
Lastly, the measure modifies the period of 
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underpayment for corporations to be 30 days 
after the due date for returns established 
under the Internal Revenue Code. The 
measure authorizes the State Board of 
Education to determine if apprenticeships, 
internships, and mentorships are eligible for 
academic credit toward meeting the 
graduation requirements. 
 
SB 642 (Pugh/Dustin Roberts) requires each 
public school district and public charter 
school in the state to offer students in grades 
10 through 12 the opportunity to take the 
Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery 
(ASVAB) test and consult with a military 
recruiter beginning in the 2021-22 school 
year. It directs the ASVAB test to be 
administered during normal school day 
hours at a time that doesn’t conflict with 
extracurricular activities. It requires the 
district or charter school to provide notice of 
the date, time and location of the test to 
students in grades 10 through 12 and their 
parents or legal guardians. The bill allows a 
district or charter school to provide an 
alternative test that is free and assesses a 
student’s aptitude for success in a career 
field that does not require postsecondary 
education. 
 
SB 658 (Standridge/Kevin West) requires 
the State Department of Education and 
school districts to provide in any notice or 
publication provided to parents regarding 
immunization requests the immunization 
requirements of the school, including the 
requirement to either provide current, up-to-
date immunization records or a signed and 
completed exemption form. The measure 
also prohibits any school district, institution 
of Higher Education, the State Board of 
Education, or the State Board of Career and 
Technology Education from requiring a 
vaccination against COVID-19 as a 
condition of admittance to or attendance of 
the school or institution. Such entities are 

also prohibited from requiring a vaccine 
passport as a condition of admittance or 
implementing a mask mandate for students 
that are not vaccinated against COVID-19. 
Additionally, the measure also provides that 
a board of education for a school district or 
technology school district may only 
implement a mandate to wear mask or any 
other medical device after consultation with 
the local county health department or city-
county health department. Such a mandate 
must explicitly list the reasons for the 
mandate and shall reference the specific 
masks or medical devices that would meet 
the requirements of the mandate. Any 
mandate to implement wearing a mask or 
any other medical device shall be 
reconsidered at each regularly scheduled 
board meeting. 
 
SB 705 (Dahm/Gann) repeals sections of 
law creating the Oklahoma Center for Rural 
Development Act, which was established to 
improve the effectiveness of citizens, 
enterprises, and communities in rural 
Oklahoma to better meet the quality of life 
challenges in the new century. 
 
SB 783 (Pugh/Boles) modifies the 
Education Open Transfer Act. It states that 
beginning Jan. 1, 2022, the transfer of any 
student from one district to another shall be 
approved at any time during the year unless 
the number of transfers exceeds the capacity 
of a grade level for a school site within a 
district. If the number of transfer 
applications exceeds the capacity of a school 
site, the school district is to select transfer 
students in the order in which they were 
received. It allows a student to be granted a 
one-year transfer, with the school district 
retaining the ability to deny the continued 
transfer if the student has a history of 
absences or has committed certain acts that 
are subject to out-of-school suspension. The 
bill prohibits a student from transferring 
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more than twice per school year to one or 
more districts. The measure directs each 
school district board of education by Jan. 1, 
2022, to adopt a policy to determine the 
number of students a district has the 
capacity to accept in each grade level for 
each school site. It directs such capacity to 
be established by the first day of January, 
April, July and October, and it directs school 
districts to post the capacity information on 
their websites and report it to the State 
Department of Education. It allows a denied 
transfer request to be appealed within 10 
days to the receiving school district board of 
education. If the receiving school district 
board of education denies the appeal, the bill 
allows an appeal to be filed within 10 days 
to the State Board of Education. It directs 
each school district board of education to 
submit to the State Department of Education 
the number of student transfers approved 
and denied and the reason for denial, and it 
requires the Department to publish the data 
on its website and share it with the Office of 
Educational Quality and Accountability. The 
measure directs the Office of Educational 
Quality and Accountability to randomly 
select 10% of the districts in the state to 
conduct an audit of approved and denied 
transfers. If the Office finds inaccurate 
reporting of capacity levels, the bill directs 
the Office to set the capacity levels. The bill 
removes language regarding the transfer 
application timeline. It clarifies that students 
who are the dependent children of a member 
of the active uniformed military services of 
the United States on full-time active duty 
status and students who are the dependent 
children of a member of the military reserve 
on active duty orders are to be eligible to 
enroll in any school district regardless of the 
district’s capacity. It removes language 
allowing a receiving school district to 
approve the transfer of a student whose 
parent or legal guardian is employed as a 

teacher. It also repeals statutory language 
regarding emergency transfers. 
 
SB 807 (Kidd/Baker) directs that school 
support employees be entitled to pay for any 
time lost when a school district is closed 
because of an epidemic or when a closing 
order is issued by an authorized health 
officer. 
 
HB 1018 (Sterling/Quinn) removes 
language requiring the State Superintendent 
of Public Instruction to compile and publish 
the school law book. 
 
HB 1046 (Kerbs/Montgomery) requires 
school districts to provide a copy or a 
hyperlink to a copy of the school district’s 
most recent audit on the school district’s 
website. 
 
HB 1103 (Vancuren/Haste) requires schools 
beginning in the 2022-23 school year to 
administer biennially the Oklahoma 
Prevention Needs Assessment Survey, a 
mental health prevention survey, for 6th, 8th 
, 10th and 12th grade students, or an 
alternative survey. It directs the Department 
of Mental Health to maintain the survey and 
provide technical assistance. If a school 
chooses to administer an alternative survey, 
it must apply for a waiver from the 
Department of Mental Health. The bill states 
that the requirement for the survey is subject 
to availability of federal funding, and if 
funding is insufficient, administration of the 
survey is not required.  
 
HB 1104 (Vancuren/Montgomery) amends 
the Student Data Accessibility, 
Transparency and Accountability Act of 
2013. It modifies the definition of “student 
data” to include tribal affiliation and other 
data associated with students who have been 
identified with American Indian heritage. 
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HB 1568 (Boatman/Haste) creates Maria’s 
Law. The measure directs the State Board of 
Education beginning with the 2022-23 
school year to require that all schools 
include instruction in mental health as part 
of any health education curriculum with an 
emphasis on the interrelation of physical and 
mental well being. It directs the Board, in 
consultation with the Department of Mental 
Health and Substance Abuse Services, to 
revise the Oklahoma Academic Standards 
for Health and Physical Education to include 
a focus on mental health and develop a list 
of age-appropriate resources for students in 
grades K-12. It also allows school districts 
to enter into agreements with nonprofit 
entities or other community partners to assist 
in providing mental health education if such 
entities or partners are approved by the 
Department of Education and the 
Department of Mental Health. 
 
HB 1569 (Rosecrants/Pugh) creates the 
Oklahoma Play to Learn Act. It allows 
educators to create a learning environment 
that facilitates child-directed experiences. It 
allows school districts to provide ongoing 
early childhood professional development 
for early childhood educators and 
administrators. It also states that a school 
district shall not prohibit a teacher from 
using play-based learning in early childhood 
education. 
 
HB 1593 (Provenzano/Stanley) directs 
school district boards of education to require 
a professional development program for 
teachers that emphasizes the importance of 
digital teaching and learning standards. It 
requires the program to be completed the 
first year a certified teacher is employed by 
a school district and then at a frequency 
determined by the board. The bill also 
directs boards of education to require a 
training program for teachers that 
emphasizes the importance of recognizing 

and addressing the mental health needs for 
students. It requires the program to be 
completed the first year a certified teacher is 
employed by a district and once every third 
academic year. It directs boards of education 
to require a program for 7th through 12th 
grade teachers that emphasizes the 
importance of incorporating workplace 
safety training into curriculum. It requires 
the program be completed the first year a 
certified teacher is employed by a district 
and then at a frequency determined by the 
board. The measure also requires training or 
a workshop on alcohol and drug abuse to be 
completed the first year a certified teacher is 
employed by a district and then once every 
third academic year. 
 
HB 1773 (Conley/Garvin) requires the State 
Board of Health to provide a multi-seasonal 
license for snow cone stands that sell hot 
beverages in addition to snow cones. Snow 
cone stands that do not sell hot beverages 
will be classified as a seasonal food 
establishment. 
 
HB 1796 (Miller/Pugh) allows the State 
Board of Education, in consultation with the 
Commission for Educational Quality and 
Accountability, to grant an exception to the 
subject-area examination for initial 
certification in a field that does not require 
an advanced degree if the candidate has an 
advanced degree in a subject that is 
substantially comparable to the content 
assessed on the subject-area exam. It 
requires the degree to be from an institution 
accredited by a national or regional 
accrediting agency recognized by the 
Secretary of the U.S. Department of 
Education. 
 
HB 1801 (Conley/Stanley) requires school 
boards, beginning 2021-2022, to coordinate 
with local emergency medical service 
(EMS) providers to develop an Emergency 
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Action Plan for each school facility. The 
Emergency Action Plan must be rehearsed 
annually with school officials and local 
EMS providers. Prior to any athletic event 
with visiting teams, the Plan shall be 
digitally transmitted to the school’s 
administrator or coach. 
 
HB 1875 (Tammy West/Stanley) prohibits 
an educational agency or institution, if it is 
not the primary custodian of student 
directory information of students attending 
the institution, from releasing or selling any 
or all student directory information unless 
such disclosure is authorized by federal law. 
If this prohibition does not apply, the 
educational institution is authorized to 
designate specific information to be 
classified as directory information for 
students attending the institution. 
 
HB 1882 (Stark/Rader) creates the Out-of-
Schooltime Task Force. The Task Force is 
directed to identify, evaluate and 
recommend a set of best practices for 
children, youth and families which will 
improve and increase the number of quality, 
affordable out-of-school programs in the 
state. The Task Force shall be comprised of 
19 members. The measure requires 
appointments to the Task Force be made no 
later than December 1, 2021. Members of 
the Task Force shall not receive 
compensation or travel reimbursements. The 
State Superintendent shall call the first 
meeting no later than February 1, 2022, and 
must meet at least 6 times prior to the sunset 
date of December 31, 2022. Administrative 
support for the task force shall be provided 
by the House of Representatives. The task 
force shall issue a report of its findings to 
the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, 
Speaker of the House, and Governor no later 
than December 1, 2022. 
 

HB 1968 (Nollan/Stanley) modifies 
language regarding specific information to 
be included in a school district’s report on 
gifted child educational program 
expenditures. It requires all districts to 
report expenditures in the Oklahoma Cost 
Accounting System. It removes language 
that required districts receiving above $1 
million or 6% or more of their total State 
Aid for gifted and talented programs to 
report such expenditures by major object 
codes and program classifications and other 
districts to report by major object codes. 
 
HB 2030 (O’Donnell/Pugh) directs the 
subject matter standards for history, social 
studies and U.S. government include the 
study of historical documents including the 
Declaration of Independence, the U.S. 
Constitution, the Federalist Papers and the 
Emancipation Proclamation. The bill also 
requires rather than allows that the U.S. 
naturalization test be administered to 
students beginning in the 2022-23 school 
year. It requires the subject matter standards 
for U.S. government to include the structure 
and relationship between national, state, 
county and local governments and 
simulations of the democratic process. The 
bill requires students to pass the U.S. 
naturalization test in order to graduate from 
a public high school beginning with 9th 
graders in the 2021-22 school year. It 
requires districts to offer the naturalization 
test to students at least once per school year 
beginning as early as eighth grade, and it 
allows a student to retake the exam as often 
as desired until earning a passing score of 60 
out of 100. It provides an exemption for 
students whose individualized education 
program indicates alternative achievement 
standards. 
 
HB 2223 (Randleman/Pemberton) directs 
the State Department of Education to 
maintain the dyslexia handbook created by 
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the Dyslexia and Education Task Force and 
review and make revisions to it a minimum 
of every three years. It requires revisions to 
the handbook to include information 
regarding screening students in kindergarten 
through third grades. 
 
HB 2329 (Lawson/Simpson) allows the 
State Board of Education to grant an 
exception to the requirements for 
certification examinations for teacher 
candidates who are deaf. It allows the Board 
to grant such an exception upon certain 
criteria being met. It allows those granted 
such exceptions to teach in American Sign 
Language immersion programs, the 
Oklahoma School for the Deaf, programs for 
the deaf or other classroom settings where 
American Sign Language is used as the 
language of instruction. 
 
HB 2691 (Hasenbeck/Bergstrom) directs the 
Commission for Educational Quality and 
Accountability to issue a report by Oct. 31, 
2021, to the President Pro Tempore of the 
Senate, Speaker of the House, and Governor 
detailing factors in the education system that 
contribute to improvements, including 
improvements in graduation rates, 
assessment scores, timely postsecondary 
graduation and career readiness. It allows 
the Commission to contract with a private 
consultant to assist with the report and to use 
state, federal, private funds or grants. 
 
HB 2748 (Baker/Stanley) directs the State 
Board of Education to issue a 1-year 
alternative teacher certificate renewable for 
up to 3 years to teach early childhood 
education or elementary education. It 
establishes qualifications, including a 
declaration of intent to earn standard 
certification within 3 years and completing 
certain credit hours in classroom 
management, reading instruction child 
development and math instruction. 

 
HB 2749 (Baker/Pugh) amends the Reading 
Sufficiency Act to require districts that 
receive more than $2,500 in RSA funding to 
spend no less than 10% on professional 
development for pre-K through 5th grade 
teachers beginning in the 2022-23 school 
year. It directs the professional development 
to include training in the science of how 
students learn to read. The bill directs the 
State Department of Education to approve 
and publish a list by June 30, 2022, of 
professional development programs that can 
be used. 
 
HB 2750 (Baker/Pugh) states legislative 
intent that institutions of higher education 
not require an Advanced Placement exam 
score of more than 3 for course credit. It 
allows a score of 3 or more to be required 
for granting additional course credit. The 
bill directs all AP exam credit policies be 
posted on campus websites for the 2021-22 
fall term and each academic term thereafter. 
It directs institutions to conduct biennial 
reviews of their AP credit policies. It directs 
noncompliance to be reported to the chairs 
of the House and Senate education 
committees by Dec. 1 each year. 
 
HB 2752 (Baker/Stanley) directs the State 
Department of Education to establish a 
micro-credential program within 120 days of 
the effective date of the act to allow a 
teacher candidate or teacher to earn micro-
credentials in science, technology, 
engineering and mathematics (STEM) 
endorsement areas, including computer 
science. It directs SDE and the Commission 
for Educational Quality and Accountability 
to convene a working group to determine 
how a micro-credential will be used. 

Career & Technology Education Funding 
 

Agency FY21 
Appropriation 

FY22 
Appropriation 

Change 
from 

Original 
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Department 
of Career & 
Technology 
Education 

$137,471,871 $138,852,412 1.00% 

 

 
Common Education (K-12) Funding 
 
SB 229 (Montgomery/Hilbert) creates the 
Redbud School Funding Act. The measure 
provides that, in fiscal year 2022, the first 
$65 million raised from the 7% gross tax on 
medical marijuana sales shall be apportioned 
to the State Public Common School 
Building Equalization Fund (59.23%), the 
Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority 
(34.62%), and the Oklahoma State 
Department of Health for drug and alcohol 
rehabilitation programs (6.15%). Surplus 
collections raised from the tax shall be 
apportioned to the General Revenue Fund of 
the State Treasury. Additionally, the 
measure provides that sales taxes 
apportioned to the State Public Common 
School Building Equalization Fund shall not 
exceed the state sales tax generated by 
medical marijuana sales in the preceding 
fiscal year beginning in fiscal year 2023 and 
each year thereafter. Additionally, the 
measure clarifies that except as explicitly 
authorized by state law, a charter school 
shall not be eligible to receive state-
dedicated, local, or county revenue. The 
measure directs the State Board of 
Education to disburse redbud school grants 
annually from the State Public Common 
School Building Equalization Fund to public 
schools and eligible charter schools in a 
manner outlined in the measure. The State 

Department of Education shall consider each 
eligible charter school as separate from the 
school district that sponsors it when making 
these calculations. Eligible charter schools 
shall not include a charter school sponsored 
by the Statewide Virtual Charter School 
Board. The SDE is authorized to reserve not 
more than 0.5% of the funds for the purpose 
of administrating the fund. The Department 
is directed to create a dedicated page on its 
website listing annual redbud school grant 
recipients and to provide the Chair of the 
House Appropriations and Budget 
Committee and the Chair of the Senate 
Appropriations Committee an estimate of 
the upcoming year’s redbud school grant 
allocation. 
 
SB 1037 (Thompson/Wallace) allows school 
district building funds to consist of federal 
monies allocated by the Coronavirus 
Response and Relief Supplemental 
Appropriation Act of 2021 (CRRSA) and 
the federal American Rescue Plan Act of 
2021 (ARP). 
 
SB 1038 (Thompson/Wallace) modifies the 
definition of “student teacher” to allow such 
an individual to receive compensation for up 
to 1 full school year as part of an internship. 
It clarifies that such compensation is not to 
be considered compensation for purposes of 
teacher retirement or the minimum salary 
schedule. The bill also removes language 
allowing only students who have completed 
minimum teacher internship requirements to 
be eligible to participate in a paid internship 
program. 
 
SB 1067 (Thompson/Wallace) apportions 
monies appropriated to the State Department 
of Education from HB 2900 in the following 
manner:  
1) $2,437,246,699.00 for Local and State-
supported Financial Support of Public 
Schools  

$110,000,000
$120,000,000
$130,000,000
$140,000,000
$150,000,000
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Department of Career & 
Technology Education
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2) $704,456,047.00 for benefits, training, 
textbooks, and childhood initiative programs  
3) $15,027,640.00 Administrative and 
Support Functions of the State Department 
of Education  
4) $3,827,899.00 shall be transferred to the 
School Consolidation Assistance Fund  
5) $3,827,899.00 shall be transferred to the 
Teachers’ Retirement System Dedicated 
Revenue Revolving Fund  
6) $1,500,000.00 shall be transferred to the 
Oklahoma National Board Certification 
Revolving Fund  
7) $3,300,000.00 shall be transferred to the 
Oklahoma School Psychologist, Speech-
language Pathologist, and Audiologist 
National Certification Revolving Fund  
 
Additionally, the measure directs the 
Department to budget all funds in the 
following categories and amounts:  
1) Payroll, Salaries or Wages Including Tax-
sheltered Deferment Contracts and 
Longevity Payments Authorized by State 
Statutes- $18,227,387.00  
2) Professional and Personal Services- 
$28,696,456.00 3) Contracts Other 
Operating Funds- $3,126,828,823.00 4) 
Expenditure of Federal Funds 
$2,644,741,337.00  
 
The measure also provides that if the funds 
allocated to the Teachers’ Retirement Credit 
are insufficient to fully fund the employee 
contribution credits, the Department may 
reduce in equal proportions funds allocated 
to the Education Leadership Oklahoma, 
Advanced Placement Incentives, Reading 
Sufficiency, Teacher and Leader 
Effectiveness Programs, Alternative and 
High Challenge Education, Required 
Assessments, Ag in the Classroom and 
Imagine Math to fund the program. 
 
SB 1080 (Thompson/McCall) modifies the 
total credit allocation cap on the Oklahoma 

Equal Opportunity Education Scholarship, 
the method for awarding credits, and eligible 
entities for the program. The measure 
provides that any taxpayer who makes a 
contribution to an eligible public school 
foundation or public school district shall be 
entitle to a credit equal to 50% of the 
contribution made and those who make a 
written commitment to contribute the same 
amount for an additional year shall be 
entitled to a credit equal to 75% of the 
contribution made. Such taxpayers shall 
provide evidence of the written commitment 
to the Oklahoma Tax Commission at the 
time of filing the refund claim. The measure 
also defines “eligible public school 
foundations”. The measure caps the total 
annual amount of credits awarded at $25 
million for contributions to public school 
foundations and public school districts for 
tax year 2022 and each year thereafter. If the 
Tax Commission determines the total 
amount to be awarded shall exceed the cap, 
the Commission shall reduce the credits 
awarded on a proportional basis. 
Additionally, the measure limits the amount 
awarded to each public school district at 
$200,000.00 annually. Each school or 
foundation receiving funding from the 
program shall be required to annually report 
to the Tax Commission by September 1 of 
each year the information outlined in the 
measure relating to the educational 
scholarships funded by the organization in 
the previous academic year. 
 
HB 2078 (Hilbert/Taylor) amends the State 
Aid Funding Formula beginning with the 
2022-23 school year. It removes language 
allowing the initial and midyear State Aid 
allocation calculations to be based on the 
weighted average daily membership 
(WADM) of a district’s second preceding 
school year. Instead, it requires each district 
to use its WADM from the preceding school 
year to calculate its initial State Aid 
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allocation instead of the higher WADM of 
the preceding 2 school years. And, it directs 
the midyear adjustment to be based on the 
higher WADM of the preceding school year 
or the first nine weeks of the current school 
year. It increases the allowed general fund 
carryover between 3 and 8 percentage points 
depending on the total general fund 
collections for each district. It also prohibits 
a general fund balance penalty from being 
imposed on school districts that exceed 
prescribed limits during fiscal years 2022 
and 2023. 
 
HB 2871 (Wallace/Thompson) directs the 
Commissioners of the Land Office when 
calculating the 5% cap on investments in 
real property to not include the value of real 
property under long-term lease to the state, 
agencies of the state, or subdivisions thereof. 
 
HB 2890 (Wallace/Thompson) permits 
school district to carryover a general balance 
fund in excess of limits previously 
established by law without a general fund 
penalty being assessed. The measure allows 
districts to continue this practice through FY 
2023. Additionally, the measure provides 
that the July calculation of per pupil revenue 
be determined by the district’s second 
preceding year’s total average daily 
membership (ADM). 
 

Agency FY21 
Appropriation 

FY22 
Appropriation 

Change 
from 

Original 
Department 
of Education $2,992,729,814 $3,164,386,184 5.74% 

Office of 
Educational 

Quality 
$1,567,209 $1,567,209 0.00% 

 

 
Higher Education  
 
SB 48 (Daniels/Kannady) creates the 
Revised Uniform Athlete Agents Act. The 
measure updates the Uniform Athlete Act. It 
expands the definition of “athlete agent” and 
“student athlete” within the Act as well as 
adds new requirements to the signing of an 
agency contract. Additionally, the Act 
provides greater flexibility to students when 
choosing between a professional draft or the 
continuation of their college education. 
Finally, the measure repeals the current 
Uniform Athlete Agents Act. Additionally, 
the measure creates the Student Athlete 
Name, Image and Likeness Rights Act. The 
measure specifies that a student athlete may 
earn compensation commensurate with 
market value for the use of the name, image 
or likeness of the student athlete while 
enrolled at a postsecondary institution 
without penalty or resulting limitation on 
participation. A student athlete shall not earn 
compensation in exchange for his or her 
athletic performance or participation in 
intercollegiate athletics or sports 
competition. 
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SB 132 (Bullard/Baker) amends the 
Oklahoma Higher Learning Access Program 
to allow juniors in public or private high 
schools and 16-year-old students who are 
educated by other means to enter into 
student agreements for the program. 
 
SB 261 (Montgomery/Provenzano) creates 
the Oklahoma Student Borrower’s Bill of 
Rights Act. The measure directs the 
Attorney General to prepare a written 
statement that includes an "Oklahoma 
Student Borrower's Bill of Rights" for a 
student loan borrower who takes out a 
student education loan that is serviced by a 
student loan servicer. The statement must 
include plain and clear language prohibiting 
any student loan servicer from engaging in 
any act that misleads, deceives, or defrauds 
student borrowers. Loan servicers are also 
prohibited from making false statements or 
omitting material facts when submitting 
reports to a governmental agency. 
 
SB 292 (Haste/Nollan) creates until 
November 30, 2022, a 14-member task force 
to study and make recommendations 
regarding current and future concurrent 
enrollment needs of the state and pathways 
for awarding degrees and certificates 
through concurrent enrollment. It requires 
the task force to have an organizational 
meeting by September 1, 2021. It prohibits 
task force members from receiving 
compensation or travel reimbursement. It 
subjects the task force to the Oklahoma 
Open Meeting Act. The bill also requires the 
task force to submit a report of its finding to 
the Governor, the President Pro Tempore of 
the Senate and the Speaker of the House by 
November 30, 2022. 
 
SB 639 (Pugh/Baker) directs the Oklahoma 
State Regents for Higher Education to 
administer a survey to students who receive 
an Oklahoma Higher Learning Access 

Program award and who withdraw from an 
institution within The Oklahoma State 
System of Higher Education, a private 
institution of higher learning, or a 
technology center school before completing 
a degree or certificate program. 
Additionally, the measure directs the State 
Regents to submit to the President Pro 
Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of 
the House of Representatives an annual 
report on the impact of the Oklahoma 
Higher Learning Access Program beginning 
December 31, 2022, and each December 31 
thereafter. 
 
HB 1775 (Kevin West/Bullard) prohibits an 
enrolled student in an institution within The 
Oklahoma State System of Higher 
Education from being required to engage in 
any form of mandatory gender or sexual 
diversity training or counseling, but it allows 
voluntary counseling. It also prohibits any 
orientation or requirement that presents any 
form of race or sex stereotyping or bias on 
the basis of race or sex. It directs the 
Oklahoma State Regents for Higher 
Education to promulgate rules to implement 
these provisions, pursuant to the 
Administrative Procedures Act and subject 
to approval by the Legislature. Additionally, 
the bill prohibits a teacher, administrator or 
other employee of a school district, charter 
school or virtual charter school from 
requiring or making part of a course certain 
concepts, including one race or sex is 
inherently superior to another race or sex. It 
clarifies that the language does not prohibit 
the teaching of concepts that align to the 
Oklahoma Academic Standards. It directs 
the State Board of Education to promulgate 
rules to implement these provisions, 
pursuant to the Administrative Procedures 
Act and subject to approval by the 
Legislature. 
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HB 1821 (McBride/Pemberton) modifies 
language relating to the awarding of tuition 
aid grants. It allows rather than requires a 
tuition aid grant to be awarded annually to 
each qualified student. It removes language 
regarding the maximum award amount. The 
bill directs the State Regents to determine 
award priorities based on enrollment status, 
unmet financial need, continuous 
enrollment, nearness to completion, state 
employment needs, eligibility for other 
financial aid and availability of funding. 
 
HB 1962 (Nolian/Quinn) modifies the 
definition of “qualified higher education 
expense” under the Oklahoma College 
Savings Plan Act to remove specific 
references to tuition, fees, books, etc. and 
leaves in place reference to definition under 
IRS code. 
 
HB 2396 (Russ/Stanley) directs the 
Oklahoma State Regents for Higher 
Education to allow a series of in-depth 
prevention and education programs 
regarding sex trafficking and exploitation to 
all freshman students enrolled in institutions 
within The Oklahoma State System of 
Higher Education. It directs institutions to 
provide all freshmen the opportunity to 
attend one of three on-campus, voluntary 
sex trafficking and exploitation prevention 
and education programs. It directs program 
materials relating to the programs to be 
provided at no cost, with the program 
provider being solely responsible for 
incurring all costs associated with 
implementing the programs and related 
materials. 
 
HB 2943 (McCall/Treat) transfers the 
University Center of Southern Oklahoma in 
Ardmore, Oklahoma to the Murray State 
College and redesignates the Center as the 
Murray State College at Ardmore. The 
transfer shall include all real property, 

buildings, furniture, equipment, supplies, 
records, assets, current and future liabilities, 
fund balances, encumbrances, obligations, 
indebtedness, legal agreements, powers, 
duties, and responsibilities associated with 
the University Center of Southern 
Oklahoma. 
Higher Education Funding 
 

Agency FY21 
Appropriation 

FY22 
Appropriation 

Change 
from 

Original 
Regents for 

Higher 
Education 

$802,070,058 $770,414,742 -3.95% 

 

 
Hospital Authority Funding 
 
HB 2874 (Wallace/Thompson) provides a 
sales tax exemption for sales of tangible 
personal property or services to the 
University Hospitals Trust. The measure 
also provides an exemption for the transfer 
of tangible personal property or services 
made by or to the University Hospitals Trust 
or nonprofit entities that are exempt from 
taxation that have entered into a joint 
operating agreement with the University 
Hospitals Trust. 
 

Agency FY21 
Appropriation 

FY22 
Appropriation 

Change 
from 

Original 
University 
Hospitals 
Authority 

$66,691,554 $86,591,554 29.84% 
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Energy, Environment, & Utilities 
 
SB 246 (Allen/Sean Roberts) lowers the 
population requirement for counties where 
people or entities located in certain areas are 
required to use air curtain incinerators for 
land clearing operations and air curtain 
incinerators for the burning of clean wood 
waste or yard brush. Additionally, the 
counties required to use air curtain 
incinerators shall also include areas where 
the Department-certified ambient air quality 
monitoring data documents a violation of 
primary National Ambient Air Quality 
Standards. 
 
SB 448 (Taylor/Boles) defines various terms 
associated with recycling procedures in the 
Oklahoma Solid Waste Management Act. 
The measure defines the parameters of what 
constitutes an advanced recycling facility 
and the various procedures used to 
depolymerize, gasify, use, and recover 
recycled products. 
 
SB 632 (Taylor/McEntire) adds the proceeds 
owed for oil and gas drilling and 
development, proceeds from the acquisition 
of oil and gas rights, and proceeds from an 
unfulfilled contract or agreement for the 
purchase of mineral rights to the list of 
illustrated rights as it relates to oil and gas. 
The FS modifies the Nature, Extent, and 
Duration of Oil and Gas Lien to include the 
provision to secure the obligation of any 

person to pay any proceeds for the 
acquisition of oil and gas rights. 
 
SB 1006 (David/Sims) modifies the duties 
of the Tri-State Commission by directing the 
Commission to coordinate with any relevant 
federal or state agency or any other entity to 
identify ways to improve the navigability of 
the McClellan-Kerr Arkansas River 
Navigation System. 
 
SB 1021 (David/McBride) creates the 
Hydrogen Production, Transportation and 
Infrastructure Task Force. The Task Force 
shall be comprised of 10 members and shall 
disband on December 31, 2021. The 
measure requires the Task Force to meet at 
least once per month and to hold at least two 
separate meetings focusing on the 
distribution and production of hydrogen 
respectively. The FS additionally provides a 
list of representatives the Task Force shall 
consult as it investigates the issue. The Task 
Force shall be subject to the provisions of 
the Open Records Act and its members shall 
receive no compensation or travel 
reimbursement. The Task Force shall submit 
a report of its findings to the Governor, 
President Pro Tempore of the Senate, and 
Speaker of the House no later than 
December 1, 2021. 
 
SB 1022 (David/Boles) authorizes the 
Executive Director of the Oklahoma Water 
Resources Board to issue temporary and 
regular water permits that have not been 
subject to a protest from an interested party. 
 
SB 1049 (Thompson/Wallace) creates the 
February 2021 Unregulated Utility 
Consumer Protection Act. The measure shall 
provide financial assistance in the form of a 
pooled loan program provided for 
unregulated utility entities for the purpose of 
reducing the impact of costs related to the 
extreme weather event that occurred 
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between February 7, 2021, and February 21, 
2021. The Oklahoma Development Finance 
Authority shall issue and administer the 
bonds, notes or other forms of evidence of 
indebtedness to fund the loans to 
unregulated utility entities under this 
program. The Public Utility Division of the 
Oklahoma Corporation Commission is 
directed by the measure to assist the 
Authority in determining the costs an 
unregulated utility actually and lawfully 
incurred by the weather event through 
administrative review before a loan is 
approved. Unregulated utilities may apply 
for a loan from the Authority through an 
application process and must provide the 
amount of extreme purchase costs and 
extraordinary costs requested for recovery, 
whether the unregulated utility is requesting 
a loan for all or a portion of the extreme 
purchase costs and extraordinary costs, 
estimated amount of cost savings from or 
demonstration of how utility bill impact to 
customers would be mitigated by receiving a 
loan for the eligible extreme purchase costs 
and extraordinary costs, and any other 
information deemed necessary by the 
Authority. The Authority shall send the 
application to the Corporation Commission 
for an audit of the amounts requested for 
recovery and then the Commission shall 
send the application back to the Authority 
for approval or rejection. If the Authority 
rejects the application, it must provide the 
reasoning for its rejection to the utility and 
provide for the utility to resubmit its 
amended application. The Authority is 
authorized to issue credit with loan terms of 
and up to 30 years, which shall be at their 
discretion. The measure authorizes the 
Authority to take a security interest in any 
property or revenues of the unregulated 
utility. The loans shall be financed from 
revenue by the newly created Unregulated 
Utility Consumer Protection Fund. The Fund 
shall receive monies derived from the bonds, 

notes, or any other form of evidence of 
indebtedness issued by the Authority and 
any other contributions from unregulated 
utilities permitted by law. Upon receiving 
the loan provided by the Authority, the 
utility must base customer charges mitigated 
pursuant to this act on the then-current 
monthly billing of the customer and shall 
lineitem such charges on the monthly bill of 
the unregulated utility customer. The 
Authority is also directed by the measure to 
notify in writing the Governor, the President 
Pro Tempore of the Senate, and the Speaker 
of the House of Representatives when an 
application for a loan is approved or 
disapproved and on the date the loan is 
issued and prepare an annual report. The 
utility revenue bonds or any other 
obligations issued shall not at any time be 
deemed to constitute a debt of the state or of 
any political subdivision thereof or a pledge 
of the full faith and credit of the state or any 
political subdivision. The measure provides 
that the jurisdiction of the Corporation 
Commission shall not extend beyond the 
audit required for the application process in 
this measure. It also authorizes the Authority 
to file an application with the Oklahoma 
Supreme Court for the approval of bonds 
issued and confreres exclusive jurisdiction 
upon the Court to hear and determine each 
application. The measure also provides that 
any bonds issued under this act shall be 
reviewed by the Council of Bond Oversight 
and also amends the duties of the Authority 
to include actions required by this act. 
 
SB 1050 (Thompson/Wallace) creates the 
February 2021 Regulated Utility Consumer 
Protection Act. The measure shall provide 
financial assistance in the form of 
securitization and issuance of rate-payer 
backed bonds provided to regulated utility 
entities for the purpose of reducing costs to 
customers related to the extreme weather 
event that occurred in February 2021. The 
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Oklahoma Corporation Commission is 
authorized by the measure to mitigate costs 
relating to the weather event for customers 
by using securitization. The Commission 
shall consider revenue requirement savings 
that may be incurred to the benefit of 
customers by relying on lower carrying 
charges, customer utility bill impact that 
may be mitigated by mandating a longer 
amortization period for recovery, and 
whether issuance of ratepayer-backed bonds 
that may be completed at a sufficiently low 
cost such that customer savings are not 
exhausted or offset. The Commission is 
authorized to utilize financial advisors to 
evaluate applications. Expenses incurred for 
those purposes shall be recoverable as 
administrative expenses of the Oklahoma 
Development Finance Authority through the 
issuance of ratepayer-backed bonds. The 
Commission shall issue a financing order 
that determines the rate of maturity for the 
bonds, the quantified amount of extreme 
purchase costs and extraordinary costs to be 
recovered, the frequency of true-up and 
reconciliation of the customer repayment 
revenues collected, the method by which the 
customer repayment charges will be 
allocated among the various customer 
classes, and the requirement that all funds 
received under the irrevocable and 
nonbypassable mechanism be provided 
immediately to the holder of securitization 
property. The bond’s maturity shall not 
exceed 30 years. The Commission shall 
issue an order no later than 180 days from 
the date the Commission receives all 
necessary information and documentation. 
On the same date a financing order is issued, 
a copy of the order shall be delivered to the 
Governor, the President Pro Tempore of the 
Senate, the Speaker of the House of 
Representatives, and the Oklahoma 
Development Finance Authority. Regulated 
utilities are prohibited from recovering the 
extreme purchase costs and extraordinary 

costs identified and quantified in the 
financing order from customers except 
through the transfer of securitization 
property and prohibits such utilities from 
removing the periodic determination of 
factors for customer collection with true-up 
and reconciliation. The rights and interests 
to receive revenues collected by a regulated 
utility through the irrevocable and 
nonbypassable mechanism created pursuant 
to a financing order shall become a 
securitization property right at the time the 
ratepayer-backed bond is issued pursuant to 
a financing order. The rights of the 
securitization property owner are not subject 
to setoff, counterclaim, surcharge or defense 
by the regulated utility or any other person, 
creditor or otherwise, in any bankruptcy or 
debt collection proceeding of the regulated 
utility. The measure authorizes the creation 
of a valid and enforceable lien and security 
interest in securitization property via an 
agreement with the Oklahoma Development 
Finance Authority. The measure authorizes 
the Authority to borrow money on the credit 
of the revenues to be derived from 
securitization property received. The 
measure specifies that such ratepayer-
backed bonds shall not be an indebtedness 
of the state or of the Authority. Additionally, 
the State Treasurer is authorized by the 
measure to purchase from the Authority at 
private sale all or any part of the bonds 
issued in this manner. The measure provides 
that the Commission may require an audit of 
all amounts received from customers under 
an irrevocable and nonbypassable 
mechanism and paid to a utility, the amounts 
paid by the utility to the Oklahoma 
Development Finance Authority, or other 
holder of securitization property. Such 
audits shall be provided to the Governor, the 
President Pro Tempore of the Senate, the 
Speaker of the House of Representatives, 
and the Authority. The measure provides 
that the Authority shall file an application 
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with the Oklahoma Supreme Court for the 
approval of bonds issued and confers 
exclusive jurisdiction upon the Court to hear 
and determine each application. The Court 
shall give such an application precedence 
over the other business of the Court and 
consider and pass upon the application and 
any protests which may be filed against such 
application as speedily as possible. Notice of 
the hearing must be published in a 
newspaper of general circulation in the state 
at least 10 days prior to the hearing. The 
decision of the Court shall be a judicial 
determination of the validity of the bonds, 
shall be conclusive as to the Authority, this 
state, its officers, agents and 
instrumentalities and all other persons, and 
thereafter the bonds so approved and the 
revenues pledged to their payment shall be 
incontestable in any court in this state. 
 
HB 1093 (Kerbs/Murdock) directs the 
Oklahoma Water Resources Board to update 
its water quality standards to allow for 
development of watershed trading programs 
by November 1, 2026. 
 
HB 1705 (Newton/Murdock) eliminates the 
requirement that persons generating or 
shipping hazardous waste must create a 
disposal plan and submit it to the 
Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) for approval. The also measure 
eliminates the fee for the generator disposal 
plan and modifies the fees for monitoring 
and small quantity generators. 
 
HB 1815 (McBride/David) directs the 
Oklahoma Corporation Commission to issue 
a report and recommendations regarding 
availability and appropriateness of natural 
gas utilities to procure, transport, and deliver 
renewable natural gas to consumers no later 
than December 1, 2021. Renewable natural 
gas is defined to include biogas-derived 
methane gas, hydrogen gas or carbon oxide 

from renewable sources, or methane gas 
derived from any combination of hydrogen 
gas or carbon oxide from renewable sources. 
The report shall also address production of 
educational materials regarding renewable 
natural gas, and discuss future reporting 
requirements for producers. 
 
HB 2028 (O’Donnell/Allen) prohibits 
excavators from commencing excavation or 
demolition if they have knowledge that an 
operator has unmarked underground 
facilities. Work may begin after notice has 
been given and such facilities have been 
marked. Excavators are required to maintain 
and preserve all marks for the duration of 
the excavation or demolition. They are also 
required to notify the notification center if 
marks are no longer visible or removed and 
check for positive response at the 
notification center prior to excavation or 
demolition. The measure provides time 
limits for certain notice and potential 
liability for excavators in certain 
circumstances. During any state of 
emergency, time limitations are 
inapplicable. Operators are required to 
provide a positive response to the 
notification center prior to the expiration of 
the required notice period. The measure 
provides requirements for the response. The 
measure requires all operators to be 
members in good standing of the notification 
center and requires certain documentation to 
be maintained by the notification center. 
 
HB 2029 (O’Donnell/Taylor) clarifies a 
requirement that a division order include the 
name, address, and tax ID number of each 
interest owner. 
 
HB 2049 (McCall/Simpson) modifies the 
cost at which a conservancy district contract 
requires an advertisement for bids in a 
newspaper. The measure requires district 
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contracts valued more than $100,000,00 to 
be advertised. 
 
HB 2330 (Steagall/Rosino) allows drilling 
of municipal water wells inside and outside 
of the municipal limits. 
 
HB 2402 (Russ/Jech) authorizes counties, 
public trusts, and other political subdivisions 
operating a public water supply system or 
wastewater treatment system to utilize 
design-build as a project delivery method for 
those water systems. The measure requires 
the Department of Environmental Quality to 
incorporate a flexible permitting process to 
allow this design-build authorization into its 
rules and to authorize up to 5 pilot projects 
in the interim before those rules are adopted. 

Conservation Commission Funding 
 
SB 535 (Bergstrom/Lepak) increases the 
maximum civil liability for violating 
pipeline safety rules promulgated by the 
Corporation Commission from $100,000.00 
to $200,000.00 and from $1 million to $2 
million for any related series of violations. 
 
SB 536 (Bergstrom/Lepak) 6 increases the 
maximum civil liability for violating the 
Hazardous Liquid Transportation System 
Safety Act from $100,000.00 to $200,000.00 
and from $1 million to $2 million for any 
related series of violations. 
 
SB 1059 (Thompson/Wallace) extends the 
sunset date for the Corporation Commission 
Plugging Fund and its associated fees from 
July 1, 2021, to July 1, 2026. 
 

Agency FY21 
Appropriation 

FY22 
Appropriation 

Change 
from 
Original 

Conservation 
Commission $16,865,856 $16,876,719 0.06% 

 

 
Corporation Commission Funding 
 

Agency FY21 
Appropriation 

FY22 
Appropriation 

Change 
from 

Original 
Oklahoma 

Corporation 
Commission 

$11,871,018 $13,192,324 11.13% 

 

 
Election Measures 
 
SB 347 (Paxton/Martinez) prohibits 
municipalities and political subdivisions 
from holding an election on the second 
Tuesday of December 2021 or the second 
Tuesday of January 2022 for the offices of 
United States Representative, State Senator, 
State Representative and County 
Commission districts following the 
reapportionment of such districts in order for 
the State Election Board to properly 
implement new precincts associated with 
new district boundaries. Additionally, the 
measure adds the second Tuesday of June of 
an odd-numbered year for a special election 
to fill a vacancy to the list of exceptions to 
the rule that no regular or special election to 
fill an elective office shall be held by any 
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county, school district, technology center 
school district, municipality, fire protection 
district or other political subdivision 
authorized to call elections. 
 
SB 710 (Jech/Newton) authorizes the 
Secretary of the State Election Board to join 
the State of Oklahoma as a member in 1 or 
more multistate voter list maintenance 
organizations and to provide voter 
registration data to such organizations upon 
joining. The measure provides for the 
Secretary to expend such funds as needed 
for membership dues. Additionally, if such 
organizations identify eligible, but not 
registered, citizens or citizens who changed 
their address, the Secretary may notify such 
citizens about the procedure for becoming a 
registered voter or changing the registered 
address. 
 
SB 712 (Jech/Dick Lowe) provides for the 
Secretary of the State Election Board to 
authorize the use of electronic precinct 
registries by county election boards. The 
Secretary may also purchase any equipment 
and software necessary to implement an 
electronic precinct registry system, subject 
to available funding. 
 
SB 947 (Rosino/Tammy West) requires the 
parties responsible for circulating an 
initiative petition to indicate whether the 
proposal will have a fiscal impact on the 
state and if so, the potential source of 
funding. 
 
SB 959 (Paxton/Hilbert) modifies 
procedures relating to filling a vacancy or 
irrevocable resignation in the United States 
Senate. The measure provides that an 
irrevocable resignation shall occur when a 
member of the United States Senate from 
Oklahoma provides a written letter of 
resignation to the Secretary of State. The 
measure requires a special election to be 

held for the seat at the next regularly 
scheduled statewide Primary, Runoff 
Primary, and General Election. If the 
vacancy occurs in an even-numbered year 
on or before March 1, the special election, if 
necessary, shall be held that same year. If 
the vacancy is already scheduled to be filled 
for a full term at the next available regularly 
scheduled election, then no special election 
shall be called. The Governor is directed to 
appoint a person eligible to hold such office, 
who has been a registered voter of the party 
of the predecessor in Oklahoma for at least 5 
years within 30 days of the vacancy 
occurring. The potential appointee shall 
submit an oath to the Secretary of State an 
oath affirming that the person will not file as 
a candidate for the office when it next 
appears on the ballot. The Secretary of State 
is directed by the measure to publish that 
oath. 
 
SB 1066 (Treat/McCall) creates the State 
Senate Redistricting Act of 2021. The 
measure states that the legislature 
determined the United States Census Bureau 
failed to meet the deadline to transmit the 
tabulations of population of the state, which 
necessitates the use of the best alternative 
population data. The measure also finds that 
the best available population data is United 
States Census Bureau’s American 
Community Survey for 2015-2019. The 
outlined Senate districts shall become 
operative on the 15th day following the 
General Election in November 2022. The 
State Election Board shall conduct the 
elections for the Senate in 2022 in 
accordance with the provisions of the State 
Senate Redistricting Act of 2021. The 
measure repeals the provisions of the State 
Senate Redistricting Act of 2011. The 
measure provides that Senators elected from 
even-numbered districts in 2022 shall hold 
office until the 15th day succeeding the 
General Election in November 2026. 
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Senators elected from odd-numbered 
districts in 2020 shall hold office until the 
15th day succeeding the General Election in 
November 2024. Each Senate district is 
based on the following geography as defined 
by the U.S. Census Bureau: counties, tracts, 
blockgroups, and blocks. The measure 
provides that if the State Senate 
Redistricting Act of 2021 and the State 
House of Representatives Redistricting Act 
of 2021 require any county election board to 
create precincts with no residents, the 
President Pro Tempore of the Senate and 
Speaker of the House shall adjust Senate or 
House district lines to prevent the creation 
of zero population precincts. In no case shall 
such an adjustment affect the total 
population of a Senate or House district. 
 
HB 1198 (McCall/Treat) creates the State 
House of Representatives Redistricting Act 
of 2021. The measure designates the Census 
Bureau’s American Community Survey 
(ACS) Five-Year Estimates for 2015-2019 
as the best alternative population data 
available for legislative redistricting and 
directs the Legislature to use ACS data to 
draft redistricting legislation. The new 
district boundaries will take effect on the 
15th days following the General Election in 
November 2022. The State Election Board 
will conduct elections for state House 
districts in 2022 in accordance with the act 
under the new district lines. 
 
HB 1752 (CrosswhiteHader/Rader) sets a 
deadline of 30 days from the date the list is 
received for the secretary of a county 
election board to remove the names of the 
deceased from the voter registration 
database. A funeral director will be required 
to fill out a form from the Secretary of the 
State Election Board to notify the secretary 
of the county election board of a county 
resident’s death. The measure also provides 
that an order appointing a guardian shall set 

forth findings of fact as to whether the ward 
retains sufficient capacity to vote. 
 
HB 1963 (Nollan/Stanley) provides that the 
Governor shall appoint the members of a 
school board of education of a school 
district or technology center school district 
that fails to reach a majority due to 
vacancies. The Governor shall only appoint 
enough members for the school board to 
reach a quorum. The appointment or 
appointments will be consistent with 
existing requirements and only for the 
remainder of the term of office. 
 
HB 2087 (McCall/Rader) provides that 
officeholder expenses may be expended for 
contributions or dues for a political caucus 
fund or the costs associated with signage for 
naming highways and bridges. 
 
HB 2193 (Stinson/Bergstrom) clarifies that 
municipal office as it relates to the 
Municipal Campaign Finance and Financial 
Disclosure Act shall mean any elective 
office established under state or municipal 
law. 
 
HB 2564 (Chad Caldwell/Quinn) provides 
that a candidate for political office 
petitioning for a recount of the vote may 
request the vote be counted manually or 
electronically. If the candidate or individual 
requests that the ballots be recounted by 
electronic device, the petition must be 
accompanied by a cashier’s check or 
certified check in the amount of $600.00 for 
the first 3,000 ballots and $300.00 for each 
5,000 ballots thereafter. The measure also 
provides that the Governor or Attorney 
General may request a recount of any state 
question. The request shall be in the form of 
a petition prescribed by the Secretary of the 
State Election Board. The measure also 
directs the Secretary of the State Election 
Board to order an automatic recount of the 
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state question’s vote if the margin of votes 
required for approval is less than 0.5% or 
less of the total number of votes cast for and 
against a state question involving a statutory 
issue or question. The recount shall also be 
order if the margin of votes required for 
approval is 1% or less of the total number of 
votes cast for and against a state question 
involving a constitutional issue or question. 
The recount will not occur if there is less 
than $250,000.00 in the State Question 
Recount Revolving Fund. The Fund shall 
never exceed $500,000.00. 
 
HB 2663 (Echols/David) modifies the 
deadline for absentee ballot requests. The 
measure extends the period from the 
Tuesday preceding an election to the third 
Monday preceding an election. Such 
requests must be submitted to the 
appropriate election official. Additionally, 
the measure modifies the period a person 
may request an in-person absentee ballot for 
county elections as well as General, 
Primary, Runoff Primary Election, or 
Presidential Preferential Primary Elections. 
For county elections, the deadline for such 
requests remains 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. on the 
Thursday and Friday immediately preceding 
the county election. For Primary, Runoff 
Primary Election, or Presidential 
Preferential Primary Elections, the measure 
provides that ballot requests may be made 
on the Saturday preceding the election from 
8 a.m. to 2 p.m. General Election absentee 
ballots may be requested starting on the 
Wednesday immediately preceding the 
election from 8 a.m. To 6 p.m. 
 
HB 2939 (Newton/Murdock) directs the 
secretary of the county election board to 
record a voter’s method of voting. The 
voter’s method shall not be disclosed to the 
public except for during a regularly 
scheduled federal or state election or a 

statewide special election for a state 
question. 

County and Municipal Government 
 
SB 143 (Rader/Boatman) authorizes county 
employee recognition awards to be 
presented at a formal or informal ceremony, 
banquet, reception, or luncheon. Monies 
may be expended from the county 
department’s or division’s operating fund to 
pay for the ceremony, banquet, reception, or 
luncheon. 
 
SB 277 (Montgomery/Pae) authorizes 
municipalities to requires the owner of a 
dilapidated property to provide his or her 
contact information and provides for such 
information to be kept confidential. 
 
SB 280 (Quinn/Humphrey) authorizes any 
county with an excise board to establish a 
rainy-day fund and capital reserve fund. 
Deposits may be made into the rainy-day 
fund by resolution of the county. The fund 
may contain 50% of the previous year’s 
approved budget. Once deposited in the 
fund, the monies are not transferrable. The 
measure provides for half of the fund to be 
utilized for naturalized disasters, 1/8 of the 
fund to be used for supplementing the 
budget, and 1/8 of the fund to be used to 
supplement the current year’s revenue when 
collections come in shorter than estimated 
and a revenue failure is declared by the 
board of county commissioners. Deposits 
into the capital reserve fund are also 
nontransferable but may be expended in a 
manner determined by the board of authority 
on county facilities. 
 
SB 483 (Hall/Burns) requires members of 
the county board of equalization to attend 
and complete a course of instruction 
consisting of at least 6 hours for purposes of 
instructing the members about the duties 
imposed on the board by law. Additionally, 



38 
 

the measure reduces the time members are 
afforded to complete the course from 18 
months to 12 months. The measure also 
establishes an annual 3 hour continuing 
education requirement for members. The 
Program Director of the Center for Local 
Government Technology at Oklahoma State 
University is directed to send written 
notification of failure to comply with the 
educational requirements to the State 
Auditor. The State Auditor shall inform the 
noncompliant member of their failure to 
comply within 30 days of receiving notice. 
Members who do not comply with the 
provisions of this measure shall not receive 
travel reimbursements. Any member that 
misses 3 or more meetings shall forfeit their 
office. The measure also increases the 
maximum compensation a board member 
may receive from $50.00 to $100.00. 
 
SB 728 (Paxton/Martinez) provides that the 
counties shall be reapportioned by their 
respective county board of commissioners 
on or before November 30, 2021, following 
the final official publication of the Federal 
Decennial Census. 
 
SB 736 (Kidd/McEntire) provides for health 
districts to also be comprised of multiple 
county health departments operating under 
agreement to share resources. The measure 
also provides for the county board of 
commissioner to be able to contract with a 
neighboring board of health or board of 
county commissioners of any county to 
provide the county any or all public health 
services. Counties may combine county 
millage and designate 1 county as the 
operational hub. 
 
SB 828 (Murdock/Newton) provides that 
any employee employed to perform duties 
that are not in assistance to a county officer 
in the performance of the official duties of 
the county officer, including, but not limited 

to, specialized or technical duties, may 
receive a salary in excess of a county 
officer. The measure also authorizes a 
county to utilize the appropriate State of 
Oklahoma pay structure in lieu of the salary 
code specified in statute.  
 
SB 838 (Weaver/Nollan) creates the 
Oklahoma Public Safety Protection District 
Act. The measure authorizes the governing 
body of a municipality to create a public 
safety protection district by the adoption of a 
resolution and placing the question to voters 
of the municipality in the next general 
election. If a 60% of voters approve the 
creation of the district, the municipality shall 
exercise oversight and management of the 
district. The district will be considered a 
political subdivision of the state and will 
encompass the borders of the municipality. 
An assessment of up to 5 mills may be 
levied by the district for the purposes of 
paying for police, fire, and jail operations. 
The assessment shall not apply to real 
property zoned for agricultural or industrial 
land use, implements of husbandry, 
livestock employed in support of the family, 
and personal property owned by for-profit 
business entities. 
 
SB 939 (Taylor/Pfeiffer) provides that any 
critical infrastructure company or entity that 
acts in compliance with or acts consistently 
with government rules, guidelines, or laws 
applicable to its sector shall not constitute a 
nuisance. 
 
SB 958 (Coleman/Burns) provides the board 
of directors for each fire protection district 
with the power to acquire a certification to 
operate an emergency medical services 
agency from the Oklahoma State 
Department of Health or contract for 
services with a certified or licensed 
emergency medical service agency. The 
district’s emergency medical service agency 
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may respond outside of the district 
boundaries if the political subdivisions 
having jurisdiction over the area provided 
the Department proper documentation of 
their support. 
 
HB 1036 (Strom/Daniels) authorizes the 
board of county commissioner to purchase 
or sell materials, tools, and equipment with 
a political subdivision which is not subject 
to the Oklahoma Central Purchasing Act at a 
price agreed upon by both governing 
bodies. 
 
HB 1063 (Boles/Kidd) 3 authorizes the 
board of county commissioners to employ 
information technology (IT) staff and strikes 
language requiring that the data processing 
technician’s term may not extend beyond the 
term of office of the board appointing them. 
 
HB 1064 (Boles/Kidd) applies a single 
method of calculating base salary for county 
officers to all counties, and strikes other 
methods. The definition of serviceability is 
modified to include gross assessed valuation 
of all tangible taxable property, rather than 
net valuation. The upper limit of the county 
officer base salary is increased from 
$44,500.00 to $49,500.00. Calculation of 
additions to base salary are modified to be 
based upon gross assessed valuation rather 
than net valuation. 
 
HB 1749 (CrosswhiteHader/Paxton) 
authorizes the county treasurer to not bid off 
the property in the name of the county and 
instead allow the property to remain under 
its current ownership. The treasurer is 
directed to consider certain factors outlined 
in the measure when determining property to 
be nuisance property. Determination of a 
property as common area nuisance property 
could be made at any time. The measure 
also provides that all common area nuisance 
property bid off in the name of the city or 

town shall be for the amount of any 
municipal liens due. 
 
HB 1789 (Pae/Howard) authorizes s local 
governmental units to create or contract with 
a purchasing cooperative to achieve best 
value or best terms in contracts. The 
measure allows any purchasing cooperative 
or interlocal cooperative to utilize a single 
legal newspaper of the state to meet its bid 
notice requirements of competitive bidding 
or bid solicitation. If the project is exclusive 
to a county or group of counties, the bid 
notice must be published in a legal 
newspaper within that county or those 
counties. 
 
HB 2225 (Moore/Weaver) authorizes 
designees of the chief of police to dispose of 
personal property or money seized by the 
chief. In the event the property or money 
was seized by the police department in 
connection with a criminal investigation or 
arrest, this determination shall be made by 
the court which has jurisdiction over the 
criminal offense. If the property has an 
actual or apparent value over $250, written 
notice must be given to the person last in 
possession of the property 3 days prior to the 
hearing. A description of the property shall 
be included in the notice. If authorized by 
ordinance, the municipality may transfer any 
currency received into a depository account 
for the benefit of its known or unknown 
owners prior to any court order for 
disposition of the money or legal tender. No 
forfeiture proceeding shall be necessary to 
authorize the destruction of property that 
cannot be returned lawfully to its owner. 
The measure also allows a municipality to 
provide written notice at the time of arrest 
that certain property would be available for 
return within 90 days, if it was not seized as 
evidence. If the property is worth less than 
$250, no further notice is required prior to 
obtaining a court order for disposition of the 
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property. If an affidavit of ownership or 
affidavit of right of possession is used to 
establish ownership or right of possession, 
the claimant may also be required to sign an 
agreement to indemnify and defend the 
custodians of the property in the event of an 
adverse claim to the property. 
 
HB 2506 (Kannady/Allen) modifies the 
definition of dilapidated building as it relates 
to condemnation procedures. The time a 
building must have been boarded and 
secured in order to be considered dilapidated 
is reduced from 18 months to 6 months. 
 
HB 2747 (Ford/Haste) requires municipal 
employers to recognize a bargaining agent 
selected by a majority of the firefighters of 
the fire department or police officers of the 
police department of that municipality as the 
exclusive bargaining agent for the 
firefighters or police officers of that 
municipality until a majority of the 
firefighters or police officers withdraw the 
recognition. Such agents must be recognized 
by a majority of the firefighters or police 
officers of that department. Any vote or 
ballot authorized by the agreed procedures 
shall be accompanied by a copy of the 
voter's driver license or other state 
authorized identification card. If no parties 
can agree on election procedures, either 
party may request the American Arbitration 
Association to conduct the election and 
certify the results. Elections for bargaining 
agents may only be held once per 12- month 
period. 
 
HB 2778 (Pfeiffer/Coleman) authorizes a 
district attorney to destroy records and files 
pertaining to felony, misdemeanor, traffic, 
wildlife, or juvenile cases if they have been 
digitized. 
Public Finance 
 

SB 75 (Simpson/Townley) exempts the 
Social Security Disability Determination 
Services Division of the Department of 
Rehabilitation Services from the 
requirement to obtain an information 
security risk assessment identifying 
vulnerabilities associated with the 
information system. 
 
SB 88 (Howard/Worthen) modifies voting 
requirements for public trusts to waive 
public bidding requirements. The measure 
authorizes public trusts with fewer than 4 
trustees to waive bidding requirements with 
2/3’s of the vote instead of 3/4’s of the vote. 
Additionally, the measure exempts public 
trusts from auditing requirements provided 
the trust does not possess any debt 
obligations and has assets totaling less than 
$50,000.00. 
 
SB 91 (Hall/Boles) modifies the maximum 
length of performance-based efficiency 
contracts by specifying that the term shall be 
the greater of 20 years or the useful life of 
the project. Additionally, the measure 
provides that a public entity may consider 
capital cost avoidance and include additional 
revenue that is directly attributed to the 
performance-based efficiency contract when 
calculating cost-savings. 
 
SB 147 (Thompson/Wallace) directs the 
Commissioners of the Land Office when 
calculating the 5% cap on investments in 
real property to not include the value of real 
property under long-term lease to the state, 
agencies of the state, or subdivisions thereof. 
 
SB 281 (Quinn/O’Donnell) requires county 
investments into bonds issued by the United 
States to only be invested in bonds with a 
rating of A+ or better by Standard and 
Poor’s Corporation or A1 or better by 
Moody’s Investor Service or an equivalent 
investment grade by a securities ratings 
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organization accepted by the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioners 
including investment grade obligations of 
state agencies. 
 
SB 345 (Garvin/McEntire) clarifies that 
awards made pursuant to the provisions of 
the Oklahoma Dental Loan Repayment 
Program shall be deposited into an 
appropriate loan agency.  
 
SB 382 (Standridge/Conley) exempts the 
J.D. McCarty Center from the certain 
provisions of the Oklahoma Central 
Purchasing Act. 
 
SB 606 (Rader/Pfeiffer) strikes the 
designation for the Oklahoma Local 
Development and Enterprise Zone Incentive 
Leverage Act Incentive Payment Fund and 
changes it from a special fund to an 
Oklahoma Tax Commission special account. 
The measure also removes language limiting 
the liability of the state to the balance 
contained in the fund. 
 
SB 789 (Leewright/Wallace) authorizes the 
Oklahoma Employment Security 
Commission to claim 25% of the federal 
relief funds made available to the state, 
decease the surcharge to be charged to each 
employer to a percentage rate that is 
sufficient to bring the balance of the fund to 
$25 million, borrow federal funds, and allow 
the balance of the fund to drop to $10 
million if needed during a state of 
emergency declared by the Governor, the 
Oklahoma Legislature, the United States 
President, or the United States Congress. 
 
SB 840 (Kidd/Boles) increases the cap for 
county agents making purchases or lease 
agreements without following bidding 
procedures from $15,000.00 to $25,000.00. 
The measure also provides for county 
purchasing agents to purchase goods and 

services from the next lowest bidder or the 
best quote if the lowest bidder refuses to 
provide such goods and services provided 
the purchase amount is below $25,000.00. 
 
SB 853 (J.J. Dossett/Burns) exempts the 
Oklahoma Military Department from the 
provisions of the Oklahoma Central 
Purchasing Act as it applies to purchasing 
heraldry items. 
 
SB 867 (Pugh/Tommy Hardin) authorize the 
Military Department to purchase products 
which are available through a General 
Services Administration contract. The 
products do no need to be on a current state 
contract before a purchase can be made. 
 
SB 868 (Pugh/Tommy Hardin) provides for 
federal programs administered by the 
Military Department with a Certified 
Procurement Officer making purchases on 
behalf of the program to be regarded as an 
individual purchasing entity. 
 
SB 1051 (Thompson/Wallace) repeals the 
authority for the Department of Mental 
Health and Substance Abuse Services to 
issue notes and bonds in an amount not to 
exceed $6 million. 
 
HB 1061 (Boles/Paxton) directs funds to the 
Crime Victims Compensation Fund that 
would otherwise be deposited to the credit 
of the General Revenue Fund; for this 
reason the measure will have a negative 
revenue impact on the General Revenue 
Fund.  
 
HB 1376 (McCall/Pugh) subjects the 
Oklahoma Aeronautics Commission to the 
provisions of the Public Competitive 
Bidding Act of 1974 as it relates to contracts 
for airport and air navigation facility 
construction and repair. The Department of 
Transportation may administer the process. 
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HB 1990 (Trey Caldwell/Montgomery) 
provides that monies from the Ad Valorem 
Fund may be used to reimburse counties for 
homestead exemptions granted to 100 
percent disabled veterans and surviving 
spouses if the number of exemptions granted 
to veterans and surviving spouses for the 
most recently concluded calendar year 0.8% 
of the total county population according to 
the latest Federal Decennial Census or most 
recent annual population estimate. The 
reimbursement provided in this paragraph 
shall amount to 25% of the loss of revenue 
claimed by the qualified county. 
 
HB 2331 (Steagall/Newhouse) exempts the 
Oklahoma Military Department from the 
requirement to obtain an information 
security risk assessment by the Information 
Services Division of the Office of 
Management and Enterprise Services. 
 
HB 2365 (Burns/Coleman) creates the 
Oklahoma Supplier Diversity Initiative. The 
program shall provide convenience for 
qualified and certified small business 
enterprises and minority business enterprises 
in contracting projects in underserved areas. 
Qualified businesses, as defined in the 
measure, shall register with the Office of 
Management and Enterprise Services 
(OMES). OMES is directed by the measure 
to allow registered vendors to be 
automatically notified of opportunities to do 
business with the state for specific 
commodities. The measure directs the State 
Purchasing Director to submit an annual 
report to the President Pro Tempore of the 
Senate, Speaker of the House, and Governor 
on or before September 1. The report shall 
detail the status of the percentile of state 
funds expended on contracts awarded to a 
certified Oklahoma Department of 
Transportation Disadvantaged Business 
Enterprise and all of the entities certified by 

the United States Small Business 
Administration in the preceding fiscal year. 
 
HB 2861 (Wallace/Rosino) provides that 
only persons having a direct contractual 
relationship with the party furnishing the 
payment bond would have a right of action 
upon a bond as it relates to at-risk 
construction management contracts. 
 
HB 2862 (Wallace/Pemberton) raises the 
thresholds for completive bidding 
requirements. For public construction 
contracts, the amount is raised from 
$50,000.00 to $100,000.00. The limit that 
may be negotiated with a qualified 
contractor is raised from $5,000.00 to 
$10,000.00. The limit on contracts for right-
of-way clearance to not be considered 
construction contracts and required to be 
open for bidding is raised from $50,000.00 
to $100,000.00. The limit on contracts for 
projects of the Oklahoma Department of 
Wildlife conservation relating to fish and 
wildlife conservation is raised from 
$25,000.00 to $50,000.00. The limit on 
contracts under an emergency authority 
declared by the governing body of a public 
agency is raised from $75,000.00 to 
$150,000.00.  

State Government 
 
SB 28 (Bergstrom/Josh West) broadens the 
classification of “political subdivision” 
within the Governmental Tort Claims Act to 
include substate planning districts and 
regional councils of government. 
 
SB 62 (Montgomery/Luttrell) extends the 
sunset date for the Oklahoma Strategic 
Military Planning Commission from 
December 31, 2020, to December 31, 2025. 
 
SB 63 (Montgomery/Frix) removes the 
requirement for a state employee who 
departed an agency under a separation 
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agreement to repay the state agency if he or 
she is employed within 1 year of the 
execution of the separation agreement. 
 
SB 76 (Simpson/Tommy Hardin) strikes the 
requirement for the Military Department to 
annually report to the President Pro 
Tempore of the Senate, the Speaker of the 
House, and the Secretary of Finance the 
amount of savings realized from its authority 
to purchase motor vehicles. 
 
SB 118 (Hall/Osburn) authorizes the 
Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority to 
hold executive sessions closed to the public 
when discussing security plans and 
procedures including, but not limited to, 
cybersecurity matters. Records pertaining to 
security plans and cybersecurity may be kept 
confidential. 
 
SB 123 (Hall/Osburn) exempts the 
Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority from 
the provisions of the Information 
Technology Consolidation and Coordination 
Act. 
 
SB 148 (Rader/Dills) increases the number 
of members on the Oklahoma Uniform 
Building Code Commission within the 
Construction Industries Board from 11 to 
13. The additional members must be a 
licensed electrical engineer from a state-
recognized professional engineering firm 
and a licensed mechanical engineer from a 
state-recognized professional engineering 
firm respectively. The measure requires 
these members to be appointed within 90 
days of the effective date. 
 
SB 282 (Simpson/Tommy Hardin) provides 
for annual leave cap placed on state 
employees to temporarily increase and 
carryover to the new fiscal year following an 
emergency declaration. 
 

SB 364 (David/Josh West) moves the 
domicile of the district for the Grand River 
Dam Authority from Craig County to Mayes 
County. 
 
SB 428 (Thompson/Hilbert) requires the 
Director of the Office of Management and 
Enterprise Services initiate a request for 
proposal for the rationalization and 
determination of which state applications 
and databases can be immediately 
transferred to a cloud-based data storage 
platform. 
 
SB 487 (Pugh/Nollan) modifies the 
membership of the Oklahoma Science and 
Technology Research and Development 
Board. The measure provides for the 
President Pro Tempore of the Senate, 
Speaker of the House, and Governor to 
appoint members to the Board for a term of 
4 years. The Secretary of Science and 
Innovation shall serve as Chair. 
 
SB 492 (Taylor/Newton) authorizes the 
Corporation Commission and its members to 
utilize an electronic signature to satisfy 
requirements in law requiring the signature 
of a member, the Chair, or the Vice-Chair. 
Additionally, the Corporation Commission 
is authorized to utilize an electronic image 
of the Commission’s seal. 
 
SB 585 (Dahm/Sean Roberts) specifies that 
constitutional neglect of duty shall include 
giving false testimony to a committee of 
either house of the Legislature, engaging in 
operations beyond the constitutional or 
statutory authority delegated to the agency 
that the officer is employed by or serves, or 
repeatedly refusing to provide information 
to a committee or member in a timely 
manner. 
 
SB 758 (Pugh/Osburn) authorizes the Real 
Estate Appraiser Board to employ a Director 
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to oversee the organization and activities of 
the Board. Additionally, the measure 
removes the Board’s authority to develop 
guidelines relating to appraiser examinations 
and the requirement to study the number of 
appraisers licensed in the state. The measure 
also provides for employees of the Board to 
considered unclassified employees of the 
Oklahoma Insurance Department. The 
Director may employ temporary employees. 
The Insurance Department is also required 
to provide administrative support for the 
Board. 
 
SB 802 (Leewright/Phillips) modifies the 
membership of the Rural Broadband 
Expansion Council. The measure clarifies 
that a current or past mayor may serve on 
the Council and increases the maximum 
population of the municipality a mayor 
serves to remain eligible to serve on the 
Council from 25,000 to 35,000. The 
measure also increases the membership of 
the Council by 2, adding a resident of this 
state who is a Wireless Internet Service 
Provider as well as a Tribal Leader of a tribe 
recognized in this state. 
 
SB 870 (Rader/Pfeiffer) removes the 
requirement for the Oklahoma Tax 
Commission (OTC) to prepare its audit 
according to the standards established by the 
Governmental Accounting Standards Board 
and to submit the results of its audit to the 
State Auditor and Inspector. The measure 
also modifies the OTC’s audit by providing 
for such audit to be an annual, operational 
audit instead of a continuous audit. 
Language requiring the OTC to furnish 
necessary office space for employee of the 
State Auditor is stricken by the measure. 
 
SB 910 (Murdock/Newton) requires the 
auction for the sale of land owned by the 
Commissioners of the Land Office to be 

held in the county in which the land is 
situated. 
 
SB 913 (Daniels/O’Donnell) provides for 
the Legislature to repeal an agency rule by 
joint resolution and removes the Governor’s 
authority to repeal agency rules by 
declaration. Agencies exempted from the 
procedures of the Administrative Procedures 
Act or pursuing a preemptive rule are 
directed by the measure to publish exempt 
rules on any website associated with the 
agency. Every agency is also directed to 
publish agency rules on the website 
associated with the agency. Additionally, the 
measure requires agencies to respond to 
small businesses requesting a review of their 
rules no later than 90 business days and to 
the Legislature or Governor within 30 days 
instead of the 90 days currently provided for 
in law. The measure also directs the 
President Pro Tempore of the Senate and 
Speaker of the House to establish a Joint 
Committee on Administrative Rules. 
Membership shall be comprised of current 
members. The chairs of the Joint Committee 
shall be appointed by both the President and 
Speaker. The Joint Committee shall consider 
proposed rules, amending rules, and repeal 
requests submitted by an agency. Those 
rules approved by the Committee shall be 
presented to the Legislature for final 
approval for repeal. All Committee actions 
on items for consideration require a majority 
vote of both the Senate members and the 
House members of the Committee. 
Emergency rules must be sent to the chairs 
of the Joint Committee in addition to the 
other recipients outlined in current law. The 
measure requires agencies providing notice 
of a new rule to provide 1 electronic copy to 
of the complete text of the proposed rule, 
amendment, or revocation and a copy of the 
notice to the Governor and to the 
appropriate cabinet secretary. The Governor 
or relevant cabinet secretary may disapprove 
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the rule within 30 days. If the Governor or 
the cabinet secretary disapproves a rule, the 
affected agency shall be notified in writing 
of the reasons for disapproval. Agencies 
may proceed with the rulemaking process if 
the Governor or secretary does not expressly 
disapprove the rule within 30 days of 
receiving notice. The measure also creates a 
new section of law in the Act by providing 
for the expedited repeal of rules beginning 
September 1, 2021. An agency may submit a 
request for expedited repeal to the President 
Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker 
of the House, whereupon they will assign 
the request to the Joint Committee to 
conduct the repeal process. Such a request 
shall be accompanied by a statement of the 
purpose for the repeal. Upon completion of 
the comment period, the Joint Committee 
may schedule a hearing on the agency repeal 
request. If the Committee approves the 
repeal, it shall be presented to the 
Legislature for final approval. 
 
SB 961 (Daniels/Lepak) prohibits any state 
agency or official from imposing any filing 
or reporting requirement on an organization 
regulated or specifically exempted from 
regulation under the Oklahoma Solicitation 
of Charitable Contributions Act more 
stringently that is otherwise required by 
federal and state law. The provisions of this 
measure shall only apply to private 
foundations or charitable trusts, excluding 
nonprofit hospitals. 
 
SB 1015 (Daniels/Rick West) provides that 
records received from risk pool participants 
that can otherwise be obtained from risk 
pool participants shall be considered 
confidential. 
 
SB 1031 (Treat/Echols) extends the sunset 
date as it relates to authorizing public bodies 
to meet via teleconference or 
videoconference as modified for the 

emergency conditions from November 
15,2020, to February 15, 2022 or until 30 
days after the Governor ends the declared 
state of emergency relating to the threat of 
COVID-19. The measure also requires 
public bodies giving notice of meetings to 
be conducted via videoconference to not 
modify the method of meeting described in 
the notice prior to the meeting and to include 
the code or password to access the meeting 
in the public notice when applicable. 
 
SB 1064 (Daniels/Kannady) is the annual 
Duplicates Section bill that conforms 
multiple versions of statutes. 
 
HB 1140 (Fetgatter/Taylor) transfers the 
Oklahoma Chief International Protocol 
Office from the Office of the Secretary of 
State to the Department of Commerce. 
 
HB 1146 (Osburn/Treat) places all state 
employee positions under the administration 
of the Human Capital Management Division 
of the Office of Management and Enterprise 
Services beginning January 1, 2022. Persons 
employed by the Governor, Lt. Governor, 
Speaker of the House, or President Pro 
Tempore of the Senate, as well as elected 
officials, political appointees, and up to 5% 
of an agency’s executive management shall 
not be placed under the Division’s 
administration. The measure directs the 
Division to establish and maintain a dispute 
resolution system for state agencies and 
employees, to promulgate rules necessary to 
perform duties required by the measure, 
receive and act on complaints arising from 
disciplinary actions by state employees, use 
administrative law judges as independent 
contractors, submit quarterly reports on 
workload statistics to the Legislature, and 
create and administer a confidential 
whistleblower program. The measure 
sunsets the Oklahoma Merit Protection 
Commission on December 31, 2022. 
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HB 1236 (McCall/Treat) expands the duties 
of the Attorney General to include 
monitoring and evaluating any action by the 
federal government including executive 
orders by the President of the United States, 
rules or regulations promulgated by an 
agency of the federal government or acts of 
Congress. The Attorney General is directed 
to determine whether any such action 
violates the Tenth Amendment to the 
Constitution of the United States. The 
measure creates the State Reserved Powers 
Protection Unit within the Office of the 
Attorney General to carry out these duties. If 
the Attorney General determines the action 
constitutes a violation of the Tenth 
Amendment, the Attorney General shall 
determine whether the state should seek an 
exemption from the application of the action 
or seek to have the action declared 
unconstitutional. The measure also creates 
the State Reserved Powers Protection Unit 
Revolving Fund, which shall consist of the 
first $10 million of funds derived from the 
corporate income tax beginning July 1, 
2021, and ending July 1, 2025. 
 
HB 1783 (Luttrell/Weaver) expands the 
regulatory of the Oklahoma State Athletic 
Commission to include amateur kickboxers 
and amateur kickboxing events. This 
measure also eliminates the exemption from 
the provisions of the Oklahoma State 
Athletic Commission Act for amateur 
combative sports events conducted or 
sponsored by amateur sanctioning bodies. 
USA Boxing events and events sponsored or 
conducted by the International Olympic 
Committee are exempted from the 
provisions of the Oklahoma State Athletic 
Commission Act by the measure. 
 
HB 1816 (McBride/Weaver) creates “Cali’s 
Law.” The measure designates the rescue 
animal as the state pet of Oklahoma. 

 
HB 1876 (Tammy West/Stanley) extends an 
exception to the Oklahoma Open Records 
Act relating to public employee personal 
information. The home addresses, home 
telephone numbers, Social Security 
numbers, private email addresses, and 
private mobile phone numbers of current 
and former public employees shall not be 
open to public inspection or disclosure. 
Public records created using a private email 
address or private mobile phone are not to 
be included within this exception. 
 
HB 2296 (Dustin Roberts/Bullard) re-
creates the Red River Boundary 
Commission. The Commission is directed to 
confer and act in conjunction with 
representatives from Texas to evaluate the 
methods and other information used to 
establish the Texas boundary in the Texoma 
area as well as determine the location of the 
south bank of the Red River as located and 
marked by the US Army Corps of 
Engineers. Additionally, the Commission is 
charged with redrawing the boundary with 
Texas on any real property for which the 
Army Corps of Engineers was granted an 
easement for construction and operation of a 
water pipeline in the Texoma area. The 
commission is required to report findings 
and recommendations no later than January 
15, 2022, and issue a final report no later 
than January 30, 2025. 
 
HB 2326 (Frix/Pemberton) provides that a 
member of the Oklahoma Abstractors Board 
that has served 2 consecutive terms may be 
reappointed after the expiration of at least 1 
full term. The measure provides that a 
felony conviction that could result in the 
loss of an abstract license must substantially 
relate to the practice of abstracting and pose 
a reasonable threat to public safety. 
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HB 2338 (Kendrix/Pugh) provides that the 
Director, department heads, emergency 
responders, and other essential employees of 
the Department of Corrections may be 
permitted to use a state-owned or state-
leased vehicle to provide transportation 
between the residence of the employee and 
the assigned place of employment and 
between the residence and any location other 
than the assigned place of employment to 
which the employee travels in the 
performance of the official duty of the 
employee. Department heads, emergency 
responders, and other essential employees 
must obtain permission from the Director to 
receive such transportation. 
 
HB 2462 (Dick Lowe/Howard) authorizes 
the State Department of Education to enter 
into contracts and agreements for the 
payment of food, lodging and other 
expenses to host, conduct, sponsor or 
participate in conferences, meetings or 
training sessions. 
 
HB 2648 (Hill/Bullard) deems any order or 
rule issued by any governmental entity 
pursuant to an emergency that requires 
closure of any place of worship as a 
substantial burden even if the order or rule is 
one of general applicability. 
 
HB 2863 (Wallace/Thompson) requires state 
agencies to present to the Commissioners of 
the Land Office a complete appraisal of real 
property including the present fair value, the 
value of improvements, and the actual 
condition of the improvements on the 
property before the property can be sold, 
leased, disposed of, or exchanged. 
Additionally, the agency must provide a 20-
day period to the CLO to provide a proposal 
for acquisition or disposal of the property. 
The CLO may decline the proposal. 
 

HB 2965 (McCall/Treat) extends the sunset 
date of the entities outlined in the measure to 
2024.  
OMES Funding 
 
HB 2902 (Wallace/Thompson) directs 
$1,920,000 of FY-2022 appropriations to the 
Office of Management and Enterprise 
Services for the Pay for Success program. 
The measure requires the Office to expend 
this amount according to certain population 
criteria. 
 

Agency FY21 
Appropriation 

FY22 
Appropriation 

Change 
from 

Original 

Office of 
Management and 

Enterprise 
Services 

$113,886,169 $102,781,593 -9.75% 

 

 
Health Measures 
 
SB 4 (Garvin/Marti) authorizes pharmacists 
to substitute an interchangeable biological 
product for a prescribed biological product 
under certain conditions. The product must 
be approved by the U.S. Federal Drug 
Administration as an interchangeable 
product and the patient must be informed of 
the change. Pharmacists must make an entry 
into their records showing the name of the 
product and the manufacturer after 
dispensing the product. An entry into the 
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electronic records system is presumed to 
provide notice to the prescriber. The 
measure directs the State Board of Pharmacy 
to maintain a link on its Internet website to 
the current list of all biological products 
determined by the FDA to be 
interchangeable with a specific biological 
product. If no electronic records system is in 
use by the pharmacy, the pharmacist is 
authorized to communicate the biological 
product dispensed to the prescriber using 
facsimile, telephone, electronic 
transmission, or other prevailing means 
when required. 
 
SB 42 (Rader/Dills) exempts individuals 
providing personal care services in the home 
from the licensing provisions of the Home 
Care Act. The measure also updates 
statutory language relating to the regulation 
of care homes by replacing the State Board 
of Health with the State Commissioner of 
Health as the oversight entity. 
 
SB 57 (Rader/Echols) authorizes members 
of the Opioid Overdose Fatality Review 
Board to access information collected at the 
central repository under the Anti-Drug 
Diversion Act. The measure also adds a 
reference to a definition for the term “opioid 
use disorder” as used in the opioid 
prescription limit law. The measure also 
clarifies exemptions for hospice care and 
palliative care, and removes the requirement 
that a patient be in active treatment for 
cancer to be exempted. The measure 
removes language allowing the Oklahoma 
State Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous 
Drugs Control to provide unsolicited 
notification to the licensing board if a 
pharmacist or practitioner has exhibited 
prescriptive behavior consistent with 
generally recognized standards indicating 
potentially problematic prescribing patterns. 
Additionally, the measure specifies that 
opioid use disorder is to be defined by the 

American Psychiatric Association and 
clarifies exemptions for patients receiving 
cancer or aftercare cancer treatment or 
palliative care in conjunction with a serious 
illness. 
 
SB 58 (Rader/Echols) exempts practitioners 
ordering a controlled dangerous substance to 
be administered through a hospice program 
from electronic prescription requirements. 
 
SB 95 (Stanley/Miller) requires the medical 
examiner to conduct a sudden unexplained 
infant death investigation (SUIDI) when the 
death of an infant occurs in this state and the 
cause of death is considered undetermined. 
Medical examiner is defined as the Chief 
Medical Examiner, Deputy Medical 
Examiner, or a designee of the Chief 
Medical Examiner. The examiner must 
interview the parent, legal guardian or 
caregiver of, or person who last had contact 
with, the deceased infant. The measure 
directs the State Department of Health to 
retain a copy of each completed SUIDI 
reporting form as well as provide a copy of 
each completed SUIDI reporting form to the 
Child Death Review Board. 
 
SB 96 (Hall/McEntire) requires the medical 
examiner to conduct a sudden unexplained 
infant death investigation (SUIDI) when the 
death of an infant occurs in this state and the 
cause of death is considered undetermined. 
Medical examiner is defined as the Chief 
Medical Examiner, Deputy Medical 
Examiner, or a designee of the Chief 
Medical Examiner. The examiner must 
interview the parent, legal guardian or 
caregiver of, or person who last had contact 
with, the deceased infant. The measure 
directs the State Department of Health to 
retain a copy of each completed SUIDI 
reporting form as well as provide a copy of 
each completed SUIDI reporting form to the 
Child Death Review Board. 
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SB 104 (Haste/McEntire) authorizes 
physical therapy sessions to be provided 
remotely via telehealth to individuals or 
groups. The measure defines telehealth and 
telecommunication. 
 
SB 136 (Simpson/Roe) modifies the time 
period of the annual report compiled by the 
State Department of Health pursuant to the 
Oklahoma Breast and Cervical Cancer Act. 
The measure requires the Department to 
submit the report once every 5 years instead 
of annually. 
 
SB 164 (Stanley/Roe) authorizes 
participation in an experimental treatment 
program in life-threatening emergencies 
without informed consent, provided the 
treatment is approved by an accredited 
institutional review board as well as 
approval and continuing review of the 
research activity has approved both the 
research activity and a waiver of informed 
consent. In no case shall an experimental 
treatment regimen be approved on a 
pregnant patient. 
 
SB 187 (Rosino/Josh West) removes the Bill 
Willis Community Mental Health and 
Substance Abuse Services Center Tahlequah 
and the Norman Alcohol and Drug 
Treatment Center from, and adds the 
Oklahoma Crisis Recovery Unit in 
Oklahoma City to, the list of maintained 
facilities within the Department of Mental 
Health and Substance Abuse Services. The 
measure also removes references to the 
Tahlequah and Norman facilities. 
 
SB 207 (Garvin/McEntire) provides for 
administrative judges to consider appeals by 
any applicant or recipient of benefits 
provided by the Oklahoma Health Care 
Authority. The measure requires the 
Administrator of the Authority to only 

appoint administrative judges from another 
state agency as established in the State 
Medicaid Plan and approved by the Centers 
for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 
 
SB 208 (Garvin/Moore) modifies birth 
certificates as it relates to naming the father 
of the child. The measure removes the 
requirement for the husband to be married to 
the mother at the time of conception and 
adds language providing for the husband to 
be placed on the certificate as the father if 
the mother and husband were married any 
time during the 300 calendar days preceding 
the birth. The measure also directs the State 
Commissioner of Health to authorize the 
secure electronic transmission of any birth, 
death, paternity or adoption data and other 
documents or information necessary to 
comply with the Uniform Parentage Act or 
for the purpose of assisting with programs 
administered by the Department of Human 
Services. The measure also directs the 
Commissioner to amend birth certificates 
involving a child born out of wedlock to 
reflect the paternity of the child upon 
receiving such documentation and an 
acknowledgement of paternity from both 
parents. The measure prohibits the 
Department of Human Services from 
releasing such documents and directs the 
Department of Health and Department of 
Human Services to enter into a data sharing 
agreement. 
 
SB 344 (Garvin/McEntire) exempts 
ambulatory surgical centers that are not 
certified by the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services from the requirement to 
submit data and information relating to 
tumors to the Commissioner of Health. 
 
SB 368 (Bullard/Hill) prohibits any 
governmental entity from declaring or 
deeming a religious institution and any 
activity directly related to the institution’s 
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discharge of its mission and purpose to be 
nonessential. Additionally, the measure 
prohibits the closure of such institutions for 
the purposes of health or security that is 
greater than that imposed upon any private 
entity facing the same or similar health or 
security conditions. 
 
SB 378 (Rosino/Bush) creates Everett’s 
Law. The measure prohibits any covered 
entity from considering any individual 
ineligible to receive an anatomical gift 
solely due to an individual’s disability, deny 
any medical services relating to organ 
transplants, refuse to refer an individual for 
the purpose of being evaluated for or 
receiving an organ transplant, refuse to place 
an individual on the waiting list, place an 
individual lower on the priority list due to 
his or her disability, and refuse to accept 
health insurance coverage. Covered entities 
must also provide for reasonable 
modifications to its policies, practices or 
procedures to allow individuals with 
disabilities access to transplantation-related 
services. Covered entities violating the 
provisions of this measure may be held 
liable by affected individuals. The measure 
also prohibits a health carrier from denying 
coverage or limiting provider reimbursement 
solely due to a disability. 
 
SB 388 (Rosino/Josh West) provides for the 
eligibility of a patient for home care services 
to be certified by a healthcare provider and 
care of the patient shall be overseen by the 
healthcare provider. Healthcare provider, as 
defined in the measure, includes physicians, 
physician assistants, or Advanced Practice 
Registered Nurses. Current law provides 
physicians with the sole authority to 
determine eligibility. 
 
SB 398 (Rosino/Baker) authorizes 
pharmacists to administer immunizations 
that have been approved or authorized by 

the Food and Drug Administration without a 
patient-specific prescription or similar 
arrangement. 
 
SB 405 (Stanley/Roe) clarifies the 
expiration term for each class of member on 
the Advisory Committee on Midwifery. The 
first class’s term shall expire on January 31, 
2023, the second’s shall expire on January 
31, 2025, and the third’s shall expire on 
January 31, 2027. The measure authorizes 
the Advisory Committee on Midwifery to 
investigate all reported violations of 
Shepherd’s Law and requires all information 
obtained during investigations to be kept 
confidential. Such record can be introduced 
by the State Department of Health in 
proceedings before the Committee. The 
measure also prohibits confidential 
investigative records to be subject to 
discovery or subpoena in any civil or 
criminal proceeding unless the Committee 
decides to give such information to law 
enforcement or other state agencies as 
necessary and appropriate. Additionally, the 
measure prohibits any data required to be 
submitted to the Department of Health 
pursuant to Shepherd’s Law to contain any 
personally identifying information of the 
client by the midwife and it considers the 
records to be confidential and collected for 
statistical information purposes only. 
 
SB 406 (Garvin/Boles) authorizes the 
Oklahoma Children’s Hospital to extend 
services to persons over the age of 21. 
Additionally, the measure authorizes the 
University Hospitals Authority to designate 
other names under which the Oklahoma 
Medical Center may operate. The measure 
allows the University Hospitals Authority to 
assign its inpatient and outpatient hospital 
and clinical facilities and office and research 
buildings, facilities, or property under its 
control to the Oklahoma Children’s 
Hospital, University Hospital or another 
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division of University Hospitals. It also 
updates the name of the “Children’s 
Hospital of Oklahoma” to “Oklahoma 
Children’s Hospital” and prohibits the use of 
either term without permission. The measure 
also modifies, deletes, and repeals obsolete 
language and updates names of facilities 
under the University Hospitals Authority. 
 
SB 511 (Montgomery/Bush) defines harm-
reduction services in the Uniform Controlled 
Dangerous Substances Act. Harm-reduction 
services are programs established to reduce 
the spread of infectious disease, reduce drug 
dependency, and increase safe recovery and 
disposal of used syringes and sharp waste. 
Government entities or their partners, 
religious institutions, nonprofits, tribal 
governments, and for-profit companies may 
establish a harm-reduction service. Such 
services are authorized to possess certain 
drug paraphernalia items to further the goals 
of the service, refer patients to mental health 
services, offer referrals for drug treatment 
programs, and employ rapid testing for 
sexually transmitted infections. Entities 
seeking to establish a harm-reduction 
service shall register with the State 
Department of Health. 
 
SB 574 (McCortney/McEntire) directs the 
Oklahoma Health Care Authority to 
establish a health information exchange 
certification with input from stakeholders. 
Certification shall be required for a health 
information exchange organization to 
qualify as an Oklahoma Statewide Health 
Information Exchange (OKHIE). Until such 
time as the health information exchange 
certification is established by OHCA, an 
OKHIE shall mean either Oklahoma State 
Health Information Network and Exchange 
(OKSHINE) or a health information 
exchange organization that was previously 
certified by the Oklahoma Health 
Information Exchange Trust. OKSHINE is a 

unit of the Oklahoma Health Care Authority 
charged with facilitating the exchange of 
health information to and from authorized 
individuals and healthcare organizations. 
Individuals and entities using the system 
shall not be held liable in any action for 
damages or costs of any nature that result 
solely from the person’s use or failure to use 
OKSHINE information or data. The measure 
also specifies that users providing data to the 
network shall retain the ownership rights of 
such information. Additionally, the measure 
repeals provisions of law relating to the 
study of creating such a network. 
 
SB 584 (Dahm/Olsen) extends the 
prohibition on providers receiving funding 
from the state to include political 
subdivision funding if such providers are 
found to have transferred any human fetal 
tissue for valuable consideration if the 
transfer affects interstate commerce. 
 
SB 647 (Pugh/Stark) creates Lily’s Law and 
defines fetal death and stillbirth. 
Additionally, the measure subjects birthing 
centers and medical facilities to the same 
requirement to maintain a written policy for 
the disposition of the remains of a child 
from a stillbirth or fetal death event as 
licensed hospitals. 
 
SB 673 (McCortney/Newton) modifies the 
definition of the term telemedicine 
throughout statute to be uniform. The 
measure defines telemedicine to include 
synchronous mechanisms such as 
videoconference, asynchronous mechanisms 
such as exchanging health information, 
patient monitoring, mHealth, and other 
electronic means that support clinical health 
care. 
 
SB 674 (McCortney/McEntire) requires 
every health benefit plan offered in the state 
to provide coverage of telemedicine. No 
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insurer may exclude a service for coverage 
solely because the service is provided 
through telemedicine and is not provided 
through in-person consultation or contact 
between a health care professional and a 
patient for services. Reimbursements for 
telemedicine services may not exceed the 
copayment or coinsurance applied. 
Additionally, any benefit restrictions 
imposed on telemedicine treatments must be 
equally applied to in-person treatments. 
Additionally, no insurer may prohibit the 
prescription of medicine through 
telemedicine that are more restrictive that 
applicable state and federal law. 
Additionally, the State Department of Health 
is directed to request a report from the 
Statewide Health Information Exchange that 
will provide the data outlined in the 
measure. 
 
SB 689 (Pugh/Miller) modifies the 
membership requirements for the Advisory 
Committee on Medical Care for Public 
Assistance Recipients. The measure caps the 
total membership to 15 members and 
requires the board to include a member 
representing individuals with developmental 
disabilities, a member representing nursing 
homes, and a member representing 1 or 
more behavioral health professions. 
Additionally, the Committee must include 
the Commissioner of Mental Health and 
Substance Abuse Services or a designee as 
well as a member of a federally recognized 
American Indian tribe. Appointments shall 
be for a term of 4 consecutive years after 
January 1, 2022. The chair shall serve for a 
term of 1 year. 
 
SB 718 (McCortney/McEntire) authorizes 
facilities without a pharmacy license to 
distribute or dispense dialysate or peritoneal 
dialysis devices necessary to perform home 
peritoneal dialysis to patients with end stage 

renal disease (ESRD) provided certain 
conditions are met. 
 
SB 778 (Daniels/Lepak) requires physicians 
to, prior to administering an abortion-
inducing drug, to follow procedures outlined 
in the measure. The physicians must 
determine the woman’s blood type and 
administer RhoGAM at the time of the 
abortion if the woman is Rh negative. 
Additionally, the physician must inform the 
woman that she may see the remains of her 
unborn child after the procedure. The 
physician must also document the 
gestational age and intrauterine location of 
the pregnancy and whether the patient 
received treatment for Rh negativity. The 
physician must then schedule a follow-up 
exam 7-14 days after the procedure. 
Informed consent must be obtained 72 hours 
prior to administering the drug. The consent 
form shall be published by the State Board 
of Medical Licensure and Supervision and 
must be filled in the manner prescribed by 
the measure. Additionally, the State 
Department of Health shall receive a report 
from each facility providing abortions using 
the consent forms to promote maternal 
health. Using these reports, the Department 
shall compile a comprehensive annual 
statistical report for the Legislature. The 
measure provides for the confidentiality of 
each patient to be maintained. Physicians 
shall report any adverse health event relating 
to the administration of an abortion-inducing 
drug to the Department. No abortion-
inducing drug may be provided on state 
grounds. Any person found to have violated 
the provisions of this measure shall be guilty 
of a misdemeanor or a felony if the person 
fraudulently used an abortion-inducing drug. 
Persons found to have violated the 
provisions of this measure shall be subject to 
professional and civil penalties. The 
Legislature may also appoint 1 or more 
members who sponsored or cosponsored this 
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measure to intervene as a matter of right in 
any case in which the constitutionality of 
this act is challenged. The measure provides 
for severability of its provisions. 
 
SB 779 (Daniels/Lepak) directs the State 
Board of Pharmacy, State Board of Medical 
Licensure, and Supervision, and the State 
Board of Osteopathic Examiners to 
promulgate rules to create a certification 
program to oversee and regulate the 
provision of abortion-inducing drugs, which 
shall be known as the Oklahoma Abortion-
Inducing Drug Certification Program. The 
State Board of Pharmacy shall promulgate 
rules to create a certification program to 
oversee and regulate the manufacture and 
distribution of abortion-inducing drugs by 
manufacturers and distributors licensed by 
the State Board of Pharmacy. The State 
Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision 
and the State Board of Osteopathic 
Examiners shall promulgate rules to create a 
certification program to oversee and regulate 
the provision of abortion-inducing drugs by 
physicians licensed by the respective state 
licensing board. Such drugs shall only be 
distributed and provided in this state only by 
manufacturers or distributors certified to do 
so under this program. The measure outlines 
the process for certification, and states that 
any physician found to be in violation of 
these provisions shall be suspended from 
practice until such time that the physician 
demonstrates full compliance. Individuals in 
another state shall be required to follow 
certification procedures outlined in this 
measure. The State Board of Pharmacy is 
required to adopt an electronically based 
reporting system for certified physicians to 
annually report the demographics, 
medication used, complicating events, 
unresolved cases, and number of patients 
served. Physicians shall be prohibited from 
administering abortion-inducing drugs to 
women with certain risk factors and any 

woman with a pregnancy 10 weeks into their 
pregnancy. Physicians shall also be required 
to report certain information relating to 
complications, deaths, and other health 
events to the State Department of Health as 
it relates to the administration of abortion 
inducing drugs. Any physician 
administering abortion-inducing drugs shall 
be required to maintain hospital admitting 
privileges or enter into a written agreement 
with an associated physician in the county or 
contiguous county where the abortion-
inducing drug was provided. Any person 
found to have distributed an abortion-
inducing drug to persons not qualified to 
administer such drugs shall be guilty of a 
misdemeanor or a felony if a drug is 
provided to a pregnant woman without her 
knowledge. Persons found to have violated 
the provisions of this measure shall be 
subject to professional and civil penalties. 
Additionally, the State Board of Pharmacy 
shall levy a fine of not less than $5 million 
on manufacturers and $250,000.00 for 
physicians who violate the provisions of this 
measure. The Board must also create a 
website a complaint portal for patients, 
pharmacy, nursing, and medical 
professionals and the public to submit 
information about potential violations. The 
Board must review each complaint and 
determine a disposition including referral to 
another appropriate state agency, within 30 
days. The Legislature may also appoint 1 or 
more members who sponsored or 
cosponsored this measure to intervene as a 
matter of right in any case in which the 
constitutionality of this act is challenged. 
The measure provides for severability of its 
provisions. 
 
SB 782 (Garvin/McEntire) directs any 
pharmacy maintaining an emergency 
medication kit to establish a policy and 
procedures governing the maintenance and 
dispensation of emergency medication. The 
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measure also authorizes pharmacies to 
designate a person who shall be responsible 
for transmitting required information for 
dispensation of controlled dangerous 
substances to the central repository of the 
Oklahoma State Bureau of Narcotics and 
Dangerous Drugs Control. Pharmacies are 
required to register emergency medication 
kits as a pharmacy location with the 
Oklahoma State Bureau of Narcotics and 
Dangerous Drugs Control. The total volume 
of controlled dangerous substances in each 
kit shall be limited to 3 doses per licensed 
bed or sixty individual doses. 
 
HB 1006 (Bush/Pugh) creates the 
Transparency in Health Care Prices Act. The 
measure requires each health care provider 
and facility to publicize the most common 
health care services electronically or via 
their website. Health care facilities are also 
required to make common diagnosis and 
outpatient CPT codes public. The price list 
must be updated annually. 
 
HB 1014 (Roe/Simpson) provides that all 
information created, received, investigated, 
held, or maintained by the State Department 
of Health concerning any person who has 
participated in a public health investigation 
are exempt from the provisions of the 
Oklahoma Open Records Act. The measure 
also prohibits the attendance of students 
having or suspected of having a 
communicable disease in public or private 
schools. The responsibility of removing such 
students is transferred from teachers to 
schools. 
 
HB 1071 (Boatman/Stanley) expands the list 
of entities exempted from the provisions of 
the Oklahoma Alcohol and Drug Abuse 
Services Act by including services provided 
by a health center as defined in the Public 
Health Service Act. 
 

HB 1638 (Lepak/Bergstrom) requires the 
funeral director or person acting in such 
capacity to give notification to the person 
providing personal data for a death 
certificate that knowingly providing false 
information or misrepresentation is a felony. 
The measure prohibits knowingly providing 
false personal data to a certifier of a death 
certificate or misrepresenting any person's 
relationship to the decedent. 
 
HB 1690 (Newton/Jech) removes the 
requirement that the board of directors of a 
Federally Qualified Health Center be 
considered a public body and subject to the 
provisions of the Oklahoma Meeting Act. 
The measure removes penalties and 
reporting requirements for non-compliance 
with the Oklahoma Open Meeting Act. The 
measure modifies the definition of “public 
body,” and further requires the Oklahoma 
Health Care Authority to ensure that 
Federally Qualified Health Centers receive 
at minimum, payment for services in 
accordance with U.S. law. 
 
HB 1784 (Pae/Paxton) requires food 
vendors utilizing kratom as an ingredient to 
disclose on the product label, or a quick 
response (QR) code on the product label 
linked to a website, the factual basis on 
which that representation is made. Vendors 
must provide test results to confirm items 
listed on the product label upon request by 
the State Department of Health. Any failure 
to disclose this information shall proscribe 
any effort by the vendor to sell the item 
based on containing kratom. Vendors are 
prohibited from adulterating kratom 
products and may not sell kratom products 
containing at least 2% of the alkaloid 
composition of the product. No kratom 
product may be sold if it contains any 
synthetic alkaloid including synthetic 
mitragynine, synthetic 7-
hydroxymitragynine or any other 
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synthetically derived compounds. Persons 
convicted of violating the provisions of this 
measure shall be guilty of a misdemeanor 
and subject to a $500.00 fine for a first 
offense and a fine of not more than 
$1,000.00 fine for second and subsequent 
offenses. Such persons shall also be 
prohibited from selling kratom products for 
3 years. 
 
HB 1794 (Miller/Pugh) defines dementia as 
it relates to the renamed Alzheimer's 
Dementia and Other Forms of Dementia 
Special Care Disclosure Act. The measure 
requires the State Department of Health to 
develop the disclosure form for certain 
recipients. Additionally, the measure 
requires the facility to submit the disclosure 
form to the Department prior to entering into 
any agreement to provide care or services. 
The State Department of Health must 
examine and review each disclosure at the 
time the disclosure is submitted to the 
Department. The measure requires certain 
information to be included in the 
disclosures. Additionally, the measure 
creates the Alzheimer-Dementia Disclosure 
Act Advisory Council. The Council is 
directed to make recommendations State 
Commissioner of Health regarding the 
disclosure form and rules promulgated in the 
measure. The Council shall be comprised of 
9 members. Members on the Council shall 
serve without compensation and shall 
receive staff assistance from the State 
Department of Health. The Department shall 
also establish a website with a list of those 
facilities that have filed a disclosure form. 
 
HB 1877 (Tammy West/Coleman) creates 
new procedure for an assisted living center 
when a resident is prescribed an 
antipsychotic drug. The center will ensure a 
resident is assessed at least quarterly for 
effectiveness and possible side effects and 
the results shall be documented and 

provided to the resident or their 
representative. The center will also ensure 
the resident care staff understand potential 
benefits and side effects of the medication. 
Additionally, the assisted living center will 
document the rationale for use and describe 
the condition that indicates administration, 
monitor the use of the drugs for potential 
harm to the resident, and document the 
results of the monitoring when prescribed on 
an as-needed basis. 
 
HB 1904 (Roe/Garvin) requires persons 
performing abortions in the state to be board 
certified in obstetrics and gynecology. 
 
HB 2006 (Townley/Stanley) requires the 
Board of Mental Health and Substance 
Abuse Services to promulgate rules and 
standards for certification of Problem 
Gambling Treatment Counselors. The 
measure requires the rules to include criteria 
for certification and renewal outlines the 
criteria for application of certification as a 
Problem Gambling Treatment Counselor. 
The Board may also establish an application 
and renewal fee. The measure allows limited 
use of the title of Problem Gambling 
Treatment Counselor and prohibits 
practicing other professions unless licensed 
to do so. Failure to comply with the rules 
and standards declared by the Board are 
grounds for revocation, suspension, or 
nonrenewal of certification. 
 
HB 2009 (Townley/Coleman) authorizes an 
advanced practice registered nurse to sign a 
death certificate. The measure clarifies how 
“suicide” is recorded as the manner of death 
on a death certificate. 
 
HB 2120 (McEntire/Montgomery) provides 
that if there is substantial evidence that an 
insurer is insolvent and the condition of that 
insurer renders the continuance of its 
business hazardous to the public or to 
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holders of its policies or certificates of 
insurance or if an insurer has exceeded its 
powers or fails to comply with the laws of 
this state, the Insurance Commissioner must 
require said insurers to file a written plan of 
action within 30 days of notification of 
insolvency. Additionally, the Commissioner 
may require the insurer to take additional 
action within 90 days of notification. The 
Commissioner may determine at any time 
during or after the 90-day period that 
judicial or administrative proceedings 
should be initiated to place the insurer in 
conservation, rehabilitation, or liquidation 
proceedings. The Commissioner may also 
assess a $500.00 fine per day for failure to 
timely file a written plan of action. 
 
HB 2441 (Russ/Daniels) requires persons 
performing or inducing an abortion to first 
attempt to determine whether her unborn 
child has a heartbeat. Upon detecting a 
heartbeat, an abortion may not be performed 
unless the mother has a condition that so 
complicates her medical condition that it 
necessitates the abortion of her pregnancy to 
avert her death or to avert serious risk of 
substantial and irreversible physical 
impairment of a major bodily function. No 
such condition may be determined to exist if 
it is based on a claim or diagnosis that the 
woman will engage in conduct which she 
intends to result in her death or in substantial 
and irreversible physical impairment of a 
major bodily function. Persons found to 
have violated the provisions of this measure 
shall be guilty of homicide. 
 
HB 2566 (Chad Caldwell/McCortney) 
requires every long-term care facility in the 
state to provide reasonable access to a 
resident through family, compassionate 
caregivers, or the Oklahoma Long Term 
Care Ombudsman to withdraw consent at 
any time. Such facilities must also provide 
reasonable access to a resident by health 

care providers who are contracted with the 
facility to withdraw such consent. The 
measure directs long-term care facilities to 
include and submit to the State Department 
of Health in their emergency-preparedness 
plan procedures for visitation during an 
emergency. The visitation plan shall be 
made available by the facility to contracted 
health care providers, family members, 
essential support persons, and 
compassionate caregivers upon request. 
Long-term care facilities are prohibited from 
unilaterally eliminating visitation for any 
reason. The measure provides that visitation 
may be suspended for a period not to exceed 
72 hours based upon the emergency-
preparedness plan provided to the State 
Department of Health. 
 
HB 2676 (Marti/Weaver) allows controlled 
dangerous substances issued by a 
practitioner to be dispensed with an 
electronic prescription if certain conditions 
apply. The measure also allows electronic 
prescriptions to be utilized for compounded 
prescriptions, compounded infusion 
prescriptions, and prescriptions issued under 
approved research protocols. 
 
HB 2687 (Hasenbeck/Bergstrom) creates the 
“No Patient Left Alone Act. The measure 
provides that each minor or adult admitted 
to a hospital has the right to have a parent, 
guardian or person standing in loco parentis 
who shall have the ability to be present 
while the minor patient is receiving hospital 
care. The measure authorizes hospitals to 
establish visitation policies that limit or 
restrict visitation under certain 
circumstances outlined in the measure. 
Hospitals may require visitors to wear 
personal protective equipment, provided that 
any such required equipment shall be 
provided by the hospital. The measure also 
prohibits the termination of visitation rights 
by the hospital, the State Department of 
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Health or any governmental entity, 
notwithstanding declarations of emergency 
declared by the Governor or the Legislature. 
Health Funding 
 
SB 131 (McCortney/McEntire) creates the 
Ensuring Access to Medicaid Act. The 
measure specifies which Medicaid 
populations may be required to enroll in 
managed care plans by the Oklahoma Health 
Care Authority, which populations may 
voluntarily enroll in managed care plans, 
and which populations the Authority is 
prohibited from requiring managed care 
enrollment for or offering enrollment to. The 
measure directs the Authority to develop 
network adequacy standards for all managed 
care organizations and dental benefit 
managers. Managed care organizations and 
dental benefits managers are required by the 
measure to contract to the extent possible 
and practicable with all essential community 
providers, all providers who receive directed 
payments, and other providers the Authority 
may specify. Additionally, managed care 
organizations and dental benefits managers 
are required to notify the Authority of all 
changes materially affecting the delivery of 
care or the administration of its program and 
must meet certain medical loss ratios. Such 
organizations are prohibited from requiring 
providers to contract for all products that are 
currently offered or that may be offered in 
the future by the managed care organization 
or dental benefit manager or subcontractor. 
Managed care organizations are required by 
the measure to make a determination on a 
request for an authorization of the transfer of 
a hospital inpatient to a post-acute care or 
long-term acute care facility within 24 hours 
of receipt of the request. The measure also 
establishes deadlines for managed care 
organizations and dental benefit managers to 
determine prior authorization for care 
ordered by primary care or specialist 
providers. Denials of prior authorization 

requests shall be subject to peer-to-peer 
review unless such requests are for services 
not covered by the state Medicaid program. 
Managed care organizations and dental 
benefit managers are required to comply 
with certain requirements outlined in the 
measure as it relates to processing and 
adjudication of claims for payment 
submitted in good faith by providers for 
health care items and services furnished by 
such providers to enrollees. Such 
requirements include processing clean 
claims within 14 days, establishing a process 
a provider may provide such additional 
information as may be necessary to 
substantiate a claim, conducting 
postpayment audits in accordance with the 
requirements of the measure, and applying 
readmission penalties in compliance with 
rules and regulations promulgated by the 
Authority. The Authority is directed by the 
measure to establish procedures for 
enrollees or providers to seek review by the 
managed care organization or dental benefit 
manager of any adverse determination made 
by the managed care organization or dental 
benefit manager. Providers shall have 6 
months from the receipt of a claim denial to 
file an appeal. Additionally, the Authority 
shall require managed care organizations 
and dental benefit managers to participate in 
readiness reviews. Such reviews shall assess 
the criteria outlined in the measure. A 
managed care organization or dental benefit 
manager found to be in violation of the 
provisions of this measure shall be subject to 
1 or more non-compliance remedies of the 
Authority. The Oklahoma Health Care 
Authority may only execute the transition of 
the delivery system of the state Medicaid 
program to the capitated managed care 
delivery model 90 days after the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services has 
approved all contracts entered into between 
the Authority and all managed care 
organizations and dental benefit managers 
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following submission of the readiness 
reviews to the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. The Authority is also 
directed to create a scorecard that compares 
managed care organizations and dental 
benefit managers within 1 year of 
transitioning to the delivery model. 
Additionally, the Authority is directed to 
establish minimum rates of reimbursement 
from managed care organizations and dental 
benefit managers to providers who elect not 
to enter into value-based payment 
arrangements and fixes the rates until July 1, 
2026 at percentages of the fee schedule of 
the Authority. Managed care organizations 
are required to offer value-based payment 
arrangements to providers, but may not 
require such arrangements. The measure 
also creates the MC Quality Advisory 
Committee to make recommendations to the 
Administrator of the Oklahoma Health Care 
Authority and the Oklahoma Health Care 
Authority Board on quality measures used 
by managed care organizations and dental 
benefit managers in the capitated managed 
care delivery model of the state Medicaid 
program. A majority of the members shall 
be providers participating in the capitated 
managed care delivery model of the state 
Medicaid program. 
 
SB 434 (McCortney/McEntire) creates the 
I/T/U Shared Savings Program. The 
Program provides for non-I/T/U services to 
receive 100% of the federal matching rate if 
such services are rendered to an American 
Indian or Alaska Native (AI/AN) Medicaid 
beneficiary as a result of a referral from an 
I/T/U facility provider. The Health Care 
Authority is also directed by the measure to 
distribute 50% of any savings that result 
from the I/T/U Shared Savings Program. 
Any savings not distributed to I/T/U 
facilities or spent on administrative costs 
shall be deposited in the I/T/U Shared 
Savings Revolving Fund. The Authority is 

directed to provide an annual report on the 
Revolving Fund to the Governor, President 
Pro Tempore of the Senate, and Speaker of 
the House.  
 
SB 918 (Treat/Echols) repeals regulations 
relating to the performance of abortions in 
the state. The measure does not repeal 21 
O.S. Section 861, which states that a person 
convicted of inducing a woman to take any 
medicine, drug, or substance with the intent 
of inducing a miscarriage is guilty of a 
felony unless such measures were taken to 
preserve the life of the woman. A person 
may be imprisoned for no less than two 
years and no more than five years if 
convicted. The measure also does not repeal 
the Choosing Childbirth Act, which provides 
grants to non-profit organizations that help 
women carry their children to term. The 
measure will only take effect if the Attorney 
General certifies that the United States 
Supreme Court overruled the central holding 
of Roe v. Wade or an amendment to the 
United States Constitution is adopted that 
restores to the State of Oklahoma the 
authority to prohibit abortion. 
 
SB 1045 (Thompson/Wallace) modifies the 
Supplemental Hospital Offset Payment 
Program (SHOPP). The measure defines 
“directed payments” as specific payments 
made by managed care plans to providers 
under certain circumstances that assist states 
in furthering the goals and priorities of their 
Medicaid programs. The measure provides 
that funds from SHOPP may be used to fund 
supplemental or directed payments. 
Additionally, the measure modifies the 
assessment calculation methodology from a 
rate needed to generate an amount up to the 
sum of certain expenses to a fixed rate. The 
measure fixes the assessment rate at 3% for 
the calendar year ending December 31, 
2022, and 3.5% for the calendar year ending 
December 31, 2023. The rate will be fixed at 
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4% for the calendar year ending December 
31, 2024, and each year thereafter. The 
measure provides that the base year for 
assessment shall be determined annually by 
the Oklahoma Health Care Authority Board. 
Additionally, the measure renders the 
portion of the SHOPP fee attributable to 
certain expenses null and void if federal 
matching funds for the program become 
unavailable. The measure also eliminates the 
termination date of the program and 
removes a cap on quarterly transfers of 
funds. The measure extends the time period 
the Authority has to make quarterly hospital 
access payments from 10 days to 14 days. 
 
SB 1046 (Thompson/Wallace) provides that 
of the funds appropriated to the Oklahoma 
Health Care Authority, $28,844,877.00 shall 
be used for program growth. Additionally, 
the measure provides that $16,733,682.00 
shall be used to expand the dental benefit of 
the state’s Medicaid enrollees and 
$7,555,287.00 shall be used for alternative 
treatments for pain management of the 
state’s Medicaid enrollees. The measure also 
authorizes the Administrator of the 
Authority to make a request for exemption 
to the Office of Management and Enterprise 
Services in writing and file a revised budget 
program unless both the Chair and Vice 
Chair of the Joint Legislative Committee on 
Budget and Program Oversight provide 
written notification to the Office of 
Management and Enterprise Services within 
12 calendar days of the Committee’s receipt 
of the exemption request that the exemption 
subverts the intention and objectives of the 
Legislature in establishing the original limit. 
Additionally, the Administrator may request 
the Director of the Office of Management 
and Enterprise Services an early transfer of 
tax collections to the General Revenue Fund 
for the purpose of early allocation to the 
agency’s disbursing funds to alleviate cash-
flow problems. 

 
HB 2904 (Wallace/Thompson) increases the 
funding for the Oklahoma Athletic 
Commission by $100,000 as well as the 
continuation of the Choosing Childbirth Act, 
both within the Oklahoma State Department 
Health. The PCS also maintains funding for 
sickle cell outreach ($50,000) and 
Uncompensated Care fund at $1.9 million. 
The measure requires the State Department 
of Health to utilize an amount necessary to 
hire and employ, in addition to current 
staffing, certain positions at the Oklahoma 
Medical Marijuana Authority. The Medical 
Marijuana Authority is required to establish 
the qualifications and salary for each 
position and hire such persons no later than 
December 1, 2021. 
 
HB 2950 (Wallace/Thompson) creates the 
Ambulance Service Provider Access 
Payment Program Act, which directs the 
Oklahoma Health Care Authority to, upon 
recommendation of the Oklahoma 
Ambulance Alliance, to assess Oklahoma-
licensed ambulance service providers a fee. 
Monies received pursuant to this fee shall be 
deposited in the newly created Ambulance 
Service Provider Access Payment Fund. The 
measure specifies how the monies in the 
fund are to be used, provides for 
implementation, and lists exempt entities. 
 

Agency FY21 
Appropriation 

FY22 
Appropriation 

Change 
from 

Original 
Department of 

Health $58,337,964 $59,337,964 1.71% 
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Health Care Authority Funding 
 

Agency FY21 
Appropriation 

FY22 
Appropriation 

Change 
from 

Original 
Health Care 
Authority $1,000,039,368 $1,194,337,303 19.43% 

 

 
Mental Health & Substance Abuse 
Funding 
 
SB 1047 (Thompson/Wallace) provides that 
$1,541,252.00 appropriated to the 
Department of Mental Health and Substance 
Abuse Services in HB 2900 shall be used to 
supplement program growth. Additionally, 
the measure apportions the appropriations 
made to the Department in HB 2900 in the 
following manner:  
1) $500,000.00 shall be used to carry out the 
provisions of SB 848  
2) $2,000,000.00 shall be used to carry out 
the provisions of HB 2877  
3) An increase in funding shall be provided 
for crisis intervention training sessions  
4) $2,034,000.00 shall be used to expand 
connectivity programs between law 
enforcement officers, mental health 
providers and Oklahomans in a mental 
health crisis  
5) $7,500,000.00 shall be used to expand the 
number of mental health crisis centers and 
urgent care centers  
6) $2,966,000.00 shall be used for additional 
mobile crisis teams to respond and diffuse 
crisis situations in communities  

7) $500,000.00 hall be used to maintain 5 
pilot programs to provide offenders 
incarcerated in county jails in the State of 
Oklahoma access to United States Food and 
Drug Administration-approved, evidence-
based, medication assisted treatment for 
opioid and alcohol dependence. 
 

Agency FY21 
Appropriation 

FY22 
Appropriation 

Change 
from 

Original 
Department of 

Health & 
Substance Abuse 

$334,915,240 $321,489,597 -4.01% 

 

 
Human Services 
 
SB 27 (Stanley/Moore) directs the 
Department of Human Services to forward 
fingerprints to the Federal Bureau of 
Investigation Interstate Identification Index 
as it relates to conducting fingerprint-based 
criminal records of placement homes. In the 
event a person in the placement home does 
not submit to the check within 5 business 
days immediately after emergency 
placement of the child, the child shall be 
immediately removed from the emergency 
placement home. 
 
SB 45 (Stanley/Talley) requires the 
Department of Human Services to include in 
the background check for applicants a 
fingerprint-based national criminal history 
record check. The measure authorizes the 
Department to directly request a national 
criminal history record check from the 
Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation. 
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SB 65 (Montgomery/Dustin Roberts) 
modifies the term “deployment” as it relates 
to the Deployed Parents Custody and 
Visitation Act by adding any transfer 
pursuant to military orders requiring 
presence in a foreign country. 
 
SB 93 (Hicks/McBride) replaces the term 
“retarded person” with “an individual with 
intellectual disability” as it relates to funeral 
expenses for children in the custody of the 
Department of Human Services. 
 
SB 134 (Daniels/Kannady) adds the 
requirement for the Judiciary Committees of 
the Senate and House to review the schedule 
of basic child support obligations every 4 
years. The review must include economic 
data from the Title IV-D Child Support 
Program in the Department of Human 
Services and provide opportunity for public 
input. Information relating to the report, as 
well as the current membership of the 
Committees, must be published on both the 
Senate and House websites. Current law 
only requires the Committees to review 
child support guidelines. 
 
SB 198 (Rosino/Lawson) modifies “least 
restrictive alternative” in the Oklahoma 
Guardianship and Conservatorship Act to 
mean an approach to meeting the needs of 
an individual that restricts fewer rights of 
the individual than would the appointment 
of a guardian or conservator. The measure 
also adds “supported decision making” to 
the Act and defines it as assistance from 1 or 
more persons chosen by an individual in 
understanding the nature and consequences 
of potential personal and financial decisions. 
Additionally, the measure requires court 
orders appointing a guardian for a person to 
include a specific finding that it was 
established by clear and convincing 
evidence that the identified needs of the 

subject of the proceeding cannot be met by a 
protective arrangement instead of 
guardianship or other less restrictive 
alternatives. The FS provides for the court to 
dismiss the action if the court finds that less 
restrictive alternatives to guardianship are 
feasible and adequate to meet the needs of 
the child. The measure also requires such 
guardianships to be used only as is 
necessary to promote and protect the 
wellbeing of the person and to promote the 
self-reliance of the person. 
 
SB 199 (Rosino/Lawson) prohibits the 
disclosure of agency records to Department 
of Human Services employees whose 
official duties include the audit or 
investigation of programs, services, 
administrative, or employment matters 
involving the Department or the Medicaid 
program unless such access is limited to the 
purposes for which the disclosure is 
authorized. 
 
SB 300 (Rosino/Kannady) requires the court 
that issued a temporary guardianship for 
vulnerable adults as it relates to involuntary 
protective orders to dismiss the temporary 
guardianship when the underlying 
conditions that created the emergency have 
been removed. The measure also requires 
the Department of Human Services limit 
provided services in temporary 
guardianships to protective services or the 
establishment of eligibility for protective 
services for the person and estate. The 
measure also directs the Department to 
request dismissal of a temporary 
guardianship when certain conditions are 
met. 
 
SB 340 (Paxton/Boatman) removes the 
requirement for prospective adoptive parents 
to sign a release of information allowing the 
release of the results of any search to the 
agency or person conducting the home study 
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or home study update. The measure also 
strikes language requiring such the 
Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation and 
the Department of Human Services to 
conduct a home study investigation on such 
parents. 
 
SB 421 (Rosino/Echols) provides for the 
calculation of gross income as it relates to 
child support to be calculated on the basis of 
current income if a parent is incarcerated for 
more than 180 days, provided, the 
incarceration is a result of indirect contempt 
of court for failure to pay child support or 
crime of omission to provide child support 
or for any offense for which the obligee’s 
dependent child or the oblige was a victim. 
Upon release, child support obligations shall 
revert to the preincarceration order amount 
beginning the first day of the month 90 days 
after release. The measure also modifies the 
calculation used to determine income if 
evidence of current income is not available 
or equitable by adding the average wages 
and hours worked in the parent’s particular 
industry and geographic area and the 
parent’s education, training, work 
experience, and ability to work. Such 
calculation shall also include wages the 
parent could earn consistent with the 
minimum wage rate of not less than 25 
hours a week. Veteran benefits received by a 
child are also treated in a manner similar to 
Social Security Title II benefits by the 
measure. 
 
SB 433 (Rosino/Lawson) requires any 
investigation of a community-based service 
provider conducted by the Department of 
Human Services to notify the provider of 
areas of concern and administrative 
information. Areas of concern and 
administrative information are not 
considered to be final investigative findings 
and will not be included in the final 
investigative report. 

 
SB 960 (Treat/McCall) extends the age at 
which a child may be relinquished to 
medical services providers or child rescuers 
from 7 days to 30 days of age. Such 
relinquishments are to be considered an 
affirmative defense in child abandonment 
cases. The measure provides for such 
relinquishments to be effectuated by an in-
person transfer of the child to the medical 
services provider or child rescuer or by 
leaving the child in a newborn safety device 
that meets certain criteria. Providers or 
rescuers that install such a device shall be 
responsible for the cost of installation and 
maintenance. directs the State Department of 
Health to award grants to organizations that 
provide healthcare services to mothers and 
infants for the purpose of reducing the rates 
of maternal mortality and infant mortality by 
3% within the 5 years of the measure’s 
effective date. 
 
SB 987 (Weaver/Bush) authorizes the court 
to order a child to be transported to a 
location approved by the court for an 
interview or examination as it relates to 
child abuse investigations. The court may 
also designate a person to transport the 
child. The measure directs the court to 
consider safety protocols based on the 
gender of the child when determining who 
shall transport the child. 
 
HB 1085 (Boatman/Daniels) authorizes the 
court to waive e requirement for a child 
abuse and neglect information system 
(CANIS) search if it cannot be obtained in a 
reasonable time and the court determines 
that it is in the minor's best interest that the 
CANIS search be waived in emergency 
placement proceedings. 
 
HB 1086 (Boatman/Daniels) authorizes a 
guardian to petition a court to transfer or 
convey ward-owned property deemed a 



63 
 

resource by federal or state authority into a 
protective arrangement. A protective 
arrangement shall not modify any state or 
federal authorized rules regarding exemption 
or transfer of assets or resources for 
determination of Medicaid or Social 
Security eligibility and is not considered a 
sale of property. Additionally, a court order 
authorizing a protective arrangement will 
not have any impact on the protective 
arrangement’s consideration in the actual 
Medicaid eligibility determination decision. 
 
HB 1151 (Osburn/Howard) modifies the 
child custody hearing process to give courts 
the option to consider evidence of the ability 
of parents to communicate on issues related 
to their children in addition to evidence of 
harassment, domestic violence and stalking. 
The measure provides that if equal access is 
not granted to both parents, the court shall 
issue findings and conclusion of law to 
support its decision.  
 
HB 1709 (Hill/Rosino) changes a 
qualification for continuation of successful 
adulthood services. The services may 
continue until 21 years of age provided the 
individual is in the custody of the 
Department of Human Services or a 
federally recognized Indian tribe and in an 
out-of-home placement at the time of their 
sixteenth birthday. Previous law stipulated 
that this must occur at the time of their 
eighteenth birthday. 
 
HB 1797 (Miller/Garvin) prohibits any 
individual who is under investigation for 
heinous and shocking abuse while 
responsible for a child to work with children 
or reside in a childcare facility while the 
investigation is pending. Employers are also 
prohibited from contracting with such 
persons while the investigation is pending. 
measure also states that if the Department 
determines a substantiated finding of 

heinous and shocking abuse by a person 
responsible for a child, the Department shall 
notify the childcare facility owner and the 
childcare resource and referral agency 
within 1 business day after the finding. The 
facility shall also notify parents or guardians 
within 72 hours of the finding. The 
Department will also develop a process 
prohibiting the perpetrator from future 
childcare employment. Any person who is 
the perpetrator of a substantiated finding by 
the Department of heinous and shocking 
abuse may not o work with children, reside 
in a childcare facility, or be hired by an 
employer who offers or provides services to 
children. 
 
HB 1902 (Roe/Garvin) provides that the 
safety plan monitor of a child who is in a 
safety plan with the Department of Human 
Services may, if the parent of the child is 
unavailable, authorize medical or dental 
treatment or examinations which are 
necessary for the well-being of the child. 
 
HB 1992 (Trey Caldwell/Kidd) requires the 
Office of Juvenile Affairs (OJA) to provide 
a report to the President Pro Tempore of the 
Senate, Speaker of the House, and Governor 
on the feasibility of entering into a contract 
for or operating group homes of any level at 
the Southwest Oklahoma Juvenile Center 
campus located in Manitou, Oklahoma no 
later than October 1, 2021. The measure 
provides that the OJA may enter into other 
contracts with state agencies, the federal 
government, and tribes to allow for the 
placement of children or young adults in the 
custody of such an entity to reside and 
participate in any identified OJA contracted 
or operated program or facility. 
 
HB 2311 (Lawson/Haste) defines “fixed 
wireless broadband Internet service 
provider” as an entity that offers Internet 
access through a stationary fixed point-to-
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point connection, often requiring direct line 
of sight between the provider’s wireless 
transmitter and its end-user consumer’s 
receiver as it relates to the Ad Valorem Tax 
Code. The measure clarifies that fixed 
wireless broadband Internet service 
providers are not included in the definitions 
of transmission company and public service 
corporation. 
 
HB 2312 (Lawson/Haste) modifies the 
competency evaluation process to include 
youthful offenders in addition to 
delinquency. The measure also adds 
language that a copy of the child’s petition 
or information is presented to the court. The 
measure also modifies who may file a 
motion for determination of competency to 
state that the district attorney or the child’s 
attorney shill file this motion under a 
reasonable basis. At any time prior to or 
during delinquency or youthful offender 
proceedings, the Office of Juvenile Affairs 
may file a Motion to Intervene to raise 
issues of competency. 
 
HB 2317 (Lawson/Haste) establishes a 
grievance process for children detained in an 
adult facility and provides that the Office of 
Juvenile System Oversight shall receive 
grievances for investigation, resolution, and 
referrals. Each facility in which children is 
directed to create grievance policies and 
procedures available upon public request 
and to make resources readily accessible to 
children in the facility. The provisions of 
this measure do not apply to children housed 
in a Department of Corrections facility or 
housed under a Department of Corrections 
contract. 
 
HB 2318 (Lawson/Garvin) modifies rules 
on the termination of parental rights to 
include any findings of child abuse or 
neglect or failing to protect any child from 

abuse or neglect as legal grounds for the 
termination of parental rights. 
 
HB 2327 (Bashore/Stanley) creates a 
procedure to provide notice and an 
opportunity to review to the individual and 
to the facility if the individual is employed 
with an Office of Juvenile Affairs affiliated 
facility as it relates to the Restricted 
Registry. 
 
HB 2352 (Lawson/Garvin) provides that the 
Director of the Department of Human 
Services and the Executive Director of the 
Office of Juvenile Affairs may enter into 
agreements on behalf of the state with 
Indian tribes in Oklahoma regarding care 
and custody of Indian relating to the care of 
Indian children. Such agreements may 
transfer the jurisdiction of over child 
custody proceedings and may be done on a 
case-by-case basis. Additionally, the 
measure clarifies that the State ratifies all 
agreements in conformity with the Federal 
Indian Child Welfare Act executed prior to 
the enactment of the measure and provides 
that the provisions of the measure shall 
apply retroactively to any case filed or 
pending at the time that an agreement 
vesting concurrent jurisdiction is entered 
into between the state and an Indian tribe. 
The measure also removes the requirement 
for the Administrative Director of the Courts 
(ADC) to develop a form used to collect 
data related to the adoption of each child. 
 
HB 2367 (Burns/Coleman) provides that a 
child 16 years of age or older may enter into 
contracts to obtain housing if he or she 
receives a certification of unaccompanied 
status from a youth services provider with 
the Department of Human Services. The 
certification shall show that they determined 
the child is homeless or a victim of domestic 
violence or abuse. The provider is required 
to notify the parent or guardian that the child 
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is seeking unaccompanied child status. 
Certification of this status does not 
discharge the parent or guardian of parental 
or legal authority. 
 
HB 2565 (Chad Caldwell/McCortney) 
provides that evidence of material, 
educational, or cultural disadvantage as 
compared to other children shall not be 
sufficient to prove that a child is deprived as 
it relates to the Oklahoma Children’s Code. 
The measure also modifies “neglect” to 
include the failure to protect the child from 
harm or threatened harm of which any 
reasonable and prudent person responsible 
for the child's health, safety or welfare 
would be aware. Neglect shall not include a 
child who engages in independent activities, 
except if the person responsible for the 
child's health, safety or welfare willfully 
disregards any harm or threatened harm to 
the child, given the child's level of maturity, 
physical condition or mental abilities. 
 
HB 2899 (Wallace/Thompson) states that 
applications for Home and Community 
Based Medicaid Water Services for the 
Community Waiver, In-Home Supports 
Waiver for Adults, and In-Home Supports 
Waiver for Children operated by the 
Department of Human Services cannot be 
made until the applicant has been an 
Oklahoma resident for 5 years prior to the 
application date.  

Human Services Funding 
 
SB 1044 (Thompson/Wallace) transfers the 
Support Service Providers Grant Program 
and from the Department of Rehabilitation 
Services to the Department of Human 
Services and reduces the total amount of 
grants awarded annually from $300,000.000 
to $250,000.00. 
 
SB 1073 (Thompson/Wallace) states that 
portions of the appropriations made to the 

Department of Human Services in HB 2900 
be used in the following manner:  
1) $2,000,000.00 shall be used for providing 
services for persons with developmental 
disabilities  
2) $250,000.00 shall be used to implement 
the provisions of SB 1044  
3) $1,004,344.00 shall be used to fund debt 
service obligations for the renovation and 
construction of the Robert M. Greer Center 
located in Enid, Oklahoma  
4) $2,800,000.00 shall be transferred to the 
Child Abuse Multidisciplinary Account  
 
It also states that all federal monies received 
by the state during the fiscal year ending 
June 30, 2022, from the Temporary 
Assistance to Needy Families Block Grant 
and the Child Care and Development Fund 
Block Grant to meet the provisions of 
federal law relating to such grants. As well 
as stating targeted priorities for increased 
FMAP funds not related to COVID-19. 
 
HB 2905 (Wallace/Thompson) provides that 
$1.5 million of the funds appropriated to the 
Office of Juvenile Affairs shall be used to 
increase the funding of the Community 
Based Youth Services Division of the Office 
of Juvenile Affairs. This funding shall be 
used to supplement existing funding. 
Appropriations made in the 1st session of 
the 58th Oklahoma Legislature may be 
budgeted for fiscal year 2022 or fiscal year 
2023. Funds remaining after each fiscal year 
deadline for expending funds, if not 
budgeted for the next year, shall lapse to the 
credit of the proper fund. These 
appropriations may not be budgeted in both 
fiscal years simultaneously. Funds budgeted 
for fiscal year 2022 and not required to pay 
of obligations in that fiscal year may be 
budgeted for fiscal year 2023 after the 
agency to which the funds have been 
appropriated has prepared and submitted a 
budget work program revision removing the 
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funds from the previous fiscal year and have 
it approved by the Office of Management 
and Enterprise Services. 
 

Agency FY21 
Appropriation 

FY22 
Appropriation 

Change 
from 

Original 
Department of 

Human Services $713,831,158 $717,585,502 0.53% 

 
Insurance Measures 
 
SB 66 (Haste/Sims) exempts surplus line 
policies sold to school districts from the 
surplus lines premium tax.  
 
SB 122 (Montgomery/Sims) authorizes 
credit as either an asset or a reduction from 
liability on account of reinsurance if an 
insurer is domiciled or has its head office in 
a reciprocal jurisdiction. A reciprocal 
jurisdiction is a jurisdiction that is subject to 
a covered agreement with the United States, 
is a member state of the European Union, a 
jurisdiction within the United States that 
meets the standards of the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioners, or 
a jurisdiction that meets all previous 
requirements as determined by the Insurance 
Commissioner. The Insurance 
Commissioner is directed by the measure to 
publish a list of assuming insurers that have 
satisfied these conditions. The 
Commissioner may add an assuming insurer 
to the list if a National Association of 
Insurance Commissioners accredited 
jurisdiction has added the assuming insurer 
to a list of such assuming insurers. Should 

the Commissioner determine that an insurer 
no longer meets the requirements, the 
Commissioner may revoke or suspend 
eligibility of the insurer in accordance with 
the procedures outlined in the measure. 
Credit may only be assumed after the 
effective date of this measure. 
 
SB 137 (Taylor/ODonnell) creates the Act 
Concerning Interpretation of Oklahoma 
Insurance Laws. The measure clarifies that 
any legal treatise, scholarly publication, 
textbook, or other explanatory text does not 
constitute the law or public policy of the 
State if such a statement conflicts with the 
Constitution of the United States, a statute of 
the state, case law, or other common law 
adopted in the State. 
 
SB 287 (Quinn/Sims) modifies various 
regulations relating to the Travel Insurance 
Act. Travel assistance services is amended 
to include all noninsurance services offered 
to consumers and removes language 
requiring such services to be offered by a 
limited lines travel insurance producer. 
Additionally, the measure specifies that 
travel insurance may not include pre-paid 
funeral contracts. The measure also 
authorizes limited lines producers to sell, 
solicit, and negotiate travel insurance 
without an appointment by an insurer. The 
measure specifies that that travel insurance 
shall be classified and filed for purposes of 
rates and forms under an inland marine line 
of insurance. Cancellation requirements are 
modified by the measure by allowing 
policyholders to cancel a policy provided the 
primary policyholder is not on a trip and 
other conditions outlined in the measure are 
met. Unfair trade practices are also modified 
by the measure by excluding certain 
practices requiring the consumer to choose 
between purchasing the coverage required 
by the destination jurisdiction through the 
travel retailer or limited lines travel 
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insurance producer supplying the trip or 
travel package or agreeing to obtain and 
provide proof of coverage that meets the 
requirements of the destination jurisdiction 
prior to departure. Insurers are held 
responsible for the acts of a travel 
administrator managing travel insurance 
underwritten by the insurer. 
 
SB 288 (Quinn/O’Donnell) lowers the 
percentage of an insurance company’s 
admitted assets that a single mortgage loan 
issued to any individual to 3% and 
authorizes insurers to invest 45% of the 
company’s admitted assets invested in total 
aggregate amount in mortgage loans if the 
portfolio average loan to value is 75% or 
less of fair market value. 
 
SB 330 (Rader/Pfeiffer) removes the 
requirement for the Oklahoma Tax 
Commission to verify the balance of the 
Self-insurance Guaranty Fund and to inform 
the Workers’ Compensation Commission of 
the balance.  
 
SB 392 (Standridge/McEntire) directs health 
insurers to provide direct payment or 
reimbursement to a licensed pharmacist for 
providing a health care service to an 
individual if said pharmacist provided care 
for which he or she is licensed to practice 
and the health benefit policy, contract, or 
agreement of the individual that received 
care provides for payment or reimbursement 
of the service. 
 
SB 472 (Daniels/Kannady) provides for an 
annual $1.75 million payment to be made to 
the credit of the Workers' Compensation 
Administrative Fund derived from premiums 
on employers. 
 
SB 490 (Quinn/Hill) includes home 
warranties within the legal framework of the 
Oklahoma Home Service Contract Act. 

Warranties and home service contracts are 
also not classified as insurance by the 
measure. 
 
SB 529 (Quinn/Mize) modifies an interest 
rate used in calculating minimum 
nonforfeiture amounts relating to life 
insurance annuities from 1% to 1/15 of 1%. 
 
SB 550 (Newhouse/Pae) requires insurers 
denying a clean claim to notify the insured, 
enrollee or subscriber, assignee of the 
insured, enrollee or subscriber, and health 
care provider within 30 days after receipt of 
the claim by the insurer. The notification 
must state the reason for the denial and 
include instructions on where a person or 
entity that received notification may 
respond. Recipients may submit a detailed 
appeal in writing explaining why the claim 
should be approved. 
 
SB 738 (Montgomery/McEntire) modifies 
conditions that consider an entity an insurer. 
The measure specifies that an entity 
organized for the purpose of transacting 
insurance that ensures an Oklahoma 
educational institution will be considered an 
insurer for all kinds of insurance that the 
entity transacts. The measure removes the 
requirement that the entity must within a 
twelve-month period receive aggregate 
premiums of $1,000,000.00. Additionally, 
the measure requires the Insurance 
Commissioner to serve notice to an 
insolvent insurer. The insurer must file a 
written plan of action within thirty days of 
notification. If the Insurance Commissioner 
further determines that supervision is 
necessary, the Commissioner is required to 
serve notice to the insurer that supervision is 
required. Insurers must comply with the 
requirements of the Insurance Commissioner 
and will have 90 days from the date of 
notice to comply unless the Commissioner 
determines otherwise. The Commissioner is 
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authorized to initiate judicial or 
administrative proceedings against 
noncompliant insurers. Additionally, the 
measure authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to assess a fine for failure to 
timely file a written plan of action required 
by this act in an amount not to exceed 
$500.00. 
 
SB 887 (Quinn/Sneed), otherwise known as 
the Insurance Omnibus Bill, authorizes the 
Insurance Commissioner to fine insurance 
carriers for failing to file a market conduct 
statement for up to $1,000.00 for each 
occurrence. The measure also provides for a 
Business Character Report to contain data 
that is up to 6 months old instead of 1 year. 
Insurance carriers are also authorized to 
provide reasonable exceptions to the rate of 
the insurer, rating classifications, company 
or tier placement, or underwriting rules or 
guidelines for a consumer who has 
experienced and whose credit information 
has been directly influenced by certain 
catastrophic events outlined in the measure. 
Applicants for the exception must request 
the exception in writing. The measure 
additionally authorizes the Oklahoma 
Automobile Insurance Plan to issue policies 
of insurance in the name of the plan for the 
applicants as it relates to equitable 
apportionment. Participating members shall 
be liable to the plan for all costs, expenses, 
and liabilities in proportion to its share of 
voluntary market premium and must file an 
annual audited financial statement with the 
Commissioner. The measure provides for 
surplus line licensees to be fined $25.00 per 
policy for failing to remit the surplus line 
tax. Additionally, the measure requires 
insurers to reimburse clean claims filed 
electronically within 1 year and provides for 
notices of expiration for claims to be given 
not more than 1 year after the date of the 
loss. The measure also creates the Motor 
Service Club limited lines category for 

limited line insurance. Nonresident 
administrators shall also be required to 
notify the Commission of any termination of 
employment within 30 days instead of 15. 
Any entity making application to the 
Oklahoma Insurance Department as a third-
party administrator (TPA) or within 30 days 
of a change for a licensed TPA shall provide 
current National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners Biographical Affidavits and 
independent third-party background reports 
from a NAIC-approved vendor on behalf of 
all officers. The measure increases the 
licensing fee for limited line producers to 
$40.00. The measure modifies the 
membership of the Oklahoma Property and 
Casualty Insurance Guaranty Association 
and authorizes each insurer to appoint an 
alternate representative. Any person serving 
as an alternate representative shall, while 
serving, have all the powers and 
responsibilities of the appointed insurer 
representative. Additionally, the Association 
may use legal postings on its website to 
satisfy notification requirements. The 
measure provides for insurance policies 
issued by members and later transferred to 
another insurer to be considered to have 
been issued by a member insurer which is an 
insolvent insurer in the event that the insurer 
to which the policy has been transferred. 
Prepaid funeral benefit permit holders are 
prohibited from changing the name under 
which the permit holder operates unless they 
receive permission to do so from the 
Commissioner. The permit holder must first 
obtain permission for such a change from 
the Commissioner 30 days prior to the 
change. The Commissioner may deny or 
approve any request to change the name. 
Certificates of dormancy, as defined by the 
measure, may be issued by the 
Commissioner. Dormant captive insurance 
companies are companies that ceased 
transacting the business of insurance and 
have no remaining liabilities. Such 
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companies shall not be liable for any 
insurance taxes and may possess a total of 
$25,000.00 in unimpaired, paid-in capital, 
and surplus funds. Dormant companies shall 
be subject to examination by the 
Commissioner. The measure also modifies 
the date by which the Insurance 
Commissioner must make certain reports 
provided to the Commissioner available to 
the public from June 1 to December 31 of 
each year. Additionally, the measure 
clarifies in the event an insurance company 
cancels any personal residential insurance 
coverage, notice of the cancellation is 
required to be provided by the insured to the 
insurer. The measure also requires the 
cancellation notice to provide the date of 
cancellation of the policy and the insurance 
company is required to reimburse the 
insured for any premiums paid for coverage 
beyond the date of cancellation. The 
measure provides that in the event an 
insured cancels a homeowner’s policy or 
any other personal residential insurance 
coverage, a notice is required to be provided 
by the insured to the prior insurer. An 
insurer canceling any personal residential 
coverage is required to make the 
cancellation of coverage effective as of the 
date of the inception of the new coverage 
and the insurer will not be liable for claims 
arising after the date of inception. 
 
SB 1030 (Quinn/Mize) provides for the 
Insurance Commissioner to levy a civil 
penalty of up to $1,000.00 per violation. 
Additionally, the measure requires insurers 
to pay the $200.00 filing fee relating to 
market conduct statements at the time of 
filing. 
 
SB 1035 (Quinn/Sneed) updates definition 
for risk retention group. A risk retention 
group seeking to be chartered for domicile 
in this state is required to be chartered and 
licensed to only write liability insurance 

pursuit to the insurance laws of Oklahoma. 
The measure requires all risk retention 
groups chartered in the state to file with the 
Insurance Department and the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioners 
(NAIC) an annual statement in a form 
prescribed by the Association and in 
electronic form if required by the Insurance 
Commissioner. The measure requires the 
risk retention group or purchasing group to 
submit an appropriate revision of changes in 
any item of the plan of operation or 
feasibility study within ten (10) days of the 
change to the Insurance Commissioner for 
approval. Once the plan is approved, a copy 
of the approved revision plan must be 
submitted to the Commissioner within thirty 
(30) days of the date of approval. The 
measure prohibits the risk retention group or 
purchasing group from offering additional 
kinds of liability insurance in this state or 
any other state until a revision of the plan is 
approved by the Commissioner. The 
measure requires the risk retention group to 
provide the Commissioner a summary of 
specific information. The information is 
required to then be transmitted to the 
National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners. Existing risk retention 
groups are required to comply with certain 
governance standards within one year of the 
effective date of this act. Risk retention 
groups licensed after the effective date are in 
compliance at the time of licensure. The 
measure provides the requirements and 
conditions for the Board of Directors of risk 
retention groups. The measure also requires 
the risk retention group to have an audit 
committee with certain conditions. The risk 
retention group or purchasing group is 
required to pay a filing fee determined by 
the Commissioner for application of charter. 
At the time of application for charter, the 
risk retention group is required to provide 
the Commissioner a summary of certain 
information which will then be forwarded to 
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the National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners. This will satisfy the 
requirements of Oklahoma law. The 
measure requires each risk retention group 
to pay premium taxes and taxes on 
premiums of direct business for risk and 
report premiums for direct business for risks 
to the Commissioner. The measure removes 
the requirement of risk retention groups to 
pay the tax for risks insured within the state 
and the mandatory reporting of all premiums 
paid to it for risks insured within the state. 
The measure adds “claimants against its 
insureds” to the list of entities prohibited 
from receiving any from any insurance 
insolvency guaranty fund or similar 
mechanism. The measure also specifies that 
when insurance is bought from insurers not 
authorized in the state, such risks will not be 
covered by any insurance guaranty fund or 
similar mechanism in the state. The measure 
removes the exemption of a purchasing 
group being exempt from state law and 
modifies the provision to include a 
purchasing group and its insurer or insurers 
to be subject to all applicable laws of 
Oklahoma with the exception of any law of 
this state that would prohibit the 
establishment of a purchasing group in 
regards to liability insurance. Additionally, 
the measure prohibits an insurer from 
providing advantages to a purchasing group 
or its members based on the loss and 
expense experience of the group such as 
advantages on rates, policy forms and 
coverage that is not afforded to other 
persons or entities. A purchasing group 
which intends to do business in the state is 
required to list all other states in which the 
group intends to do business with to the 
Insurance Commissioner. The measure also 
clarifies that individuals, firms, associations, 
or corporations are prohibited from 
soliciting, negotiating or procuring liability 
insurance from an insurer not authorized to 
do business in the state of Oklahoma. The 

measure requires a special purpose captive 
insurance company to pay the Department of 
Insurance a non-refundable fee of three-
hundred dollars ($300.00) for reviewing its 
application to determine whether it is 
complete. The measure requires the 
Insurance Commissioner to specify the 
amount relating to the minimum capital and 
surplus of a series captive insurance 
company. Certain papers relating to 
mergers, consolidation, conversion, 
mutualization and change of control are 
confidential and not subject to subpoena or 
distribution with an exception relating to the 
authority of the Commissioner under 
Oklahoma law. The measure requires 
modifications, assets and liabilities by use of 
GAAP accounting principles to be reported 
with certain requirements. The measure 
requires modifications, assets and liabilities 
to be reported with certain conditions. Each 
series captive insurance company is required 
to pay a minimum aggregate tax of three-
thousand five-hundred dollars ($3,500.00). 
Lastly, the measure provides conditions for 
annual maximum tax premiums. 
 
HB 1019 (Worthen/Simpson) modifies the 
cap amounts for a 30-day and 90-day supply 
of insulin to an amount not to exceed $30.00 
for a 30-day supply and $90.00 for a 90-day 
supply for each covered prescription. 
 
HB 2123 (McEntire/McCortney) directs the 
Insurance Commissioner to determine the 
duties assigned to the Patient’s Right to 
Pharmacy Choice Commission. 
Additionally, the Commissioner may 
employ actuaries, statisticians, accountants, 
and attorneys on behalf of the Commission. 
The measure authorizes the Commission to 
approve, disapprove, or approve with 
modifications any filings submitted to it. 
The Commission may also conduct 
examinations and investigations of insurance 
matters within the scope of its authority. The 
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authority to investigate pharmacy benefits 
managers is transferred from the Insurance 
Commissioner to the Pharmacy Choice 
Commission. Other duties transferred to the 
Pharmacy Choice Commission include 
reviewing complaints, and requiring 
restitution from pharmacy benefits managers 
who have violated the law. 
 
HB 2180 (Johns/McCortney) directs state 
agencies to make payroll deductions for the 
payment of any insurance premiums due a 
private insurance organization or service 
company upon the request of a state 
employee. The measure strikes the 
requirement for such organizations or 
companies to be regulated by the State 
Insurance Commissioner and have a 
minimum participation of 500 state 
employees for legal services. 
 
HB 2323 (Frix/Pemberton) prohibits 
insurers and preferred provider 
organizations from unilaterally removing a 
provider from the network solely because 
the provider informs an enrollee of the full 
range of physicians and providers available 
to the enrollee. Provider agreements may not 
prohibit, penalize, terminate, or otherwise 
restrict a preferred provider from referring to 
an out-of-network provider, provided the 
insured signs an acknowledgement of 
referral that the insured may incur certain 
charges, deductibles, and higher 
coinsurance. 
 
HB 2403 (Russ/Quinn) requires the 
Insurance Department to only terminate a 
license that failed to renew after a 12-month 
inactive period upon notification 90 days 
prior to termination of the license. 
 
HB 2678 (Marti/McCortney) expands the 
list of practices constituting an unfair claim 
settlement practice to include failing to 
include any amount paid by an enrollee or 

on behalf of an enrollee by another person 
when calculating the enrollee's total 
contribution to an out-of-pocket maximum, 
deductible, copayment, coinsurance or other 
cost-sharing requirement as it relates to a 
health insurer that provides pharmacy 
benefits or a pharmacy benefits manager that 
administers pharmacy benefits for a health 
plan. 
Liquor, Smoking, & Tobacco 
 
SB 85 (Coleman/Strom) authorizes the 
holder of multiple small brewer licenses to 
sell beer produced at any brewery for which 
the licensee has a license, at any other 
brewery for which the licensee has a license, 
or on premises located contiguous to such 
properties. 
 
SB 262 (Thompson/Echols) provides for the 
excise tax on wine shipped directly to a 
consumer by a winery maintaining a 
Winemaker Self-Distribution License be 
collected and remitted by the winery. The 
wholesaler who purchases the alcoholic 
beverages for sale shall collect the excise tax 
on all other wine and spirits sales. 
 
SB 315 (Coleman/McDugle) authorizes 
distiller licensees to sell spirits produced by 
the licensee for either on-premises or off-
premises consumption to consumers on the 
licensed distillery premises or in an area 
controlled by the licensee located 
contiguous to the licensed distillery 
premises as well as sell spirits at public 
events such as trade shows or festivals. The 
measure provides that such products sold 
must have been sold to and shipped to an 
Oklahoma licensed wine and spirits 
wholesaler and then made available for 
purchase by the Oklahoma licensed distiller. 
These sales shall be capped at 15,000 
gallons per year. 
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SB 385 (Coleman/Strom) authorizes a retail 
spirits licensee to host alcoholic beverage 
tastings for consumers on its licensed 
premises provided the conditions outlined in 
the measure are met. Servings shall be 
limited, on the licensee’s premises, poured 
from original containers, supervised by the 
licensee, and served only to persons 21 years 
of age or older. Licensees are directed to 
maintain records of any samples served. The 
licensee shall not permit any alcoholic 
beverages content or retail container 
unsealed in connection with sampling to 
remain on the licensed premises at the close 
of the business on that day. 
 
SB 499 (Coleman/McEntire) requires stores 
selling alcoholic beverages to customers to 
present the 13.5% gross tax on alcohol as a 
separate item on the receipt. This 
requirement shall not apply to catered, 
public, and special events. 
 
SB 760 (Pugh/Osburn) authorizes persons to 
transport alcoholic beverages from one 
licensed premises to the common use area if 
the facility contains multiple licensed 
premises. The ABLE Commission shall 
designate common drinking area for the 
consumption of alcoholic beverages in such 
facilities. 
 
SB 1078 (Thompson/Wallace) modifies 
several definitions, including “tobacco 
products” and adds several definitions which 
include “smokeless tobacco,” “snuff,” 
“chewing tobacco,” “smoking tobacco,” 
“pipe tobacco,” and “roll-your-own 
tobacco.” The following sections conform 
statutory language to the new definitions. 
 
HB 1096 (Strom/Coleman) authorizes a 
retail, mixed beverage, on-premises beer and 
wine, public event, special event, charitable 
auction, charitable alcoholic beverage event, 
or complimentary beverage licensee to 

communicate with a brewer, beer 
distributor, small brewer, small brewer self-
distributor, or brewpub self-distributor on 
social media. Licensees may request free 
social media advertising from such persons. 
Such persons may share social media posts 
provided the post does not contain the retail 
price of any alcoholic beverage. 
 
HB 2122 (McEntire/Coleman) creates the 
Oklahoma Cocktails To Go Act of 2021. 
The measure allows establishments holding 
a caterer’s or a mixed beverage license to 
sell single-serve wine and cocktails to-go as 
long as they are in a sealed tamper-proof 
container. The sealed container must be 
properly labeled as outlined in the measure. 
Deliveries must be made by employees of 
the establishment and must be at least 21 
years of age. The employee must be able to 
verify the age of the customer as well. If 
delivered or picked up, the beverage must be 
placed in the trunk of the vehicle, or in the 
rear compartment of the vehicle if there is 
no trunk. Third-party deliveries of cocktails 
are prohibited. Entities holding a license to 
manufacture alcoholic liquors or beverages 
are prohibited from being able to sell 
cocktails to-go. 
 
HB 2277 (Bashore/Leewright) clarifies that 
mixed beverage licensees permitted to offer 
drink specials are not required to offer such 
drink specials at all venues operating under 
the same license. 
 
HB 2380 (Marti/Coleman) authorizes 
alcoholic beverage licensees to provide self-
pour automated devices for dispensing beer 
and wine. Such licensees must use an ABLE 
approved device to dispense the alcoholic 
beverages and may only dispense 10 ounces 
of wine or 32 ounces of beer per serving. 
Licensees are required to provide constant 
video monitoring at all times during which 
the licensee is open, keep such footage for at 
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least 60 days, and provide the footage upon 
request to any ABLE Commission agent or 
other authorized law enforcement. 
 
HB 2511 (Kannady/Howard) requires every 
manufacturer of a vapor product sold or 
intended to be sold in the state to deliver to 
the ABLE Commission an attestation 
certifying that the product was available for 
purchase in the United States as of August 8, 
2016, and the manufacturer has applied for a 
marketing order from the FDA on or before 
September 9, 2020, or that the manufacturer 
has received a marketing order or other 
authorization from the FDA. The measure 
further requires manufacturers to notify the 
ABLE Commission within 30 days of any 
material change to the attestation, and 
directs the ABLE Commission to develop a 
directory listing of all manufacturers and 
their vapor products that have provided 
attestations. Any vapor product not in the 
directory is prohibited from being 
manufactured, distributed, sold, bartered or 
furnished in the state. 
 
HB 2665 (Echols/Coleman) separates the 
alcoholic beverage manufacturer license 
from the nonresident seller license and sets 
its fees based on the number of cases sold 
per year. For 50 cases or less, the licensing 
fee is set at $50.00 with a $100.00 annual 
fee. If the licensee sells between 51 and 500 
cases, the licensing fee is set at $75.00 with 
a $225.00 annual fee. For licensees sealing 
over 501 cases per year, there shall be a 
$150.00 licensing fee and an additional 
$450.00 annual fee. 
 
HB 2674 (Marti/Howard) clarifies that a 
person must be 21 years of age to purchase 
nicotine products. Nicotine products include 
any product that contains nicotine extracted 
or isolated from plants, vegetables, fruit, 
herbs, weeds, genetically modified organic 

matter, or that is synthetic in origin and is 
intended for human consumption.  
 
HB 2726 (Pittman/Coleman) defines “bottle 
service” and “club suite” in the Oklahoma 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Act. A bottle 
service is defined as the sale and provision 
of spirits in their original packages by a 
mixed beverage licensee to be consumed in 
that licensee’s club suite. A club suite is 
defined as a designated area within the 
premises of a mixed beverage licensee that 
is exclusive to patrons specifically granted 
access by the licensee. Spirits in the original 
packages must be consumed in the club suite 
of a mixed beverage licensee and cannot be 
removed if not consumed in their entirety or 
before the period a club suite was made 
available ends. Spirits in their original 
packages consumed in the club suite must be 
provided exclusively by the mixed beverage 
licensee.  

Judiciary/Court Measures 
 
SB 16 (Floyd/Bush) provides access to the 
Crime Victims Compensation Board written 
documentation included with a sexual 
assault forensic evidence kit tested by an 
accredited forensic lab if such 
documentation is essential to determine 
eligibility for compensation. Additionally, 
the measure modifies the time period by 
which the Board may examine sexual assault 
forensic evidence kits involving an adult 18 
years of age or older. The measure also 
specifies that victims who undergo forensic 
medical examination within 120 hours of the 
assault shall be found to have fully 
cooperated.  
 
SB 31 (Daniels/Moore) requires the court to 
enter an order dismissing a plaintiff’s case 
against a defendant if the defendant 
demonstrates that he or she was not timely 
served. The court is directed by the measure 
to dismiss the action 200 days after the filing 
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of the action in which no service has been 
made on any defendant. 
 
SB 38 (Thompson/Echols) places oversight 
of the drug court programs established by 
the Oklahoma Drug Court Act under the 
Administrative Office of the Courts. The 
measure also establishes a county Drug 
Court Fund under the county treasurer’s 
management. All monies received by the 
county drug court shall accrue to the Drug 
Court Fund. Additionally, the measure 
extends judicial immunity to include any 
duty required by law to be performed by a 
judge of a drug court. 
 
SB 44 (Hicks/Strom) requires any charges or 
warrants issued for failure to appear in court 
to be dismissed upon the defendant showing 
the court that he or she was incarcerated or 
otherwise detained by law enforcement at 
the time of the failure to appear. 
 
SB 50 (Howard/Worthen) requires each 
criminal case filed in the traditional manner 
to also be cross-referenced to a mental 
health court case file by the court clerk if the 
case is subsequently assigned to a mental 
health court program. The measure provides 
for the originating case to remain open to the 
public and requires the court to determine 
what information or pleadings are to be 
retained in the mental health case court file. 
The mental health case court file is closed to 
the public. 
 
SB 90 (Howard/Chad Caldwell) provides 
that an affidavit of publication provided by a 
publisher or authorized employee shall 
constitute conclusive proof that the 
newspaper has published the notice, 
advertisement, or publication. 
 
SB 97 (Brooks/Miller) trikes the prohibition 
on videoconference technology as it relates 

to using such technology in a jury trial or a 
trial before a judge in a district court. 
 
SB 140 (Brooks/Newton) modifies the 
definition of “offender” as used in the 
Delayed Sentencing Program for Young 
Adults. The measure increases the maximum 
age from 21 to 25 to participate in the 
program for those who have not been 
sentenced for a nonviolent felony offense. 
 
SB 153 (Howard/Moore) authorizes the use 
of a trust created by the court on behalf of 
person under 18 years of age when 
depositing recovered monies. 
 
SB 155 (Howard/Kendrix) directs the 
Oklahoma Supreme Court to maintain a 
calendar of cases pending before the court 
and to publish the calendar on its website. 
Entries on the calendar shall include dates 
the court shall hear oral arguments, cases 
challenging the constitutionality of an act of 
the Legislature, dates of court conferences, 
dates the court is closed, and any 
information that will assist the public in 
monitoring cases. Entries noting oral 
arguments must include the case number, 
names, counsel of record, and a summary of 
the case. The Supreme Court must also 
weekly publish a list of cases for which it 
has granted review. 
 
SB 162 (Howard/McEntire) creates the 
Oklahoma Decanting Act. The measure 
provides for the authorized trustee with full 
discretion to distribute the principal of the 
trust to distribute all or part of the principal 
of that trust in favor of a trustee of a second 
trust for the benefit of the current trust. 
Authorized trustees may grant a power of 
appointment in the second trust to one or 
more of the current beneficiaries of the first 
trust who is eligible to receive the principal 
outright under the terms of the first trust. 
The measure also authorizes petitioners to 



75 
 

petition a court to order a distribution. 
Authorized trustees with limited discretion 
to distribute the trust may distribute all or 
part of the principal of that trust in favor of a 
trustee of a second trust, provided the 
beneficiaries of the second trust are 
substantially the same as the members of the 
current trust. The measure authorizes 
special-needs fiduciaries to exercise similar 
distribution powers as authorized trustees 
with full discretion. The measure authorizes 
the interest of a special-needs trust to have 
an interest in additional financial tools, such 
as a pooled trust as defined by Medicaid law 
for the benefit of the beneficiary with a 
disability. The measure describes various 
notification requirements associated with 
“decanting” a trust. 
 
SB 171 (Daniels/Moore) prohibits the court 
clerk from publishing court records on its 
website if the cases involve rape, sodomy, 
sex crimes, sexual images, lewd or indecent 
conduct, pornography, child abuse or 
neglect, domestic abuse, kidnapping, 
extortion of a vulnerable victim, human 
trafficking, or similar offenses. 
 
SB 310 (Murdock/Josh West) requires the 
court to give consideration to the statements 
of the victim or victims of a juvenile crime 
when ruling on any motions for certification 
as a youthful offender or an alleged juvenile 
delinquent. The measure also removes rape 
in the 1st degree from the list of crimes 
designating an offender aged 15-17 as a 
youthful offender. Additionally, the measure 
provides that any person aged 15-17 who is 
charged with rape in the first degree or 
attempted rape in the first degree may be 
held accountable for his or her act as if the 
person was an adult. 
 
SB 578 (Floyd/Munson) clarifies the 
requirements for statements made under 
penalty of perjury. 

 
SB 677 (Kidd/Osburn) removes the 
requirement for the court clerk to first offer 
all or part of the records subject to 
destruction to the Archives and Records 
Division of the Oklahoma Department of 
Libraries for preservation. The measure also 
authorizes destruction of court records 
related to a domestic relations case in which 
a minor child is involved after 20 years, and 
records related to a domestic relations case 
that does not involve a minor child after 10 
years. Records pertaining to protective 
orders may be destroyed 1 year after the 
case was dismissed and no further action 
taken in the case, or 10 years after the order 
was issued. 
 
SB 1002 (Weaver/Moore) removes the term 
cases involving misdemeanors from 
“signature” as it relates to criminal 
procedure. 
 
HB 1022 (Worthen/Weaver) provides that 
the payment of the fine and costs not 
accompanied by a written plea of guilty or 
nolo contendere is deemed to be a plea of 
nolo contendere and is to function as a 
written, dated and signed citation form 
acceptable to the court. 
 
HB 1024 (Worthen/Daniels) prohibits any 
person who has been convicted of a violent 
crime or a crime that requires the person to 
register as a sex offender in this state or 
another state from applying for or obtaining 
a license to serve process. Currently licensed 
persons subject to this prohibition shall not 
have their license renewed. The measure 
strikes language which required a person 
applying to be a process server to publish 
notice of the hearing for a license. The 
measure requires notice of the application to 
be sent to the Administrative Office of the 
Courts. Any person who knowingly and 
willfully serves process in Oklahoma 



76 
 

without a process server license or who 
holds himself or herself out to be a process 
server licensed by the State of Oklahoma 
when the person is not licensed shall be 
guilty of a misdemeanor. The measure 
provides that assault of a process server is a 
misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment 
for up to 1 year in the county jail, a fine of 
not more than $1,000, or both such fine and 
imprisonment. The measure states that it is a 
crime to fail to control an animal at the time 
a legal process is being served. 
 
HB 1152 (Osburn/Garvin) removes the 
requirement to possess a minimum level of 
court reporting proficiency for applicants 
seeking to be examined for enrollment as a 
certified shorthand reporter. 
 
HB 1632 (David Hardin/Weaver) modifies 
the writ of execution form used in actions of 
forcible entry and detainer by providing that 
physical possession of the property is to be 
restored to the plaintiff. 
 
HB 1776 (Conley/Weaver) provides that an 
attorney employed by the Oklahoma State 
Bureau of Investigation may enter an 
appearance in court if requested to do so by 
another prosecuting authority as it relates to 
quashing subpoenas, other discovery 
matters, expungement applications, 
evidentiary hearings, and forfeiture 
proceedings. The measure also expands the 
requirement for a person convicted of a drug 
crime to provide a blood or saliva sample to 
law enforcement to include any person 
convicted under the provisions of the 
Uniform Controlled Dangerous Substances 
Act. 
 
HB 1799 (Miller/Rosino) modifies the 
process for expunging a juvenile court 
record. The petition for expungement may 
be filed orally or as a written petition and 
must be presented at the time the case is 

before the court for a final review or any 
time after an informal adjustment agreement 
has been successfully completed and the 
court dismissed the case or is closing it due 
to a lack of jurisdiction or the child reaching 
the age of 18 or 19 years of age if 
jurisdiction of the court was previously 
extended. A person who reaches the age of 
18 can file for their own expungement 
provided they meet all the requirements. A 
written petition for the expungement of the 
juvenile court records must be allowed if the 
state objected to oral written or written 
petition. If expungement is granted, the 
measure provides that an attorney will 
prepare a written order of expungement and 
send it to all relevant parties. Landlords shall 
not require an applicant to disclose any 
information contained in any expunged 
juvenile court records. 
 
HB 1980 (Lepak/Daniels) directs the 
Judicial Nominating Commission to 
promulgate rules to promote transparency in 
the Judicial Nominating Commission’s 
selection process. The rules must be 
published on the Commission’s website. 
 
HB 2229 (Moore/Howard) creates the 
Uniform Interstate Depositions and 
Discovery Act. The measure creates uniform 
procedures for the issuance of subpoenas. 
 
HB 2548 (Stinson/Howard) creates the 
Uniform Power of Attorney Act. The model 
legislation adopted in approximately 30 
states brings uniformity to the power of 
attorney in the various states in probate 
procedures. The measure provides 
definitions and procedures used in the act 
regarding the use of power of attorney. The 
measure also repeals various existing 
Oklahoma statutes regarding power of 
attorney that are now addressed in the 
measure. 
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HB 2746 (Ford/Newhouse) exempts 
municipal or state law enforcement officers 
employed in a county with a population of 
more than 255,000 and federal law 
enforcement officers from jury duty. The 
measure provides that municipal or state law 
enforcement officers in counties with a 
population of less than 255,000 may serve 
on noncriminal actions only. 
 
HB 2913 (Wallace/Thompson) provides that 
the Administrative Director of the Courts is 
responsible for and has control over matters 
concerning the budget, personnel, 
technology, purchases and other 
administrative operations over all courts of 
this state, including the Court of Civil 
Appeals and the Court of Criminal Appeals, 
and performing such additional duties as 
may be assigned by the Chief Justice. 

Judiciary Funding 
 
SB 343 (Paxton/Boles) clarifies the 
authority of courts to collect court fines and 
fees through tax warrant intercepts. 
 
HB 2689 (Hasenbeck/Taylor) provides that 
on October 1, 2021, each court reporter shall 
receive a one-time stipend of $1,250.00. 
 
HB 2869 (Wallace/Howard) provides a 
salary increase to members of the Judiciary. 
 
HB 2889 (Wallace/Thompson) appropriates 
$7,500,000 from the General Revenue 
Cashflow Reserve Fund to the Supreme 
Court for the support of the District Courts. 
 
HB 2912 (Wallace/Thompson) extends the 
apportionment of $10 collected from district 
court civil case filings to the Court Clerk’s 
Records Management and Preservation Fund 
until 2027. 
 

Agency FY21 
Appropriation 

FY22 
Appropriation 

Change 
from 

Original 

District 
Courts $75,480,361 $68,241,076 -9.59% 

District 
Attorneys 

and District 
Attorney 
Council 

$56,642,149 $58,779,782 3.77% 

Supreme 
Court $16,212,078 $16,223,855 0.07% 

Oklahoma 
Indigent 
Defense 
System 

$17,508,363 $20,537,878 17.30% 
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Professions & Occupations 
 
SB 49 (Floyd/Osburn) increases the initial 
application fee for a chiropractic license 
from $175.00 to $300.00 and removes the 
examination fee of $175. The measure also 
lowers the fee for an original license by 
relocation of practice from $350 to $300. 
Additionally, the measure allows applicants 
to take an examination given by the National 
Board of Chiropractic Examiners. 
 
SB 100 (Stanley/Davis) modifies 
requirements for applicants to take the 
licensing examination administered by the 
Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners. The 
measure specifies applicants may fill out an 
electronic application online and removes 
the requirement for applicants to be free 
from contagious or infectious diseases. The 
measure also changes the requirement for 
applicants to demonstrate loyalty to the 
United States and states that such persons 
must instead legally reside in the United 
States. 
 

SB 270 (Murdock/Hasenbeck) modifies 
various provisions relating to veterinarians. 
The measure defines telemedicine and 
provides for veterinarians and clients to 
interact in real-time via digital means. The 
measure also creates the Probable Cause 
Committee, which shall consist members 
from the State Board of Veterinary Medical 
Examiners as outlined in the measure. The 
newly created Committee shall negotiate 
and settle disputes. The measure also 
extends the prohibition on the Veterinary 
Center from entering into any program 
agreements from 2018 to 2025. The measure 
also creates a new duty for the State Board 
to grant scholarships to an individual 
advancing toward obtaining a degree in 
veterinary medicine from an Oklahoma 
higher education institution. The State Board 
is authorized by the measure to contract with 
third-party entities as necessary to carry out 
this new duty. Additionally, the measure 
provides for any member of the military or 
their spouse licensed in another recognized 
jurisdiction but residing in the state to 
submit a completed application for licensure 
or registration in Oklahoma. 
 
SB 317 (Daniels/Sims) defines “student 
electrical intern” and “listed electrical 
apprentice” within the Electrical License 
Act. The measure directs the Construction 
Industries Board to issue a license as a listed 
electrical apprentice to any person who has 
been certified by the Committee of 
Electrical Examiners as having 10,000 hours 
of experience or more as an electrical 
apprentice. Associated fees for the license 
are set at the same rate as the registration for 
electrical apprentices. The fee for an 
electrical intern registration is set at half the 
amount of the fee for the registration of 
electrical apprentices. The measure also 
prohibits electrical apprentices from 
supervising the work of a registered 
electrical intern. Only one intern may work 
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on a job site under a single journeyman or 
electrical contractor; however, the intern 
shall not be counted against the maximum 
number of apprentices who are allowed to 
work under a journeyman. Up to 2 electrical 
apprentices may work on a job site under a 
single journeyman or electrical contractor. 
 
SB 408 (Garvin/Miller) defines 
“teledentistry” as the remote delivery of 
dental patient care via telecommunications 
and other technology for the exchange of 
clinical information and images for dental 
consultation, preliminary treatment planning 
and patient monitoring. The measure also 
adds the Commission on Dental 
Competency Assessments to the list of 
entities the Oklahoma Board of Dentistry 
may accept examinations from and provides 
that the Board may make allowances in 
requirements of all candidates for licensure 
and issue temporary licenses for extended 
periods of time or as needed if government 
officials declared a health pandemic through 
a resolution. The resolution shall have a 
beginning and an end date and shall 
automatically expire no less than 30 days 
after the end of the disaster is declared by 
governmental officials. The measure 
modifies the continuing education hours 
required for oral maxillofacial surgery 
assistants from 12 hours to 8 hours of 
continuing education and requires such 
courses to be taken every 2 years instead of 
every 3 years. Publishing papers, presenting 
clinics, and lecturing shall also qualify as 6 
credited hours. The measure provides that 
Residents and Fellows with a valid permit 
may supervise student dental clinics under 
the authority of the Dean or Associate Dean 
of the University of Oklahoma College of 
Dentistry. The measure adds the practices of 
dental anesthesiology, oral medicine, and 
orofacial pain as specialties that may be 
licensed by the Board. The measure 
consolidates the unprofessional conduct 

sections for dental hygienists. SB 408 
requires the patient record to include 
documentation of any medications 
prescribed, administered, or dispensed to the 
patient. Additionally, the measure 
establishes the required content of 
continuing education courses provided to 
dentists and dental hygienists and provides 
for such courses to be taken online. The 
measure also extends the period a laboratory 
prescription may remain active from 3 years 
to 7 years and authorizes dentists to refer 
patients to a lab in order for the patient to 
select the shading or matching shades of a 
prosthetic device being prepared for the 
dentist to deliver to the patient. 
 
SB 654 (Standridge/Chad Caldwell) creates 
a $25.00 annual renewal license fee for 
resident care homes to replace the current 
two-year renewal license fee of $50.00. 
Renewal licenses may be issued for a period 
24-36 months for the license period 
immediately following November 1, 2021. 
The measure also extends the maximum 
licensure period for adult day care centers to 
36 months. The measure also establishes a 
$10.00 renewal fee per bed for a continuum 
of care facility or assisted living center. This 
renewal license shall expire 3 years from the 
date of issuance. The initial license shall 
expire 180 days from the date of issuance.  
 
SB 748 (Jech/Martinez) provides for the 
reports, proceedings, and other records 
submitted to or generated by any peer 
review committee or peer reviewer to be 
privileged and not subject to discovery, 
subpoena, or other means of legal 
compulsion for their release. The design 
professional who retains or employs the peer 
reviewer or peer review committee is the 
holder of the privilege. A peer review 
committee or peer reviewer may report to 
and discuss activities, information, and 
findings with other peer review committees 
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or peer reviewers or the design professional 
who retains or employs such reviewers. The 
members of a peer review committee are 
also exempt from any civil liability for 
reporting activities and findings to another 
reviewer or committee. 
 
SB 850 (Dahm/Stark) authorizes licensees in 
the fields of cosmetology and barbering to 
provide services to customers in the 
customer’s home. Such services shall not be 
subject to inspection or rules promulgated 
by the State Board of Cosmetology and 
Barbering. Customers shall assume the 
liability for the services and any home 
equipment utilized by the licensee or 
certificate holder and may review the 
person’s license or certificate for validity 
and authority to perform the services 
requested. 
 
HB 1102 (Olsen/Daniels) modifies the 
categories of “unprofessional conduct” to 
include the performance of an abortion 
unless the procedure is performed to prevent 
the death or significant physical impairment 
of the mother. An abortion may not be 
performed based solely on the mental or 
emotional health of the mother, 
notwithstanding a claim or diagnosis that the 
woman may engage in conduct which she 
intends to result in her death. The State 
Board of Health shall impose penalties on 
persons violating the provisions of this 
measure which may include suspension of 
the license for a period of not less than 1 
year. The measure also directs the Attorney 
General to calculate costs paid for by the 
state or local entities in court challenges to 
this act. The office of the Attorney General 
is also required to report such amounts for 
each calendar quarter to all members of the 
Legislature. 
 
HB 1147 (Osburn/Pugh) redesignates the 
State Architectural and Registered Interior 

Designers Act as the State Architectural and 
Registered Commercial Interior Designers 
Act and designates interior designers as 
commercial interior designers. The measure 
adds definitions for commercial interior 
designer, nonstructural commercial interior 
construction, and fire and life safety 
systems. Additionally, the measure requires 
each registered commercial interior possess 
a seal showing certain information outlined 
in the measure. All technical submissions 
prepared by such registered commercial 
interior designer, or under the responsible 
control of the registered commercial interior 
designer, shall be sealed, signed and dated. 
The measure prohibits a registered 
commercial interior designer from accepting 
or receiving compensation from an 
individual other than their client in 
connection with reparation or construction 
of a building interior in which they are 
employed and from bidding or holding 
interest in an entity bidding for a contract for 
reparation or erection of a structure for 
which they have prepared plans or 
specifications, unless the contract is a 
design/build contract. 
 
HB 1148 (Osburn/Rosino) provides that 
only a real estate licensee may market for 
sale an equitable interest in a contract for the 
purchase of real property between the 
property owner and a prospective purchaser. 
 
HB 1150 (Osburn/Rogers) gives the 
Construction Industries Board rulemaking 
authority to implement the provisions of the 
Plumbing License Law of 1955, including 
categories and limitations for licensure. 
 
HB 1742 (Dills/Newhouse) adds a definition 
for alkaline hydrolysis as it relates to 
cremation as well as defines crematory as a 
structure containing a furnace or alkaline 
hydrolysis vessel. The measure eliminates 
the $25.00 fee for funeral directors applying 
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for a license after failing to renew said 
license within a 3-year period. 
 
HB 1817 (Dempsey/Rader) 7 exempts 
501(c)(3) organizations that meet certain 
conditions from the provisions of the 
Oklahoma Secure and Fair Enforcement for 
Mortgage Licensing Act. 
 
HB 1934 (Martinez/Paxton) provides that 
any provision in a design professional 
services agreement which requires an entity 
or its insurer to indemnify or otherwise hold 
harmless another entity against liability 
arising from death or bodily injury, or 
damage to property, due to negligence or 
fault of the entity or its agents is void and 
unenforceable. 
 
HB 2072 (McCall/Bullard) authorizes the 
Oklahoma Funeral Board to issue a 
temporary funeral director or embalmer 
license in the event a statewide emergency is 
declared by the Governor. The authorization 
ends 1 year from the effective date of the 
act. 
 
HB 2680 (Marti/Rosino) specifies that the 
practice of optometry shall include the 
dispensing of medications to treat ocular 
abnormalities. 
 
HB 2741 (Ford/Howard) allows a tow 
operator or wrecker yard operator to release 
a motor vehicle to a legal representative or 
an immediate family member who is within 
the first or second degree of consanguinity 
or affinity if the owner of the vehicle is dead 
or incapacitated. The measure increases the 
license application fee for a wrecker license 
from $100.00 to $500.00. The measure 
apportions $90.00 to the General Revenue 
Fund and $410.00 to the Department of 
Public Safety Restricted Revolving Fund to 
administer the Wrecker Services Division 
and modernize computer programs. The 

measure increases the wrecker license 
renewal fee from $50.00 to $250.00 and 
apportions $200.00 to the Department of 
Public Safety Restricted Revolving Fund to 
administer the Wrecker Services Division 
and modernize computer programs. The 
measure removes a requirement that the 
Tow Request and Authorization Form be 
completed in quadruplicate. Allows the 
Department to notify the owner of a towed 
vehicle the vehicles location by first-class 
mail. The measure allows for the release of 
personal property in a towed vehicle when 
the registered owner or representative of the 
owner provides proof of identity. 
 
HB 2770 (Randleman/Standridge) modifies 
the court in which appeals, or legal actions 
are brought as it relates to the Psychology 
Interjurisdictional Compact. The court is 
changed from the U.S. District court for the 
state of Oklahoma to the U.S. District court 
for the state of Georgia. 
 
HB 2873 (Wallace/Leewright) creates the 
Universal Licensing Recognition Act. The 
measure provides that a person moving to 
Oklahoma would be able to apply for 
licensing or certification for an occupation 
with a similar scope of practice, and the 
applicant supplies verifiable proof of 
physical residency in the state or is married 
to and accompanying an active-duty 
member of the Armed Forces to an official 
permanent change of station to a military 
installation located in the state. The 
Oklahoma regulatory entity would apply all 
similar and verifiable work experience in the 
manner most favorable to the applicant. 
Certain examination requirements and fees 
would still apply to the applicant. The 
applicant must also demonstrate that they 
are free of any complaint, investigation, 
suspension, revocation or discipline by any 
other regulatory entity or jurisdiction for 
unprofessional conduct. 
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Public Safety  
 
SB 3 (Bullard/Humphrey) authorizes 
sheriffs and peace officers to utilize 
telemedicine to assess a person whom the 
officer reasonably believes needs treatment 
by a mental health professional. 
Additionally, the measure requires officers 
to transport such individuals in need of 
treatment or subject to an emergency 
detention or protective custody order to the 
nearest facility within a 30- mile radius. The 
law enforcement agency that transported 
such an individual to an urgent recovery 
clinic shall be responsible for any 
subsequent transportation of such individual 
pending completion of the initial 
assessment, emergency detention, protective 
custody, or inpatient services. If no such 
facility is available, transportation to a 
facility shall be completed by either the 
Department of Mental Health and Substance 
Abuse Services or an entity contracted by 
the Department for alternative 
transportation. 
 
SB 10 (Taylor/Dick Lowe) eliminates the 
November 1, 2022, sunset date as it relates 
to the $10.00 fine applied to persons 
convicted of a speeding violation 1-10 miles 
per hour over the speeding limit. 
 
SB 17 (Floyd/Bush) specifies that an officer 
conducting a lethality assessment on a 
potential domestic abuse victim must 
implement the protocol referral process to a 
domestic violence advocate from a certified 
or tribal program in a manner outlined in the 
measure. Regardless of the results of the 
lethality assessment, referral information for 
shelters, domestic violence programs and 
other social services must be provided to the 
victim. 
 
SB 87 (Haste/Bush) authorizes persons in 
possession of a controlled dangerous 

substance who appear to be in need of help 
to, in lieu of arrest, be taken to an approved 
drug treatment center or approved center for 
substance abuse evaluation by a law 
enforcement officer. Such centers shall be 
subject to the appropriate county, municipal, 
or tribal authority. The Department of 
Mental Health and Substance Abuse 
Services may approve or disapprove 
individual treatment centers. Additionally, 
the treatment center must receive annual 
approval from the county’s district attorney. 
 
SB 94 (Hall/Mize) adds the President of the 
Association of Oklahoma Narcotic 
Enforcers and the Executive Director of the 
State Board of Pharmacy or their designees 
as members to the Opioid Overdose Fatality 
Review Board. 
 
SB 106 (Allen/ODonnell) modifies various 
provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense 
Act. The measure defines completed 
application to mean all fields are completed, 
questions answered and contains all required 
signatures on the Application for Self-
Defense Act License and all required 
documents. The 90-day renewal grace 
period provided to license holders is 
removed from the Act and requires renewal 
applications to be denied if a current license 
is pending suspension or revocation or has 
been suspended or revoked. Additionally, 
the measure removes the preclusive period 
for holders that have 2 or more convictions 
of public intoxication provided the holder 
has a certified statement from a licensed 
physician stating that the person is not in 
need of substance abuse treatment. The 
measure establishes a preclusive period of 5 
years for persons whose license was 
suspended or revoked. The measure requires 
the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation 
to utilize the Immigration Alien Query 
database for non-United States citizens in 
the course of its background check and 
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authorizes the Oklahoma State Bureau of 
Investigation OSBI to conduct a National 
Instant Criminal Background Check (NICS) 
as part of the license background check. 
 
SB 172 (Rosino/Walke) directs the 
Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation 
(OSBI) to coordinate with the United States 
Attorney’s Office and the United States 
Department of Justice to obtain federal 
funding no later than January 1, 2022, for 
the purpose of gathering data to address the 
issue of missing and murdered indigenous 
persons. The measure creates the Office of 
Liaison for Missing and Murdered 
Indigenous Persons under the OSBI. The 
newly created Office shall work with tribal, 
state, and federal authorities on missing 
persons and homicide cases, provide 
guidance to victims’ families, facilitate 
training and promote best practices, and 
consult with community organizations to 
promote community relations. 
 
SB 242 (Thompson/Dustin Roberts) 
modifies the membership of the Council on 
Law Enforcement and Education Training 
(CLEET) by requiring the appointee from 
the Oklahoma Department of Career and 
Technology to have experience in the 
creation and review of curriculum as well as 
experience in teaching criminal justice or 
law enforcement courses. The measure 
further requires CLEET’s application form 
to not exceed 20 pages. 
 
SB 272 (Weaver/Worthen) creates the 
Kelsey Smith Act. The measure authorizes a 
law enforcement agency, as defined in the 
measure, to request and receive the call 
location of a user’s communication device 
from a telecommunication company in order 
to respond to a call for emergency services 
or in an emergency situation that involves 
risk of death or serious physical harm. The 
measure requires notice to be provided to 

the user whose information was provided to 
law enforcement 30 days after the call for 
emergency services or the emergency 
situation. Every telecommunication 
company registered to do business in the 
state must annually submit emergency 
contact information to the Oklahoma State 
Bureau of Investigation (OSBI) to facilitate 
requests from a law enforcement agency. 
Carriers are not required to submit 
emergency contact information for 
individual.  
 
SB 283 (Brooks/Ford) requires persons 
convicted of giving alcohol to a minor to 
attend a victims impact panel program in 
addition to other fines levied for such 
violations. 
 
SB 304 (Jech/Gann) amends the judgment 
and sentence form used to transfer a prisoner 
to the custody of the Department of 
Corrections. The measure clarifies the role 
of jail trust administrators as it relates to 
such transfers. 
 
SB 312 (Burn/Dempsey) provides for 
persons convicted of identity theft from a 
victim less than 18 years of age shall be 
guilty of a felony and face a term of 
imprisonment of not less than 2 years and 
not more than 10 years as well as a fine of 
not more than $100,000.00. 
 
SB 319 (Standridge/Pae) exempts research 
institutions conducting a scientific study on 
tobacco use and cessation from the 
provisions prohibiting the distribution of 
tobacco products to persons under 21 years 
of age. 
 
SB 320 (Garvin/McEntire) provides for the 
“medically frail” and “medically vulnerable” 
as defined in the measure to receive 
consideration in compassionate parole 
proceedings. The measure defines medically 
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frail as it relates to medical parole to mean 
an individual with a medical condition 
which precludes the individual from 
performing 2 or more activities of daily 
living on their own. The measure also 
defines medically vulnerable as an 
individual with 1 or more medical 
conditions which makes the individual more 
likely to contract an illness or disease while 
incarcerated that could lead to death or 
cause an individual to become medically 
frail. The measure specifies the medical 
conditions that place an individual in the 
medically vulnerable category. The measure 
also requires victim notification to be 
provided. 
 
SB 348 (Paxton/Worthen) creates a statute 
of limitations for first- and second-degree 
manslaughter. The statute of limitations is 
set at 10 years after the crime is reported to a 
law enforcement agency. 
 
SB 361 (David/Wallace) allows immediate 
family members to participate in peer 
support counseling sessions provided to 
emergency and public safety personnel and 
provides for said participation to be kept 
confidential. 
 
SB 365 (David/Steagall) creates the 
Oklahoma Distinguished Meritorious 
Service Medal for extended exemplary 
service to the state and provides for the 
award to be granted posthumously. 
 
SB 367 (David/Kannady) authorizes 
Intermediate Emergency Medical 
Technicians, Advanced Emergency Medical 
Technicians, or paramedics to withdraw 
blood for the purpose of testing a person’s 
blood alcohol content. The measure also 
removes tests involving a person’s breath, 
saliva, or urine from the list of tests whose 
costs are borne by law enforcement. 
Additionally, the measure outlines standards 

for any breathalyzer test to be considered 
admissible as evidence in court proceedings. 
Such tests must use a device that is 
accredited by the U.S. Department of 
Transportation in the Federal Register and 
calibrated by a device from a list of 
approved devices published by the U.S. 
Department of Transportation. The test must 
also be administered by a person properly 
licensed by the Board of Tests for Alcohol 
and Drug Influence. The FS provides that 
analysis of a person’s blood to be considered 
valid and admissible in evidence must be 
performed by a properly accredited 
laboratory. 
 
SB 371 (David/O’Donnell) creates the 
Unified State Law Enforcement 
Commission. The Commission is tasked 
with studying and evaluating the feasibility 
of unifying the Oklahoma State Bureau of 
Investigation, the Oklahoma Bureau of 
Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs, and the 
Department of Public Safety into a single 
law enforcement agency. The Commission 
is also directed to submit its findings to the 
Governor, President Pro Tempore of the 
Senate, Speaker of the House, and minority 
leaders of the Senate and House no later 
than December 1, 2021. The Commission 
will be comprised of 10 members. Members 
will not receive compensation but shall be 
eligible to receive travel reimbursements. 
Members are directed to meet at least once a 
month. 
 
SB 403 (Stanley/Manger) modifies 
provisions of law barring any person from 
interfering with or disrupting business. The 
measure adds political subdivisions and 
clarifies that disrupting business shall 
include publicly posted meetings. 
 
SB 456 (Coleman/Mize) adds inmates 
convicted on counts relating to child abuse 
or neglect as well as inmates convicted of 
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exploitation of a vulnerable adult to the list 
of persons deemed ineligible to be placed in 
the Electronic Monitoring Program. 
 
SB 631 (Hamilton/Sean Roberts) creates the 
Second Amendment Sanctuary State Act. 
The measure occupies and preempts the 
entire field of legislation by any agency of 
this state or political subdivision in this state 
to infringe upon the rights of a citizen of the 
State of Oklahoma the unalienable right to 
keep and bear arms. The preemption shall 
include the provisions of the National 
Firearms Act of 1934 and the Gun Control 
Act of 1968. 
 
SB 646 (Bergstrom/Steagall) authorizes 
employees and owners of an establishment 
serving alcohol to carry a firearm. The 
employee must receive permission from the 
owner to carry a firearm. Additionally, the 
measure caps the fine for persons convicted 
of violating the prohibition on carrying 
firearms in a bar, refusing to leave an 
establishment, or refusing to leave the bar at 
$250.00. 
 
SB 672 (Murdock/Patzkowsky) clarifies that 
a person who is member or veteran of the 
United States Armed Forces, Reserves or 
National Guard or was discharged under 
honorable conditions from the United States 
Armed Forces, Reserves, or National Guard 
between the ages of 18 to 21 to transport a 
firearm on a public highway in his or her 
vehicle. The measure also clarifies that any 
person between the ages of 18 to 20 may 
transport an unloaded firearm on a public 
highway in or on his or her vehicle. 
 
SB 801 (Weaver/Kevin West) requires 
supervising agencies or contracted providers 
as it relates to community sentencing to file 
a statement with the court defining the 
provision which has been successfully 

completed instead of the administrator of the 
local system. 
 
SB 848 (David/Wallace) direct the 
Department of Mental Health and Substance 
Abuse Services to contract with public and 
private entities to provide peer support crisis 
intervention, counseling, and wellness for 
the law enforcement, firefighter, emergency 
medical, and corrections communities 
impacted by trauma, anxiety, or addiction. 
Such entities must be qualified shall be 
required to be derived from the International 
Critical Incident Stress Foundation (ICISF) 
and shall employ the Critical Incident Stress 
Management (CISM) crisis intervention 
process. The measure outlines the content of 
the training that must be provided. 
 
SB 889 (Weaver/Josh West) modifies 
retirement disbursement language to comply 
with recent revisions to the Internal Revenue 
Service and Treasury Regulations. 
 
SB 926 (Jett/Eric Roberts) authorizes 
municipalities to issue citations for 
discharging an air powered pistol or rifle 
when the projectile leaves the premises in an 
intentional or negligent manner to the 
individual or guardian of the individual who 
discharged the air powered pistol or rifle. 
 
SB 980 (Weaver/Worthen) adds the offenses 
of child sexual exploitation or permitting 
child sexual exploitation and soliciting 
sexual conduct or communication with a 
minor by use of technology to the list of 
crimes allowing the court to authorize wire 
the interception of wire, oral, or electronic 
communications by law enforcement. 
 
HB 1023 (Worthen/Weaver) provides that 
any contraband item seized in a prison by 
any agency may be forfeited by said agency 
and sold in the manner governing the sale of 
seized property by a peace officer.  
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HB 1026 (Worthen/Montgomery) provides 
that the Council on Law Enforcement 
Education and Training may establish and 
certify additional law enforcement and 
criminal justice programs at institutions 
operating under the State Board of Career 
and Technology Education for teaching 
students between 16 and 19 years of age. 
The tuition or fees for law enforcement and 
criminal justice-related programs shall be 
similar in cost as other vocational and 
technical education courses and subjects 
offered at technology center schools. 
 
HB 1029 (Kerbs/Weaver) expands the 
category of “security guard” to include 
active reserve certified peace officers as it 
relates to the Oklahoma Security Guard and 
Private Investigator Act. 
 
HB 1095 (Strom/Daniels) allows the court 
to prohibit a defendant from entering, 
visiting or residing within the judicial 
district in which the defendant was 
convicted until after completion of his or her 
sentence. The court must ensure the 
defendant has access to services or programs 
which the defendant is required to 
participate as a condition of probation. The 
measure provides that when seeking to enter 
the prohibited judicial district for personal 
business not related to his or her criminal 
case, the defendant shall be required to 
obtain approval by the court. 
 
HB 1135 (Fetgatter/Taylor) modifies 
provides that a peace officer, government 
employee engaged in the performance of 
their duties, firefighters, emergency medical 
personnel, or public utility employees 
engaged in addressing an emergency, and 
parties engaged in oil and gas operations 
may enter garden, yard, pasture, or field of a 
landowner without their express permission. 
The measure also permits railroad 

employees and emergency equipment from 
entering such land to restore rail service, the 
entrance of utility employees or contractors 
while acting in the scope of their 
employment, and employees or contractors 
of valid easement or license holders while 
acting in the scope of their employment to 
enter the land. The measure also provides 
for several persons of certain occupations to 
enter the land of the owner unless expressly 
prohibited from doing so. The measure 
provides that a person convicted of entering 
another’s land to commit waste, theft, or 
damage shall be guilty of a misdemeanor 
punishable by imprisonment in the county 
jail for a term of not less than 30 days and 
not more than 6 months as well as a fine of 
not less than $50.00 and not more than 
$500.00. 
 
HB 1246 (McCall/Treat) would allow an 
individual’s Social Security number to be 
sufficient documentation when securing a 
prescription that requires state-issued 
identification, if the individual’s state-issued 
identification card has been expired for less 
than 1 year and they have no other form of 
identification that complies with the 
requirements. 
 
HB 1567 (Boatman/Weaver) provides that 
possessing 28 grams or more of heroin shall 
constitute aggravated trafficking. 
Additionally, persons found to traffic at least 
1 gram of Lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD) 
or Phencyclidine (PCP) shall be subject to a 
maximum term of imprisonment of 20 years 
and imposes a minimum of 2 years and 
maximum of life in prison for persons 
trafficking more than 10 grams of LSD or 
PCP. Persons found to have trafficked 1 
gram of fentanyl shall be subject to a 
maximum term of imprisonment of 20 years 
and a fine of not less than $100,000.00 and 
not more than $250,000.00. Persons found 
to have trafficked 5 grams of fentanyl shall 
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be subject to a minimum term of 2 years and 
a maximum term of imprisonment for life 
and a fine of not less than $250,000.00 and 
not more than $500,000.00. 
 
HB 1630 (David Hardin/Pemberton) amends 
various sections of the Oklahoma Self-
Defense Act. The measure provides that 
renewal applications are to be denied if the 
current license is subject to suspension or 
revocation or if the license has previously 
been suspended or revoked by the Bureau 
and removes the ability of the Bureau to 
examine medical or other records during a 
renewal application. Additionally, a person 
who has been precluded from obtaining a 
carry license due to convictions for public 
intoxication may obtain a certified statement 
from a licensed physician stating that the 
person is not in need of substance abuse 
treatment to remove the preclusion. A 5-year 
preclusion period is also created if a 
previously issued handgun license has been 
revoked. The measure requires the OSBI to 
conduct a search of the Immigration Alien 
Query for non-United States citizens as part 
of its background check and requires 
applicants to include a declaration of 
citizenship or admission number for a non-
United-States citizen. The measure requires 
the applicant to acknowledge that the 
applicant has reviewed the Federal Bureau 
of Investigation Privacy Act Statement. The 
measure requires that the license card 
contain the date of issuance of the handgun 
license. 
 
HB 1643 (Humphrey/Bullard) prohibits any 
individual from publishing identifying 
information of a law enforcement officer 
with the intent to threaten, intimidate, 
harass, or stalk law enforcement officials. 
Individuals convicted of violating the 
provisions of this measure are subject to a 
misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months 
in the county jail, a fine of up to $1,000.00 

or both fine and imprisonment. Punishment 
for a second or subsequent offense is up to 1 
year in the county jail, a fine of up to 
$2,000.00 or both fine and imprisonment. 
The measure allows elected county officials 
and peace officers to request that the county 
assessor not make information available on 
the internet. 
 
HB 1651 (Humphrey/Bullard) repeals the 
requirement for persons convicted after 
November 1, 2012, to be subject to post-
imprisonment supervision for a period of not 
less than 9 months nor more than 1 year 
following confinement of the person. 
 
HB 1674 (Kevin West/Standridge) provides 
that any person who unlawfully obstructs the 
normal use of any public street, highway, or 
road within by restraining motor vehicle 
traffic, by approaching motor vehicles, or by 
endangering the safe movement of motor 
vehicles or pedestrians are guilty of a 
misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in 
the county jail, a fine on not less than 
$100.00 nor more than $5,000.00, or both 
such fine and imprisonment. Additionally, 
the person is liable for all damages to person 
or property. The measure provides that a 
motor vehicle operator who unintentionally 
causes injury or death while fleeing a riot is 
not to be held criminally or civilly liable. 
The measure provides that if an organization 
is found to be a conspirator with persons 
committing riot related crimes, the 
organization may be punished by a fine that 
is ten times the amount of said fine 
authorized by the appropriate provision. 
 
HB 1679 (Stark/Weaver) creates the Sarah 
Stitt Act. The measure directs the 
Department Corrections to provide inmates 
released from its custody with relevant 
documentation to assist the inmate in 
obtaining post-release employment and to 
coordinate with the Department of Public 
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Safety to provide a REAL ID Noncompliant 
Identification Card if the inmate does not 
have a current state-issued identification 
card or driver license. The measure provides 
that if no other form of identification is 
available, the Department of Public Safety 
shall allow the use of a Department of 
Corrections consolidated record cards to 
serve as a valid identification document to 
obtain a REAL ID Noncompliant 
Identification Card. REAL ID Noncompliant 
Identification Cards issued with a 
consolidated record card from the 
Department of Corrections for inmates shall 
be valid for a period of 4 years from the 
month of issuance. The fee charged for the 
issuance or replacement of a REAL ID 
Noncompliant Identification Card shall be 
deposited in the Department of Public Safety 
Revolving Fund. 
 
HB 1684 (Grego/Coleman) allows a peace 
officer to file a report with the district 
attorney to see if an arrest is warranted as it 
relates to investigations involving certain 
gambling offenses. 
 
HB 1753 (CrosswhiteHader/Haste) removes 
the requirement for the Carl Albert Mental 
Health and Substance Abuse Services 
Center to provide a psychiatrist to the 
Department of Corrections. 
 
HB 1759 (Ranson/Taylor) prohibits the use 
of malicious computer programs on a 
computer or computer network as defined in 
the measure and provides that is it unlawful 
to willfully solicit another of any acts 
prohibited by the Oklahoma Computer 
Crimes Act. 
 
HB 1770 (Dobrinski/Weaver) provides that 
it shall be unlawful for any person to 
maliciously throw an object at or in the 
direction of any person riding a bicycle, 
equine, or animal drawn vehicle. Persons 

convicted of violating this provision shall be 
subject to a term of imprisonment not more 
than 1 year and/or a fine of $500.00. 
Additionally, no driver of any vehicle shall 
use a horn when passing a person riding a 
bicycle, equine or animal-drawn vehicle 
under normal conditions if no imminent 
danger of a collision exists. The measure 
also provides that bicyclists may extend 
their arm horizontally to the right to signal a 
right turn and may extend their right hand 
and arm downward to their right side to 
signal a stop or decrease in speed. 
 
HB 1777 (Conley/Weaver) requires 
toxicology laboratories collecting and 
analyzing blood, breath, saliva, or urine for 
law enforcement to be accredited by the 
American Board of Forensic Toxicology or 
by an accrediting body with an independent 
system based upon ISO/IEC 17025 
standards. 
 
HB 1880 (Tammy West/Jech) authorizes 
district attorneys to create restorative justice 
programs for nonviolent offenders who 
qualify for a deferred prosecution 
agreement. The measure authorizes the 
District Attorneys Council to develop and 
administer a 5-year restorative justice pilot 
program utilizing citizen-led mediation 
panels. The measure defines the term 
“restorative justice” as an alternative means 
to the traditional criminal justice model for 
qualifying nonviolent offenses. The measure 
provides that the pilot program is to expire 
November 1, 2026. 
 
HB 1892 (Boatman/Weaver) creates the 
Advisory Task Force on Prevention of 
Human Trafficking and Child Exploitation. 
The Task Force shall be comprised of 13 
members and is directed to study human 
trafficking, prostitution, and child 
exploitation in the state. The Task Force is 
directed to create and provide a report of 
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such studies to the President Pro Tempore of 
the State Senate, the Speaker of the House, 
and the Governor by February 1, 2022. A 
Senate member of the Task Force is required 
to call the first meeting to order by 
September 1, 2021. Staff of the Oklahoma 
State Senate and Oklahoma House of 
Representatives shall jointly assist in 
staffing the Advisory Task Force. 
 
HB 1948 (Cruz/Floyd) broadens the term 
family or household members as it relates to 
the Protection from Domestic Abuse Act 
and in the Domestic Abuse Reporting Act to 
include persons otherwise related by blood 
or marriage. 
 
HB 1967 (Nollan/Pemberton) requires 
school bus drivers to report a violation of 
passing a loading or unloading school bus 
on or before the end of the next business day 
following the alleged offense instead of 
within 24 hours of the alleged offense. 
 
HB 2053 (McCall/Standridge) requires law 
enforcement officers issuing a citation for 
unsafe tire tread depth to include the tread 
depth of the offending tire on the citation. 
 
HB 2054 (McCall/Standridge) authorizes 
motorists to drive in the left lane while not 
attempting to pass another motorist if the 
left lane is on a county road and if the 
roadway is not part of the Interstate or 
turnpike system. 
 
HB 2056 (McCall/Rader) provides that 
when there is an active lien from a 
commercial lender in place on a vehicle, 
motor license agents shall be prohibited 
from transferring the certificate of title on 
that vehicle until the lien is satisfied. 
 
HB 2095 (Lepak/Daniels) modifies 
racketeering as relates to the Oklahoma 
Racketeer-Influenced and Corrupt 

Organizations Act to include unlawful 
assemblies. 
 
HB 2236 (May/Weaver) creates a new 
felony for failing to report to an employer, 
insurance carrier, or thirdparty administrator 
any earned income while receiving 
temporary total disability benefits. The 
measure also changes the qualification 
requirements for personnel assigned to the 
Workers’ Compensation Fraud Investigation 
Unit by requiring personnel to be certified as 
a peace officer by the Oklahoma Council on 
Law Enforcement Education and Training in 
lieu of a minimum of 3 years of certified law 
enforcement experience. 
 
HB 2275 (Josh West/Pemberton) directs the 
Community Sentencing Division of the 
Department of Corrections to submit 
statistical information relating to community 
sentencing participation by county, the total 
number of qualifying and non-qualifying 
community sentences per month for each 
local community sentencing system, total 
number of community sentences ordered per 
month, program participation, and the 
annual average cost per offender. The 
measure provides that a copy of the report 
must be submitted to the Oklahoma 
Statistical Analysis Center for publication 
on the Oklahoma State Bureau of 
Investigation’s website. 
 
HB 2295 (Dustin Roberts/Leewright) 
provides that a person arrested for the 
violation of a protective order, an act of 
domestic violence, domestic abuse, stalking 
or harassment shall not be eligible for a 
personal recognizance bond. 
 
HB 2316 (Lawson/Rader) modifies the 
competency evaluation process to include 
youthful offenders in addition to 
delinquency. The measure also adds 
language that a copy of the child’s petition 
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or information is presented to the court. The 
measure also modifies who may file a 
motion for determination of competency to 
state that the district attorney or the child’s 
attorney shill file this motion under a 
reasonable basis. At any time prior to or 
during delinquency or youthful offender 
proceedings, the Office of Juvenile Affairs 
may file a Motion to Intervene to raise 
issues of competency. 
 
HB 2515 (Stinson/Daniels) clarifies that 
child abuse and neglect may apply to any 
person responsible for the health of the child 
instead of merely the child’s parents. 
 
HB 2544 (Stinson/Jech) redefines the 
definition of vulnerable adult to remove the 
requirement to have to be in a nursing home. 
 
HB 2546 (Munson/Floyd) creates the 
“Sexual Assault Victims’ Right to 
Information Act. The measure provides that 
a sexual assault victim retains the rights 
provided in the measure regardless of 
whether the victim agrees to participate in 
the criminal justice system at any time and 
regardless of whether the victim agrees to 
receive a medical evidentiary examination to 
collect sexual assault forensic evidence. 
Such rights include the right to 
confidentially consult, either in person 
virtually or telephonically, with a sexual 
assault victims’ advocate before the 
commencement of any medical evidentiary 
or physical examination and the right to 
request and receive the results and status of 
the analysis of the sexual assault forensic 
evidence relating to the victim. Additionally, 
if the victim retains counsel, such counsel 
may be present during all stages of the 
investigation or other interaction with 
representatives from the legal or criminal 
justice systems within the state.  
 

HB 2645 (Echols/Bergstrom) prohibits any 
person from carrying a firearm on property 
set aside by a county, city, town, public trust 
with a county, city or town as a beneficiary, 
or state governmental authority for an event 
that is secured with minimum-security 
provisions. Such events must meet the 
criteria outlined in the measure. A person 
may carry a firearm on such property if the 
property does not meet the minimum-
security provisions outlined in the measure. 
 
HB 2656 (Echols/Taylor) modifies 
definition of marijuana to strike the 
reference to cannabidiol as it relates to a 
federally approved drug or substance. The 
measure provides that any prescription drug 
approved by the federal Food and Drug 
Administration that is designated, 
rescheduled, or deleted as a controlled 
substance under federal law is to be 
excluded from Schedule I and must be 
prescribed, distributed, dispensed, or used in 
accordance with federal law unless the 
Board of Pharmacy acts. If the Board of 
Pharmacy does not act, the drug is deemed 
to be designated, rescheduled, or deleted as 
a controlled substance. 
 
HB 2666 (Echols/Garvin) clarifies the 
definition of rape to include acts within or 
without the bonds of matrimony. 
 
HB 2773 (Pfeiffer/Weaver) requires 
members of the Pardon and Parole Board to 
uphold and promote the independence, 
impartiality, fairness, and integrity of the 
Board and to avoid impropriety or the 
appearance of impropriety. A member of the 
Board who determines that circumstances 
would cause a reasonable person with 
knowledge of all the relevant facts would 
question the board members impartiality the 
board member must disclose any potential 
conflict of interest and withdraw from 
participation in the matter. 
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HB 2774 (Pfeiffer/Bullard) requires all law 
enforcement agencies, sheriffs, jailers, 
prison keepers, and their deputies who have 
custody of a person who is the subject of an 
immigration detainer request to comply with 
any request made in the immigration 
detainer request provided by the federal 
government and to inform persons identified 
in the immigration detainer request that they 
are being held because of the request. If a 
person provides proof of citizenship, 
sheriffs, jailers, and prison keepers are not 
required to hold the person. The measure 
also requires all sheriffs, jailers, prison 
keepers, and their deputies to allow 
reasonable access to their detention facilities 
to the United States Immigration and 
Customs Enforcement for the purpose of 
identifying inmates. 
 
HB 2877 (Wallace/Taylor) authorizes 
sheriffs and peace officers to utilize 
telemedicine to assess a person whom the 
officer reasonably believes needs treatment 
by a mental health professional. 
Additionally, the measure requires officers 
to transport such individuals in need of 
treatment or subject to an emergency 
detention or protective custody order to the 
nearest facility within a 30- mile radius. The 
law enforcement agency that transported 
such an individual to an urgent recovery 
clinic shall be responsible for any 
subsequent transportation of such individual 
pending completion of the initial 
assessment, emergency detention, protective 
custody, or inpatient services. If no such 
facility is available, transportation to a 
facility shall be completed by either the 
Department of Mental Health and Substance 
Abuse Services or an entity contracted by 
the Department for alternative 
transportation. 

Public Safety and Law Enforcement 
Funding 
 
SB 1054 (Thompson/Wallace) directs 
monies from the General Appropriations 
Bill (HB 2900) provided to the Department 
of Public Safety to be spent in the following 
manner:  
1) $439,120.00 for any necessary 
expenditures related to interoperable 
communications inside the State Capitol 
Building  
2) $4,000,000.00 to hold a trooper academy 
or additionally academies, subject to 
available funding. 
 
SB 1082 (Thompson/Wallace) apportions 
the appropriations made to the Oklahoma 
Department of Commerce in HB 2900 in the 
following manner:  
1) $1,460,000.00) to implement the 
provisions of Aerospace Commerce 
Economic Services Act  
2) $15,000,000.00 shall be used to fund and 
implement the Oklahoma Accelerator 
Program 
 
HB 1015 (Roe/McCortney) strikes obsolete 
language as it relates to reimbursing county 
jails for medical care provided to inmates. 
 
HB 2908 (Wallace/Thompson) requires the 
Department of Corrections to direct funds in 
the following manner:   
1) $8 million to improve the correctional 
officer to inmate ratio at correctional 
facilities 
2) $9.24 million for hepatitis C treatment;  
3) $1.8 million for a contractual per diem 
increase at the Lawton Correctional and 
Rehabilitation Facility; and  
4) $9,235,258 for transfer to the Department 
of Corrections Offender Management 
System Revolving Fund. 
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Agency FY21 
Appropriation 

FY22 
Appropriation 

Change 
from 

Original 
Department of 
Public Safety $101,824,395 $102,827,246 0.98% 

Oklahoma 
State Bureau 

of 
Investigation 

$75,480,361 $68,241,076 -9.59% 

Oklahoma 
Bureau of 

Narcotics and 
Dangerous 

Drugs 

$3,145,330 $3,145,330 0.00% 

Council on 
Law 

Enforcement 
Education and 

Training 

$3,370,833 $3,661,579 8.63% 

Alcoholic 
Beverage 

Laws 
Enforcement 
Commission 

$2,898,589 $2,753,659 -5.00% 

 

 
 
Public Employees-
Retirement/Insurance/Pay/Benefits 
 
SB 107 (Montgomery/Russ) authorizes the 
Office of Management and Enterprise 
Services to renew vision plan contracts with 
plan providers for succeeding 1-year terms if 
the provider had a contract for the 
immediately preceding year. The Office may 
require the provider to submit rate 
schedules, contact information for the plan, 
policy limits and applicable deductibles, and 
billing practices of the plan prior to the 
renewal. 
 
SB 267 (Pemberton/Nichols) provides for 
members of the Teacher Retirement System 
that retired as of July 1, 2020, who received 
benefits for at least 1 year to be reemployed 
by a school district with no limitations on 
earnings, provided the teacher was not 
employed in a school district during the 1-
year period. 
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SB 333 (Simpson/Townley) extends the 
time limit within which accrued 
compensatory time may be used by state 
employees and provides for such accrued 
time to be carried over into the new fiscal 
year after the Governor declares an 
emergency. 
 
SB 650 (David/Echols) modifies the 
statutory minimum benefit allowance 
amount for employee benefit plans 
beginning with Plan Year 2022. The act 
requires that the allowance amount for Plan 
Year 2022 be increased by 2% from the 
previous year’s amount and provides for an 
additional 2% increase in the allowance 
amount for Plan Year 2023 from the 
previous year’s amount. It then establishes 
the allowance amount in Plan 2023 as the 
statutory minimum benefit allowance 
amount. 
 
SB 683 (Kidd/Lepak) removes the 
requirement for full-time nonclassified 
optional personnel to have been regularly 
employed for a full year before joining the 
Teachers’ Retirement System. The measure 
also provides for all nonclassified optional 
personnel regularly employed for 20 hours 
or more per week to be enrolled in the 
System upon hiring. Such persons may opt 
out of the System within 30 days of hiring. 
The opt out shall be irrevocable, unless the 
person is later hired into a classified 
position. 
 
SB 684 (Weaver/Moore) authorizes the 
Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation, the 
Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and 
Dangerous Drugs, the Oklahoma Highway 
Patrol, and the Oklahoma Alcoholic 
Beverage Laws Enforcement to enter into 
bilateral interagency transfers among 
commissioned law enforcement officers. 
The measure specifies that such transfers 
must be for a period between 2-5 years. 

 
SB 687 (Weaver/Humphrey) directs the 9-1-
1 Management Authority to begin 
implementing the Next Generation 9-1- 1 
program, which shall provide for 
connectivity and interoperability between 
state, regional, and local next-generation 
systems. Training program standards must 
include instruction on recognizing the need 
for and delivery of HighQuality 
Telecommunicator CPR (T-CPR) following 
evidence-based, nationally recognized 
guidelines that can be delivered by 9-1-1 
call takers. Additionally, the measure directs 
the Oklahoma Tax Commission to provide 
the Authority a monthly report showing the 
9-1-1 wireless fee deposits including the 
name of the provider and the amount of each 
deposit. 
 
SB 745 (Weaver/Dobrinski) modifies the 
annual retirement pay of retired police 
officers to the annual salary limit of the 
Economic Growth and Tax Relief 
Reconciliation Act of 2001 multiplied by 
2.5% multiplied by the number of years of 
credited service. The measure provides for 
members who retire as a result of a disability 
to have such payments multiplied by 20 
years of credited service, regardless of 
whether the member served 20 years or not, 
or the actual years of credited service if the 
member served more than 20 years. At no 
time shall a member receiving benefits 
receive less than the amount the member 
was receiving as of June 30, 2002. 
 
SB 809 (Weaver/Ford) authorizes campus 
police officers to retain the sidearm and 
badge issued to them prior to retirement. 
The measure provides that compensatory 
time that accrued or expired during 
emergency declarations issued in response 
to the novel coronavirus shall carry over to 
the end of the fiscal year following the year 
in which the emergency declaration ended. 
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HB 2278 (Josh West/Rosino) measure 
provides that, as it relates to distributions in 
the Oklahoma Firefighters Pension and 
Retirement System required to be made after 
December 31, 2019, for individuals who are 
70 ½ years old after that date, such 
distributions shall take into account that age 
70 ½ was stricken from the Code and 
replaced by age 72. 
 
HB 2293 (Dustin Roberts/Paxton) excludes 
compensation paid to teachers if the sole 
source of such compensation was paid for in 
whole by federal funds or an externally 
sponsored agreement such as a grant, 
contract, or cooperative agreement and 
received by a teacher for teaching during a 
summer school program that is outside the 
scope of employment of the teacher as it 
relates to matching contributions from 
employer retirement contribution 
calculations. Additionally, the measure 
provides that a teacher shall not receive 
service credit for teaching during a summer 
school program as defined in the measure. 
 
HB 2457 (Dobrinski/Quinn) provides that, 
as it relates to distributions in the Oklahoma 
Police Pension and Retirement System 
required to be made after December 31, 
2019, for individuals who are 70 ½ years old 
after that date, such distributions shall take 
into account that age 70 ½ was stricken from 
the Code and replaced by age 72. 
 
HB 2458 (Lepak/Montgomery) authorizes 
the Uniform Retirement System for Justices 
and Judges (URSJJ) and the Oklahoma 
Public Employees Retirement System 
(OPERS) to release tax information of a 
deceased member to a person acting in a 
fiduciary capacity on their behalf for 
purposes of filing a tax return. The measure 
also provides that any actively participating 
member of URSJJ or OPERS who’s first 

participating service occurred on or after 
July 1, 2013, and who works less than 
fulltime but has had at least 5 years of full-
time employment during the 10 years 
immediately preceding retirement is not 
eligible to have their final average 
compensation.  
 
HB 2499 (Cornwell/Bergstrom) provides 
that if an active member of the Oklahoma 
Police Pension and Retirement System 
(OPPRS) dies and does not leave a surviving 
beneficiary, the member’s contributions to 
the system may be paid to, if properly 
designated by the member, a trust. The 
measure also allows the benefit payment for 
the month in which the member dies, if not 
already paid, to be made to a trust upon the 
death of a retired member with no surviving 
beneficiary. The measure allows the same in 
the event of the death of a beneficiary. 
Finally, the measure allows OPPRS to pay a 
death benefit to a trust. 
 
HB 2824 (Sneed/Quinn) adds qualified 
benefits administrator to the list of entities 
that receive payments from the Oklahoma 
Public Employees Retirement System as it 
relates to the health insurance premium of 
certain individuals receiving benefits from 
the public retirement system. 
Taxation and Tax Exemptions 
 
SB 79 (Thompson/Wallace) exempts the 
sale of property or services to or by the 
University Hospital Trust as well as 
nonprofit entities that are in a joint operating 
agreement with the University Hospitals 
Trust from the sales tax. 
 
SB 181 (Taylor/Boles) modifies the formula 
for payments made to the Oklahoma Tax 
Commission for delinquent taxes. The 
measure strikes language requiring the 
payments be made in 2 equal installments 
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and instead requires the payments be made 
in 2 installments. 
 
SB 265 (Matthews/Nichols) exempts the 
sale of tangible property to a city-county 
library system from the sales tax. 
 
SB 379 (David/Hasenbeck) reauthorizes the 
income tax checkoff for the Court 
Appointed Special Advocate program, 
extending its authorization through the end 
of tax year 2026. 
 
SB 415 (Simpson/Tommy Hardin) 
authorizes the Oklahoma Tax Commission 
to disclose information relating to the name 
and basis for eligibility of each individual 
who qualifies for the sales tax exemption 
granted to registered veterans to the 
Oklahoma Department of Veteran Affairs. 
The measure requires qualifying disabled 
veterans to register with the veterans registry 
in order to receive or continue receiving the 
sales tax exemption. 
 
SB 422 (Simpson/Kerbs) specifies the 
documents the Oklahoma Tax Commission 
shall accept as proof of eligibility to receive 
the agricultural sales tax exemption. 
 
SB 436 (Paxton/Pae) reauthorizes the 
income tax checkoff for donations to the 
Oklahoma chapter of the Y.M.C.A. Youth 
and Government program. 
 
SB 600 (Rader/Hilbert) exempts charging 
stations with a charging capacity of less than 
50 kilowatts and charging stations that do 
not require payment for use from the $0.03 
per kilowatt tax. The measure The measure 
also directs the Oklahoma Tax Commission 
to promulgate rules for the purpose of 
determining a percentage basis equivalent 
tax, which shall be recalculated annually. 
The provisions of the measure shall become 
effective upon the enactment of the 

provisions of Enrolled House Bill No. 2234 
of the 1st Session of the 58th Oklahoma 
Legislature. 
 
SB 601 (Rader/Pfeiffer) requires the 
Oklahoma Tax Commission to pay interest 
on tax refunds not paid within 45 days for 
returns filed electronically and 90 days for 
all other returns after the return is filed or 
due, whichever is later. The measure also 
allows the Commission to provide a later 
due date for the returns of individuals and 
certain entities if a state of emergency is 
declared by the Governor or upon 
declaration by the Internal Revenue Service 
to postpone deadlines in disaster areas. 
Lastly, the measure modifies the period of 
underpayment for corporations to be 30 days 
after the due date for returns established 
under the Internal Revenue Code.  
 
SB 770 (Stephens/Eric Roberts) extends the 
income tax checkoff for the Oklahoma 
Wildlife Diversity Program to January 1, 
2022. 
 
SB 825 (Standridge/Kevin West) provides 
that any municipality levying a tax for the 
purpose of funding public safety or any 
other governmental purpose may not 
redirect all or a portion of the dedicated tax 
revenue to another purpose without a vote of 
the people authorizing such an action. 
 
SB 905 (Bullard/Davis) provides an income 
tax credit of $20.00 per employee donating 
blood to employers. The credit is not 
refundable and shall sunset after tax year 
2027. The total state-wide cap for the credit 
is set at $500,000.00. 
 
SB 909 (Pugh/Trey Caldwell) creates a sales 
tax exemption for sales of tangible personal 
property or services to a museum that 
operates as part of a 501(c)(3) organization, 
is not accredited by the American Alliance 
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of Museums, and operates on an annual 
budget of less than $1 million until 
December 31, 2024.  
 
SB 915 (Howard/Trey Caldwell) creates an 
income tax deduction based on an accredited 
investor’s qualified equity investment in an 
eligible Oklahoma venture capital entity. 
The amount of the deduction shall be equal 
to the actual investment. A qualified equity 
investment shall not exceed $25 million for 
any taxable year. Records of the equity 
interest acquired by an accredited investor 
shall be maintained by the accredited 
investor and the eligible Oklahoma venture 
capital company for a period of at least 5 
years from the date the equity investment is 
made by an accredited investor. Investments 
made by investors into a company with 
persons relating to the investor shall not 
qualify for the deduction unless certain 
conditions are met as outlined in the 
measure. Additionally, such investments 
shall not qualify for the deduction if the 
investor owns 51% of the voting equity 
interest. The deduction may not be used to 
reduce the Oklahoma taxable income 
amount or the Oklahoma adjusted gross 
income amount to less than 0. The 
Oklahoma Tax Commission shall be 
required to notify claimants of the deduction 
if the Commission denies the claim. 
 
HB 1009 (Sims/Montgomery) 9 increases 
the maximum gross household income to 
qualify for an additional homestead 
exemption of $1,000.00 from $20,000.00 to 
$25,000.00. The measure excludes the 
amount of any federal stimulus or relief 
payments related to the COVID-19 virus 
from the calculation. 
 
HB 1060 (Boles/Paxton) provides a sales tax 
exemption for the transfer of tangible 
personal property between wholly owned 
subsidiaries of a parent company and 

between a parent company and its wholly 
owned subsidiary.  
 
HB 1062 (Boles/Garvin) extends the 
homestead tax exemption for 100% disabled 
veterans, their surviving spouses, or the 
surviving spouse of a person who died while 
in the line of duty to include those who own 
homes located on land owned by a city or 
town. 
 
HB 1121 (Boatman/Thompson) extends the 
sunset date for the Oklahoma Quality Events 
Incentive Act from June 30, 2021, to June 
30, 2026. The measure also requires the host 
community to submit an economic impact 
study of the quality event, as defined in the 
measure, to the Oklahoma Tax Commission 
within 60 days. The measure also modifies 
the deadline for designating the date the 
event will be hosted and the types of 
expenses from 6 months to 30 days. 
 
HB 1566 (Sims/Rader) requires that any 
state tax generated from sales for admission 
to a 501(c)(3) aquarium, or an aquarium 
owned by a public trust or political 
subdivision of Oklahoma, to be collected 
and disbursed to the nonprofit, public trust, 
or political subdivision responsible for the 
operation of the aquarium. The disbursed 
funds must be used for servicing debt 
incurred by the aquarium or to promote 
visitation for out-of-state residents. 
 
HB 1588 (Dempsey/Burns) provides a sales 
tax exemption relating to the sale of 
commercial forestry service equipment 
outlined in the measure to businesses 
engages in logging, timber, and tree farming 
from sales tax until January 2027. 
 
HB 1935 (Martinez/Montgomery) exempts 
the sales of tangible property to a nonprofit 
entity organized prior to January 1, 2022, 
that provides assistance to natural persons 
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following a disaster as defined in the 
measure. Such assistance must emphasize 
repair or restoration to single-family 
residential dwellings, or the construction of 
a replacement single-family residential 
dwelling. The entity must expend at least 
75% of its funds on the restoration to single-
family housing following a disaster to be 
eligible for the program. 
 
HB 2178 (Hilbert/Montgomery) creates a 
tax deduction for taxpayers contributing to 
accounts relating to the Achieving a Better 
Life Experience (ABLE) Program. The 
deduction shall not exceed $10,000.00 for an 
individual taxpayer or $20,000.00 for 
taxpayers filing a joint return in any tax 
year. 
 
HB 2292 (creates the Tobacco Products Tax 
Enforcement Act of 2021. The measure 
authorizes the Oklahoma Tax Commission 
(OTC) to establish a Tobacco Products Tax 
Enforcement Unit for the purpose of 
enforcing tobacco tax laws through 
investigations, audits, and inspections. The 
provides that the excise tax on tobacco 
products shall be due and payable on the 1 st 
day of each month by the wholesaler. 
Wholesalers are required by the measure to 
file electronically with the OTC to 
determine the amount owed on or before the 
12th of each month. If the taxes are not 
collected by the 1 st day of each month, the 
tax shall be collected as a backup tax upon 
the 1 st receipt of tobacco products by any 
retailer or end user when received from a 
source outside of the state or upon the first 
sale or use when the product is 
manufactured in this state. All purchase 
invoices shall contain the license number of 
the wholesaler and shall be made available 
for inspection by the Tax Commission. Any 
purchases of tobacco products from a person 
who is not holding a current Oklahoma 
wholesale tobacco license shall be 

punishable by a fine of the greater $1,000.00 
or five times the unpaid tax on such 
products. Funds collected from the Unit 
shall be deposited in the Tobacco Products 
Tax Enforcement Unit Revolving Fund. Any 
amount in excess of $2 million shall be 
transferred to the General Revenue Fund. 
 
HB 2297 (Dustin Roberts/Hall) defines 
“fixed wireless broadband Internet service 
provider” as an entity that offers Internet 
access through a stationary fixed point-to-
point connection, often requiring direct line 
of sight between the provider’s wireless 
transmitter and its end-user consumer’s 
receiver as it relates to the Ad Valorem Tax 
Code. The measure clarifies that fixed 
wireless broadband Internet service 
providers are not included in the definitions 
of transmission company and public service 
corporation. 
 
HB 2362 (Burns/Dugger) extinguishes any 
claims for taxes or other liens or 
encumbrances that the state and/or 
municipality may have had on real estate 
with respect to any deed conveying title to 
the board of county commissioners where 
such property was bid off in the name of the 
county. 
 
HB 2684 (Echols/Thompson) provides that 
the excise tax on all wine and spirits shall be 
collected and remitted by the wholesaler 
who purchases the beverages for sale within 
the state, unless the wine is shipped directly 
to the consumer, where the excise tax shall 
be collected and remitted by the winery 
maintaining the direct wine shipper’s permit. 
 
HB 2775 (Pfeiffer/Montgomery) amends the 
definition of cost approach as related to the 
Ad Valorem Tax Code to mean a method of 
establishing the fair cash value of property 
involving an estimate of current construction 
cost of improvements, subtracting accrued 
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depreciation including any loss in value that 
may be caused by physical deterioration, or 
functional or economic obsolescence and 
adding the value of the land. The measure 
also requires the Ad Valorem Division of 
the Oklahoma Tax Commission to provide 
schedules of values of personal property in 
accordance with Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) 
and International Association of Assessing 
Officers (IAAO) requirements. 
 
HB 2805 (Pfeiffer/Paxton) strikes the 
requirement that livestock owned by a 
general partnership, limited partnership, 
corporation, limited liability corporation, 
estate, trust, or other lawfully recognized 
entity must have the primary purpose of 
conferring economic benefits of such 
ownership on 2 or more members of the 
same family in order to qualify for an ad 
valorem tax exemption. 
 
HB 2866 (Wallace/Thompson) modifies the 
banking privilege tax credit period to apply 
to guaranty fees paid on or after January 1, 
2022, and before January 1, 2025. 
 
HB 2930 (Rick West/Simpson) expands the 
Oklahoma Agriculture Enhancement and 
Diversification Program to include grant 
programs for agritourism, value-added 
agriculture, as well as young and veteran 
farmers. The measure also prohibits 
awarding grants for growing, or any other 
aspect of medical marijuana. The measure 
eliminates the Agriculture Department’s 
authority to allocate funds on a matching 
basis as well as cooperative marketing loans 
for entities that intend to work together. The 
measure also exempts certain information 
submitted to the Agriculture Department 
from the Open Records Act. 
 
HB 2946 (Wallace/Thompson) provides a 
sales tax exemption for the sale, lease, 

rental, storage, use or other consumption of 
qualifying broadband equipment by Internet 
providers or subsidiaries if the property is 
directly used or consumed by the provider or 
subsidiary for the purpose of establishing or 
expanding broadband services in 
underserved or unserved areas. The 
exemption would be administered as a 
rebate and the broadband equipment 
provider would pay sales tax at the time of 
the equipment purchase and then obtain a 
rebate from the Tax Commission. The bill 
requires the Department of Commerce to 
prepare a report regarding the utilization of 
the sales tax exemption/rebate process. 
 
HB 2949 (Wallace/Thompson) provides 
sales tax exemptions as it applies to the 
transfer of tangible personal property by the 
University Hospitals Trust, the transfer of 
tangible personal property or services by or 
to the University Hospitals Trust or 
nonprofit entities in a joint operating 
agreement with the University Hospitals 
Trust, and the sales of personal property or 
services for use in a clinical practice or 
medical facility that is in a joint operating 
agreement with the University Hospitals 
Trust and is acquired or leased by the 
organization for the University Hospitals 
Authority, University Hospitals Trust or 
University of Oklahoma on or after June 1, 
2021.  
 
HB 2960 (McCall/Treat) reduces the 
corporate income tax from 6% to 4% for all 
taxable years beginning after December 31, 
2021. 
 
HB 2961 (Wallace/Thompson) reduces the 
bank privilege tax from 6% to 4% for all 
taxable years beginning after December 31, 
2021. 
 
HB 2962 (McCall/Treat) reduces the 
individual income tax by 0.25% for all 
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taxable years beginning on or after January 
1, 2022. The measure also restores the 
refundability of the earned income tax credit 
and provides that it shall be computed using 
the same requirements for computing the 
earned income tax credit for federal income 
tax purposes in effect for the 2020 income 
tax year, other than the 5%amount already 
provided for, which shall remain constant. 
 
HB 2963 (Wallace/Thompson) reduces the 
income tax for both corporations that are 
equity owners in a pass-through entity and 
the tax rate for pass-through entities such as 
general partnerships, limited partnerships 
and limited liability companies, from 6% to 
4%.  
 
HB 2964 (McCall/Treat) exempts 
commercial trailers and semitrailers from 
the 1.25% motor vehicle tax.       
Tax Commission Funding 
 

Agency FY21 
Appropriation 

FY22 
Appropriation 

Change 
from 

Original 
Oklahoma Tax 
Commission $43,177,267 $43,844,417 1.55% 

 

 
Transportation, Vehicle, and License 
Measures 
 
SB 8 (Bergstrom/Frix) designates State 
Highway 69 from the Kansas border to the 
Texas border as the Historic Jefferson 
Highway Route. The cost associated with 
signage required by this measure shall be 
provided from private sources or other 
categories of funding and shall include the 

cost of the initial erection of signs as well as 
the cost of potential replacement or 
reconstruction of signs. 
 
SB 61 (Bergstrom/Frix) specifies the 
location of various highway intersections 
designated as high-wide corridors. The 
measure also removes the high-wide 
corridor designation from the intersection of 
US-177 and US-64, proceeding east on US-
64 to SH-108 as well as the intersection of 
US-64 and SH108, proceeding south on SH-
108 and ending at SH-51. 
 
SB 184 (Hick/Bush) authorizes the use of 
Class 3 electric-assisted bicycles on multi-
use paths. 
 
SB 263 (Daniels/Stearman) authorizes 
individuals to reclaim the license plate of a 
car when repossessing a vehicle that has not 
had its license plate removed. The measure 
also authorizes a person to obtain a 30- day 
temporary permit on a vehicle in their 
possession if said vehicle is subject to a lien. 
 
SB 355 (Rosino/Sims) creates the Peer-to-
Peer Car Sharing Program Act. A peer-to-
peer car sharing program is defined as 
business platform that connects vehicle 
owners with drivers to enable the sharing of 
vehicles for financial consideration. Such a 
program may not offer renting motor 
vehicles without a driver except as 
specifically provided for in the measure. The 
program is required by the measure to 
assume liability of a shared vehicle owner 
for bodily injury or property damage to third 
parties or uninsured and underinsured 
motorist or personal injury protection losses 
during the car sharing period. The program 
is exempted from this provision, provided 
the car owner makes an intentional or 
fraudulent material representation or 
omission to the program or acts in concert 
with a shared vehicle driver who fails to 

$40,000,000
$42,000,000
$44,000,000
$46,000,000
$48,000,000

FY
19…

FY
20…

FY
21…

FY
 22…

Oklahoma Tax Commission
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return the shared vehicle. The measure 
further requires such programs to disclose to 
shared vehicle owners or drivers certain 
facts pertaining to the insured vehicle and 
liability. The program may own the named 
insured one or more policies of motor 
vehicle liability insurance. The program is 
required to ensure each of its drivers and 
vehicle owners are insured under a motor 
vehicle liability insurance policy that meets 
certain requirements outlined in the 
measure. The program’s, driver’s, or 
owner’s insurer shall indemnify the car 
sharing program if it is determined that the 
shared motor vehicle's owner was in control 
of the shared motor vehicle at the time of the 
loss. Coverage under an automobile 
insurance policy maintained by the peer-
topeer car sharing program shall not be 
dependent on another automobile insurer 
first denying a claim. The measure also 
requires the program to notify the driver of a 
vehicle with a lien on it may the terms of the 
contract with the lienholder. 
 
SB 463 (Hall/Kannady) modifies the 
authority of the Oklahoma Tax Commission 
(OTC) to remove motor license agents from 
their position. The measure changes the at-
will termination of such agents to “for 
cause” as defined in the measure. The 
measure also requires the OTC to comply 
with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedures Act as it relates to removing tag 
agents. The FS strikes language requiring 
the OTC to discharge motor vehicle agents 
who fail to file timely accounting reports. 
 
SB 607 (Rader/Pfeiffer) changes “shall” to 
“may” as it relates to the Oklahoma Tax 
Commission establishing another tag agency 
in counties with a population in excess of 
25,000. 
 
SB 624 (Standridge/Frix) designates certain 
sections of the highway system as the 

William Charles "Charley" Coen Memorial 
Highway, the Speaker Pro Tempore Jim R. 
Glover Memorial Highway, the Medal of 
Honor Recipient Sergeant John R. Crews 
Memorial Bridge, the Trooper J.C. Magar 
Memorial Highway, the Congressional 
Medal of Honor Recipient Edward A. 
DeVore, Jr. Memorial Bridge, the Navy 
Cross Recipient CPL Russell Keck 
Memorial Highway, the Sweetwater 
Veterans Memorial Highway, the SSGT 
Cecil Wellman Memorial Bridge, the 
Officer Michael Bruce Keen Memorial 
Bridge, the Tommy Wayne Haley Memorial 
Bridge, the MSGT Michael Werdehoff 
Vietnam MIA Memorial Bridge, the James 
Amos Callins Memorial Bridge, the 
Lieutenant Eugene Smith Memorial 
Highway, the SP4 Alfred Dean Hildebrand 
Memorial Highway the Bud Martin 
Memorial Bridge, the Private Robert "Bob" 
Clark Memorial Bridge, and the President 
Donald J. Trump Highway. The measure 
also strikes the requirement for persons 
proposed to be so honored to have been 
deceased not less than 3 years, received the 
Medal of Honor, or been a member of the 
armed forces or emergency personnel that 
fell in the line of duty. 
 
SB 706 (Rosino/Echols) authorizes any 
personal delivery device to operate on any 
sidewalk, crosswalk, road or street of any 
county or municipality, notwithstanding any 
other law. The measure requires each device 
to have a unique identifying device number 
providing contact information to the owner. 
The measure prohibits any device from 
interfering with traffic and obstructing rights 
of way. Such devices must also travel under 
10 miles per hour, be equipped with a 
controlled stop system, be equipped with 
lights on the front and back, and obey all 
relevant traffic laws. Such devices are 
prohibited from transporting hazardous 
material. Owners are required to maintain 
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certain insurance requirements on such 
devices. The measure also preempts any 
municipal ordinance or law that would 
otherwise govern the manufacture and 
contents of personal delivery devices. 
 
SB 787 (Weaver/Sterling) authorizes road-
service vehicles to equip flashing yellow and 
white lights when providing road services 
and repairs to disabled passenger vehicles. 
Such lights must be visible from 500 feet to 
the rear of the vehicle and may only be used 
to warn operators of other vehicles to 
exercise care in approaching, overtaking or 
passing such vehicle. 
 
SB 899 (Leewright/Hilbert) exempts 
kiteboards from the registration 
requirements provided for in the Oklahoma 
Vessel and Motor Registration Act. 
 
SB 967 (Pugh/Martinez) expands “political 
subdivision” as it relates to the 
Governmental Tort Claims Act to include a 
regional transportation authority, its contract 
operator, and railroads operating in interstate 
commerce that sell a property interest or 
provides services to a regional transportation 
authority or allow the authority to use the 
property or tracks of the railroad for the 
provision of public passenger rail service. 
The measure authorizes political 
subdivisions to enter into a contract with 
such entities to acquire commercial liability 
insurance. 
 
SB 998 (Standridge/Osburn) directs the 
Oklahoma Tax Commission (OTC) to 
implement a program providing for the 
electronic storage of and filing of motor 
vehicle certificates of title and allow a 
lienholder to perfect, assign and release a 
lien on a motor vehicle in lieu of submission 
and maintenance of paper documents. The 
OTC shall enter into competitive contracts 
with qualified third-party service providers 

to provide the necessary infrastructure for 
such a program.to provide the necessary 
infrastructure for such a program. The 
measure provides for participating tag 
agents to receive all fees provided by the 
Oklahoma Vehicle License and Registration 
Act notwithstanding current law. The OTC 
is also authorized to expend monies from the 
Oklahoma Tax Commission and Office of 
Management and Enterprise Services Joint 
Computer Enhancement Fund to implement 
the provisions of the measure. Additionally, 
the OTC is directed by the measure to 
consult interested parties including, but not 
limited to, representatives of the Oklahoma 
Automobile Dealers Association, the 
Oklahoma Bankers Association, the 
Oklahoma Credit Union Association, and 
the Oklahoma Tag Agent Coalition. 
 
SB 999 (Bergstrom/Frix) creates the 
Oklahoma Courier Application Services 
Act. A courier application service (CAS) is a 
business entity operating in Oklahoma that 
uses a digital network to connect business 
entities including itself, its affiliates, or 
people to CAS drivers for the purpose of 
providing courier services on an on-demand 
basis. Additionally, such services shall not 
be considered motor carriers nor shall a 
CAS driver be considered a for-hire motor 
carrier. Such services must adopt a zero-
tolerance policy against CAS drivers 
operating under the influence of drugs or 
alcohol while providing courier services. 
CAS networks must require drivers to 
submit information regarding his or her 
address, age, driver license, and other 
information required by the CAS prior to 
admitting them into the network as a driver. 
 
HB 1044 (Luttrell/Standridge) provides that 
Killed in Action License Plates shall be 
designed to honor members of the United 
States Armed Forces who were killed in 
action while engaged in combat with a 



102 
 

hostile force. The parents, siblings, half-
siblings, grandparents or spouse of the 
deceased person, if the spouse has not 
remarried, or if remarried, the remarriage is 
terminated by death, divorce or annulment, 
may apply for a killed in action license plate 
upon presenting proper certification that the 
person was killed in action and that the 
person making the application is the 
qualifying spouse or family member of the 
deceased person. The Killed in Action 
License Plate shall be exempt from any 
minimum issuance criteria related to license 
plate applications. Additionally, the measure 
expands eligibility to apply for a Gold Star 
Families License Plates to include siblings, 
half-siblings, or grandparents. The 
Oklahoma Aquarium License Plate is 
reauthorized by the measure. The measure 
also authorizes members of the Oklahoma 
Veterans of Foreign Wars organization to 
apply for the Oklahoma Veterans of Foreign 
Wars License Plate. The Oklahoma City 
Barons, Oklahoma City Redhawks, and 
Tulsa Shock License Plates are stricken by 
the measure. The measure directs the 
Oklahoma Tax Commission to design the 
Oklahoma Institute for Child Advocacy 
License Plate in consultation with the 
Institute. The Oklahoma Renewable Energy, 
Scottish Rite Masons, New State Brand, 
University of Oklahoma RUF/NEKS, 
National Defense Service Medal, Paramedic, 
Oklahoma Golf, Stillwater Public Schools, 
Blue Star Mothers, Transportation to 
Transportation, Tulsa Community College, 
Veterans of the United States Armed Forces, 
Navy Chief, Guthrie Street Kings, Epilepsy 
Foundation, and America First License 
Plates, and Tulsa Flag License Plate are 
created by the measure. The Oklahoma Tax 
Commission may enter into a licensing 
agreement with the Historic Greenwood 
District Juneteenth Festival. 
 

HB 1059 (Boles/Garvin) removes a 
provision which allowed commercial permit 
holders to take the skills examination 
without training. The measure allows a 
motor license agent to process the voluntary 
downgrade of a REAL ID Compliant 
Commercial Driver License to any lower-
class license and removes a provision which 
prohibits a motor license agent from 
performing document recognition and other 
requirements needed for approval of an 
application for a Class A, B or C 
commercial license. A licensee whose 
record reflects a notation of the person's 
proof of legal presence, verified by the U.S. 
Department of Homeland Security, or proof 
of U.S. citizenship, may obtain a REAL ID 
Compliant Identification Card or a 
Noncompliant Identification Card from a 
motor license agent or the Department of 
Public Safety, regardless of the status of the 
license held by the licensee. Additionally, 
the Department of Public Safety must 
require designated examiner applicants, 
driver education instructor applicants, third-
party examiner, and commercial school 
driver education instructors to complete an 
electronic national criminal history record 
check. 
 
HB 1065 (Tommy Hardin/Simpson) waives 
all late fees and penalties as it relates to 
vehicle registration if the vehicle was 
reported and certified as stolen. 
 
HB 1149 (Osburn/Rogers) requires persons 
engaged in the activities of a used motor 
vehicle sales to obtain a certificate of 
registration from the Oklahoma Motor 
Vehicle Commission. The measure provides 
that the cost of any administrative fine is to 
be borne by the employing entity. A 
salesperson is deemed to be temporarily 
approved and allowed to sell vehicles when 
applications and fees are on file with the 
Commission. The measure authorizes a 
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person to sell used motor vehicles without 
obtaining a separate used motor vehicle 
salesperson's certificate of registration if the 
person has a certificate of registration from 
the Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Commission 
to sell new or unused motor vehicles at a 
new motor vehicle dealer's licensed 
franchise location which also sells used 
vehicles. The cost of the registration for 
each sales person is $50.00 to be renewed 
biennially and may be transferred for a fee 
of $25.00. 
 
HB 1153 (Osburn/Garvin) modifies various 
terms used in the by the Oklahoma Used 
Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission 
relating to manufactured homes. The 
measure modifies the definition of 
“manufactured home dealer” to include a 
person who is engaged wholly or in part in 
the business of leasing any new and unused, 
or used, or both new and used manufactured 
homes, that are considered personal 
property, with an option to purchase or own 
in any form at any time after beginning of 
the lease term. The measure provides that a 
“manufactured home dealer” does not 
include a restricted manufactured home park 
dealer. The measure modifies the definition 
of “manufactured home salesperson” by 
including restricted manufactured home park 
dealers. The measure modifies the definition 
of “restricted manufactured home park 
dealer” to include persons engaged in 
leasing manufactured homes with an option 
to purchase or own in any form at any time 
after the beginning of the lease term. The 
measure requires a restricted manufactured 
home park dealer to obtain a bond in the 
amount of $30,000.00. 
 
HB 1584 (Dollens/Brooks) designates a 
section of law relating to approaching 
stationary authorized vehicles on the 
roadway as Bernardo's Law. 
 

HB 1712 (Hill/Haste) creates the Road User 
Charge Task Force. The Task Force is 
directed to study methods that may be used 
to record and report public road usage as 
well as alternatives to the current system of 
taxing highway use through motor vehicle 
fuel taxes. The Task Force shall submit a 
report of its findings to the Legislature no 
later than December 31, 2023. The measure 
directs the Oklahoma Tax Commission to 
administer collection of any charges or fees 
associated with the Road User Charge 
Program. The expiration date for the task 
force is June 30, 2024. 
 
HB 1715 (Hill/Pugh) repeals a section of 
law relating to a minor’s reading ability to 
obtain driver licenses or permits. The 
measure also repeals a section of law 
requiring a minor to show that they are 
enrolled in a public or private secondary 
school to obtain permits and driver licenses. 
 
HB 1788 (Pae/Montgomery) establishes a 
definition for video toll collection system 
account and requires an owner’s vehicle to 
be registered with the Oklahoma Tax 
Commission or similar registering agency 
that permits access to registration 
information with the Oklahoma Turnpike 
Authority. The measure requires an owner 
or operator of a vehicle to pay a charge to 
the Department of Public Safety or other law 
enforcement agency for the owner’s failure 
to timely pay an invoice for charges 
submitted by the Turnpike Authority 
through its video toll system. Invoices may 
be sent by other methods, not restricted to 
certified mail. The measure also prohibits a 
person from operating a vehicle on a 
turnpike with the knowledge that the 
registered owner is liable for outstanding toll 
violations. 
 
HB 1795 (Miller/David) provides that the 
Department of Public Safety may in its 
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discretion suspend the driving privilege of a 
person after receiving a report of a 
conviction in another state relating to the 
operation of a motor vehicle. Any action 
taken by the Department shall not exceed 
the penalty imposed by a court or the 
Department in this state for a violation 
substantially similar to the conviction in the 
other jurisdiction which did not result in a 
revocation of Oklahoma driving privileges. 
Additionally, the measure provides that 
suspension of a driver’s license shall be no 
earlier than 180 days after providing notice 
to the holder. The measure provides that a 
person who provides proof of enrollment in 
a federal or state government assistance 
program may be considered proof of 
hardship. The measure provides that a 
provisional license may be issued to 
suspended license holders allowing them to 
drive from 6:00 a.m. to 11:59 p.m. and 
12:00 a.m. to 5:59 a.m. in certain 
circumstances. Eligibility for a provisional 
license shall not take into consideration any 
outstanding fines and fees owed. 
 
HB 2182 (Johns/Standridge) authorizes the 
removal and towing of a vehicle that is left 
unattended upon any street, sidewalk, alley 
or thoroughfare, and constitutes a hazard or 
obstruction to the normal movement of 
public transit along a rail fixed guideway. 
 
HB 2183 (Johns/Standridge) directs the 
Department of Public Safety to approve at 
least 1 public transit, state, county, or 
municipal government agency that maintains 
a program instructing students for a Class A, 
B, or C license to hire or employ third-party 
examiners. 
 
HB 2202 (Wolfley/Dahm) provides that no 
citation may be issued by any state, county, 
or municipal law enforcement officer during 
the 30-day period immediately succeeding 
the last day of the month during which a 

vehicle registration should have been 
renewed and a current license plate decal 
obtained and displayed on the license plate 
of the vehicle. 
 
HB 2321 (Frix/Pemberton) clarifies that a 
truck-tractor carrying cargo on the roadways 
must maintain commercial auto, farm and 
ranch, inland marine or cargo liability 
insurance that applies to the costs of cleanup 
of any substance that is spilled or otherwise 
deposited on the roadway or right-of-way. 
 
HB 2375 (Davis/Bergstrom) authorizes 2 or 
more noncommercial vehicles owned by the 
same person which have different 
registration months to be registered in the 
same month. A convenience fee of $5.00 
shall be applied to such registrations. The 
convenience fee shall be divided equally 
with $2.50 of the fee to be deposited to the 
credit of the Oklahoma Tax Commission 
and $2.50 to be retained by the motor 
license agent. When a noncommercial 
vehicle’s registration month is changed, 
license and registration fees shall be 
prorated to account for the differences 
between the previous renewal month and the 
new renewal month and those fees are due at 
the time of registration. The measure also 
allows for the un-staggering of a special or 
personalized license plate. 
 
HB 2382 (Sterling/Weaver) defines a street-
legal utility vehicle as well as authorizes a 
street-legal utility vehicle to be registered as 
a motor vehicle and operated on roadways. 
The vehicle may not be operated on the 
interstate highway system or U.S. highways. 
The vehicle must be issued a certificate of 
registration, license plate, and yearly decal 
from the Tax Commission and be registered 
annually. The measure creates a 5-day 
temporary tag for out-of-state owners of 
street-legal utility vehicles. 
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HB 2465 (Dick Lowe/Paxton) authorizes the 
Department of Public Safety to enter into 
agreements with local school districts, the 
Oklahoma Department of Career and 
Technology Education, or institutions of 
higher education to act as approved written 
examination proctors for Class A, B, C, or D 
driver license tests. 

Transportation Funding 
 
SB 298 (Dugger/McDugle) extends the 
98.4% and 98.1% remittance rates for 
gasoline and diesel respectively from July 1, 
2022, to July 1, 2024. 
 
SB 313 (Jech/Ranson) provides the fees for 
all special or personalized license plates 
issued after January 1, 2022, to be remitted 
at the same time and subject to a single 
registration period. Upon receipt of a special 
license plate, the owner shall surrender the 
original plate to the Oklahoma Tax 
Commission. The measure also directs the 
Oklahoma Tax Commission to determine a 
method for making required fee adjustments 
when a special or personalized license plate 
is obtained during a 12-month period for 
which a registration fee has already been 
remitted. 
 
SB 1057 (Thompson/Wallace) creates an 
option for an 8-year license for commercial 
licenses as well as Class-D licenses. Fees for 
the 8-year licenses are also established by 
the measure. Motor license agents are 
authorized to collect a fee for processing 
REAL ID and REAL ID Noncompliant ID’s 
and Driver License applications as outlined 
in the measure. Agents shall also receive 
$5.00 for each processed application for a 
REAL ID Compliant 4-year Driver License 
and $10.00 for each processed application 
for a REAL ID Compliant 8-year Driver 
License. This measure also marries language 
changes that have been enacted during this 
legislative session in the statutes affected in 

SB1057. The married language includes the 
following: The Department of Corrections is 
directed by the measure to coordinate with 
the Department of Public Safety to provide 
REAL ID Noncompliant Identification 
Cards to all inmates who do not have a 
current state-issued identification card or 
driver license upon their release from 
custody. Any inmate who is unable to 
provide the Department with the required 
information may use a Department of 
Corrections-issued consolidated record card 
to serve as a valid identification document to 
obtain a REAL ID Noncompliant 
Identification Card. Such cards shall be 
valid for a 4-year period. The fee charged 
for the issuance or replacement of a REAL 
ID Noncompliant Identification Card hall be 
deposited in the Department of Public Safety 
Revolving Fund. The measure also 
authorizes the Department of Public Safety 
to enter into agreements with local school 
districts, the Oklahoma Department of 
Career and Technology Education, or 
institutions of higher education to act as 
approved written examination proctors for 
written examinations relating to driver 
licenses. The Department must approve at 
least 1 public transit agency that has or 
maintains a program instructing students for 
a Class A, B or C license to hire or employ 
thirdparty examiners. The Oklahoma Tax 
Commission is required by the measure to 
submit a monthly report of the 
apportionment reimbursed out of the 
License and ID Apportionment 
Reimbursement Revolving Fund to the 
Chair of the Senate Appropriations 
Committee and Chair of the House of 
Representatives Appropriations and Budget 
Committee. 
 
HB 2079 (McCall/Quinn) establishes the 
Rural Economic Transportation Reliability 
and Optimization Fund to be administered 
by the Oklahoma Department of 
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Transportation. Monies from the fund shall 
be appropriated to assist the Department in 
the equitable prioritization of construction, 
repair, and maintenance of state highways in 
rural areas where robust economic 
development has resulted in traffic safety 
and circulation difficulties attributed to 
significant and unanticipated increases in 
traffic volumes and as fully recorded and 
documented by the Department. Robust 
economic development shall mean those 
conditions of the highways of this state in 
counties with a population of less than 
50,000 where traffic volumes have increased 
to become so impaired or hazardous as to 
constitute a threat to the safety of persons or 
property traveling over or upon such 
highways. Once confirmed and documented, 
the Department of Transportation may 
utilize proceeds from the Rural Economic 
Transportation Reliability and Optimization 
Fund to incentivize and leverage the 
acceleration and prioritization of 
improvement projects existing in or to be 
incorporated into the Eight-Year 
Construction Work Plan. 
 
HB 2234 (Hilbert/Taylor) creates the 
Driving on Road Infrastructure with 
Vehicles of Electricity (DRIVE) Act of 
2021. The measure levies a $0.03 tax per 
kilowatt hour or its equivalent on the electric 
current used to charge or recharge the 
battery or batteries of an electric vehicle 
beginning January 1, 2024. This tax shall 
not be applicable to electric vehicles charged 
at a private residence at which the owner or 
occupant of the residence uses electric 
power paid for by the owner or occupant of 
the residence. A charging station operator 
shall make a full and conspicuous disclosure 
at the site of the charging station and on the 
website maintained by or on behalf of the 
owner or operator. Any tax revenue 
collected shall be apportioned to the DRIVE 
Revolving Fund and counties throughout the 

state. The measure provides that 85% of the 
monies shall be apportioned to the Fund and 
15% shall be apportioned to the counties. 
The measure requires charging station 
owners to remit the tax monthly, using 
forms prescribed by the Tax Commission. 
Legacy chargers, and public charging 
stations that have never charged a fee for 
their use, are exempt from remitting the tax 
until 2041. The Tax Commission may 
terminate a charging station owner’s 
operator license if the owner fails to remit 
the tax as required. The Oklahoma 
Corporation Commission may inspect the 
premises and equipment of the charging 
station, and may require periodic third-party 
testing, calibration, and inspection reports. 
The Commission may set fees necessary to 
carry out these duties, and may also assess a 
penalty of not more than $500 per day to 
charging station operators that fail to comply 
with these requirements. Charging stations 
constructed after November 1, 2021 shall 
use a metering system that is capable of 
imposing the cost for the charging service. 
The metering system shall include a system 
that allows for an audit of the electricity 
supplied. The Oklahoma Tax Commission 
may inspect the premises and equipment of 
any charging station in order to enforce 
compliance. The measure allows each motor 
license agent to retain $3.56 for each electric 
vehicle registered. Agents may also retain 
$3.25% of the vehicle excise tax collected. 
 
HB 2892 (Wallace/Thompson) hanges the 
counties’ allocation of revenue from the 
Oklahoma Vehicle License and Registration 
Act. Beginning July 2021, 25% of the 
monthly allocation that would otherwise be 
credited to the County Improvements for 
Roads and Bridges Fund would be 
distributed directly to the counties: 1/3 of 
the funds distributed in proportion by area, 
1/3 by proportional share of county road 
miles, and 1/3 by proportion based on 
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bridges in a county (For FY 2021-2026, 
based upon yearly ODOT Bridge Summary 
Reports for obsolete or deficient bridges; 
beginning in 2026, based on the number of 
bridges in each county according to the 
ODOT 2020 Bridge Summary Report).  
 
HB 2895 (Wallace/Thompson) updates the 
funding mechanism for the Rebuilding 
Oklahoma Access and Driver Safety 
(ROADS) Fund. The measure apportions 
$80 Million to the fund for the purpose of 
making required payments for principal, 
interest or other costs of borrowing, and 
further authorizes apportionment of an 
amount necessary to bring the amount in the 
fund up to $575 Million for FY 2021 and 
$590 Million for FY 2022 and every year 
after. 
 
HB 2896 (Wallace/Thompson) authorizes 
the Oklahoma Capitol Improvement 
Authority to issue bonds or other obligations 
in an amount necessary to raise $200 
million. 
 

Agency FY21 
Appropriation 

FY22 
Appropriation 

Change 
from 

Original 
Oklahoma 

Department of 
Transportation 

$765,000,000 $761,893,663 -0.41% 

 

 
Veteran Measures 
 
SB 86 (Simpson/Miller) modifies the 
membership criteria of the Oklahoma 

Veterans Commission. The measure 
decreases the number of veterans from the 
Vietnam conflict from 3 to 1 and increases 
the number of Persian Gulf Wars members 
from 1 to 2 members. The measure requires 
appointments to the Commission to be 
broadly representative of the veterans of this 
state in terms of age, gender, and ethnicity. 
Additionally, the measure prohibits the 
appointment of any member to the 
Commission if he or she is related by 
affinity or consanguinity within the third 
degree to any person employed by the 
Oklahoma Department of Veterans Affairs. 
 
SB 114 (Simpson/ Tommy Hardin) repeals 
the requirement for the War Veterans 
Commission to prioritize applicants 
currently confined in state institution as well 
as provisions of law creating the Agent 
Orange Outreach Commission and the Gulf 
War Syndrome Outreach Commission. 
 
SB 285 (Simpson/Tommy Hardin) directs 
the Oklahoma Department of Veterans 
Affairs to evaluate the Union Soldiers Home 
and determine the measures and the amount 
of funds necessary to meet all standards 
required by the United States Department of 
Veterans Affairs. The Department must 
submit a report of its findings no later than 
November 1, 2021, to the President Pro 
Tempore of the Senate and Speaker of the 
House. 
 
SB 860 (J.J. Dossett/Burns) renames the 
45th Infantry Division Museum as the 
Oklahoma National Guard Museum and 
authorizes the Museum to sell military 
artifacts, books, and maps and to use the 
proceeds to fund artifact purchases and 
museum upgrades. The measure also 
updates references to the museum as it 
relates to the Armed Forces Veterans 
Motorcycle License Plate. 
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HB 2271 (Cornwell/Simpson) authorizes 
persons with a Purple Heart License Plate to 
park in handicapped parking spaces. 
 
HB 2374 (Davis/Bullard) directs the state to 
develop a program to provide up to 
$10,000.00 in financial assistance for 
funeral expenses for eligible members of 
state military forces who die in the line of 
duty while serving on state active-duty 
orders. The measure directs the Director of 
the Oklahoma Department of Emergency 
Management or their designee of the 
Oklahoma Department of Emergency 
Management to determine whether the 
deceased member is eligible for the program 
and to disburse funds from the Oklahoma 
Homeland Security Revolving Fund to such 
members. 
 
HB 2508 (Kannady/Simpson) modifies the 
eligibility criteria for Adjutant General to 
require an individual to be eligible for a 
Certificate of Eligibility if not already a 
general officer. The measure also authorizes 
the Governor to appoint multiple Assistant 
Adjutants General after considering the 
number of such positions recommended by 
the National Guard Bureau. The Adjutant 
General may, in writing, delegate specific 
command or supervisory authority to the 
Assistant Adjutants General or to general 
staff officers. The measure directs the 
Adjutant General to develop, publish and 
maintain an enlisted and officer rating 
scheme for all billets assigned to joint forces 
headquarters and an organizational chart, to 
be updated annually, showing the chain of 
command between the Adjutant General and 
the major commands of the Oklahoma 
National Guard. The measure allows the 
Governor to order the National Guard on 
state active duty in the event of an imminent 
or existing epidemic or pandemic. The 
measure also adopts civil law protections 
established in the federal Servicemembers 

Civil Relief Act as state law and applies 
them to state military forces on state active 
duty or Title 32 active duty. Any officer or 
employee of the state or political subdivision 
who is not a member of the state military 
force is entitled to military judicial leave 
from their regular employment when serving 
as a military trial judge or an appellate 
military judge. The employing state agency 
or political subdivision is required to pay 
full regular pay for the first 30 regular 
business days the employee is absent. For 
any time after this, the employer must pay a 
difference prescribed in the measure. The 
bill modifies personal liability for military 
forces to include only forces acting in the 
line of duty. The measure directs the 
Adjutant General to designate a State Judge 
Advocate from the judge advocates duly 
commissioned in the state military forces. 
The senior force component judge advocate 
of each force component shall oversee 
certain duties. These senior force component 
judge advocates shall also determine the 
place of duty and frequency of reassignment 
among the major commands for each judge 
advocate and paralegal in their respective 
force components. The State Judge 
Advocate shall provide legal counsel to the 
Adjutant General and, as requested, to the 
other senior leaders of the state military 
forces. The measure allows any officer 
setting a punishment to mitigate that 
punishment at any time, so long as the 
mitigated punishment isn’t for a greater 
period than the original punishment. Any 
nonjudicial punishment may be appealed to 
a senior officer designated by the Adjutant 
General. The measure prohibits certain 
military trial judges from reviewing certain 
trial records if the judge served as an 
assistant attorney general, district attorney, 
assistant district attorney, or municipal 
prosecutor who determined whether to 
prosecute certain nonmilitary offenses. The 
measure also provides for the calculation of 
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compensation for military trial judges. The 
measure requires military magistrates to be a 
member of the bar of a federal court or the 
highest court of a state and certified to be 
qualified for duty as a military magistrate by 
the State Judge Advocate. No military 
magistrate may issue warrants or court 
orders for contents or records of wire or 
electronic communications. The measure 
modifies the definition of a judicial officer 
to include a military magistrate. The 
measure prohibits current state employees of 
the Oklahoma Military Department and 
federal technicians from being nominated to 
serve on the Military Court of Appeals. 
Statutory language establishing criminal 
procedure in district courts shall not apply to 
court-martial proceedings and where 
statutory language conflicts within any 
appellate provisions in the Oklahoma 
Uniform Code of Military Justice, the 
conflicting statutory language shall not 
apply to appellate proceedings arising from 
court-martial proceedings. State employees 
serving as military trial judges or appellate 
military judges are exempt from the 
statutory language prohibiting someone 
from holding an office under the laws of the 
state or being a deputy of someone holding 
office and also holding any other office or 
being a deputy of another office. The 
measure classifies members of the state 
military forces on state active duty or Title 
32 active duty as state employees regardless 
of where their duties as employees are being 
performed. The measure also clarifies that 
the state is not liable for losses or claims 
resulting from the activities of state military 
forces on state active duty or Title 32 active 
duty. The measure modifies leave of 
absence procedures to include members of 
state military forces on state active duty. If 
the leave of absence exceeds the 30 
regularly scheduled work days for which 
state employees should receive their full 
regular pay, the employing state agency is 

required to pay the difference between their 
full salary pay and their military base pay, 
and this calculation shall exclude untaxed 
military allowances and entitlements. 
 
HB 2545 (Burns/Simpson) creates the 
Oklahoma Uniformed Services Employment 
and Reemployment Rights Act. The measure 
prohibits employers from discriminating 
against employees or prospective employees 
based on their membership or service in 
state military forces. Employers are further 
prohibiting from discriminating against any 
employee or prospective employee who has 
enforced a protection, testified, assisted an 
investigation, or exercised a right in regards 
to the Oklahoma Uniformed Services 
Employment and Reemployment Rights 
Act. The measure also provides that any 
person whose absence from employment is 
necessitated by reason of service in state 
military forces, provided that the person has 
given advance notice to their employer, is 
not absent for a cumulative length of more 
than 5 years, and reports or submits a 
reemployment application to their employer 
shall be entitled to reemployment. The 
measure further provides for exceptions to 
these provisions, requirements regarding 
application for reemployment, and order of 
priority when reemploying members of the 
same position. The measure requires the 
administrator of each state agency or 
political subdivision to submit a report to the 
House and Senate Veterans and Military 
Affairs committees by December 31 of each 
year that contains the number of persons 
whose reemployment with such state agency 
or political subdivision was determined to be 
impossible or unreasonable, with the reason 
for that determination. The measure also 
requires the Commissioner of Labor to assist 
such persons and investigate any complaints. 
The measure provides for complaint and 
judicial process. Finally, the measure 
requires each state agency and political 
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subdivision to provide training for their 
human resources personnel about the rights, 
benefits and obligations provided in the Act 
and the application of its requirements. 

Veterans Funding 
 
HB 2944 (Wallace/Thompson) authorizes 
the Oklahoma Capitol Improvement 
Authority to issue obligations to acquire 
property to develop and provide funding for 
a new Oklahoma National Guard Museum in 
a total amount necessary to generate $45 
million in project funds. Upon final 
redemption or defeasance of the obligations, 
the title to the property and improvements 
shall be transferred to the Oklahoma 
Military Department. 
 

Agency FY21 
Appropriation 

FY22 
Appropriation 

Change 
from 

Original 
Department of 
Veteran Affairs $33,316,393 $34,316,393 3.00% 

 

 
Senate & House Joint Resolutions 
 
SJR 23 (Standridge/Echols) is a continuing 
application for an Article V Constitutional 
Convention. The resolution calls for an 
Article V Constitutional Convention in order 
to pass a Constitutional Amendment to limit 
federal appropriations made by the Congress 
in a fiscal year to the amount of all 
estimated federal revenues for that fiscal 
year. The joint resolution also calls for 
another Article V Constitutional Convention 

that shall propose and consider amendments 
that impose fiscal restraints on the federal 
government, limit the power and jurisdiction 
of the federal government, and limit the 
terms of office for its officials and for 
members of Congress. 
 
HJR 1046 (Gann/Daniels) is the annual 
omnibus administrative rule 
approval/disapproval measure. 

Vetoed Measures 
 
SB 222 (Standridge/Pae) modifies the 
definition of “bullying” within the School 
Safety and Bullying Prevention Act to 
include behavior that is repeated or highly 
likely to be repeated. The measure requires a 
school district board of education to update 
its discipline and bullying policy annually. 
The measure allows a student, school 
employee, school volunteer or the parent or 
legal guardian of a student to report an act of 
bullying and requires anonymous reports to 
be investigated in the same manner as other 
reports. The measure provides immunity 
from a cause of action to school employees, 
school volunteers, students and parents or 
legal guardians of students who promptly 
report incidents of bullying in good faith. It 
requires notification to be provided to the 
parents or legal guardians of a reported 
victim and reported perpetrator of bullying 
within 24 hours of receiving a report of 
bullying. The measure requires immediate 
notification of the parents or legal guardians 
of a student who expresses suicidal thoughts 
or intentions or who encourages another 
student to commit suicide. The bill requires 
a bullying policy to contain a statement 
prohibiting retaliation against a school 
employee who notifies the district board of 
education or the State Department of 
Education of noncompliance with the 
discipline and bullying policy. The measure 
directs a district board of education to hold 
at least one public hearing prior to adopting 
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or amending the bullying policy and to 
submit the approved policy to the State 
Department of Education within 30 days of 
adoption. The bill also requires a district 
superintendent to provide a report on 
bullying prevention activities and reported 
incidents of bullying to the district board of 
education at least once each semester at a 
public meeting. It requires district boards of 
education to provide each employee and 
newly hired employee with a copy of the 
bullying policy and an explanation of his/her 
responsibilities. 
 
SB 419 (J.J. Dossett/Waldron) allows a 
teacher to use the highest-achieved score on 
the U.S. history assessment administered in 
high school to calculate the final grade for 
the applicable social studies, history or 
citizenship skills unit taken the same school 
year the assessment is administered. 
 
SB 500 (Boren/Dick Lowe) requires the 
governing body of any city, town, or county 
to prepare a disclosure report for any tax 
incentives financing or tax increment district 
established by the governing body if the 
district has been in operation for at least 12 
months. The disclosure report shall be 
published on or before 60 business days 
following the end of each fiscal year on the 
website of the city, town, or county if such a 
website exists beginning January 1, 2022, 
and each year thereafter. 
 
SB 821 (McCortney/McEntire) defines 
“pharmacy benefits management” as it 
relates to the Patient’s Right to Pharmacy 
Choice Act and broadens pharmacy benefits 
manager (PBM) to include any entity 
performing pharmacy benefits management 
activities. The measure broadens the 
prohibition on PBM’s forcing customers to 
use pharmacies that are directly or indirectly 
owned by the PBM to include affiliates of 
the PBM whether in-network, preferred, or 

otherwise. Additionally, contracts between a 
PBM and pharmacist shall not prevent the 
disclosure of the total costs for pharmacist 
services for a prescription drug or from 
selling a more affordable alternative to the 
covered person if such alternative is 
available nor shall such contract fall below a 
certain price point outlined in the measure. 
PBM’s are also prohibited from 
incentivizing or requiring customers to 
differentiate between in-network 
pharmacies, whether that pharmacy is in a 
preferred or nonpreferred network, a retail 
pharmacy, mail order pharmacy, or any 
other type of pharmacy.  
 
HB 1090 (Kendrix/Howard) clarifies the 
authority of the Governor to request the 
State Auditor and Inspector to examine the 
books and accounts of public officers and 
other governmental entities as well as the 
authority of the State Auditor and the 
Performance Audit Division to examine 
books and accounts independently of a 
request. 
 
HB 1598 (Provenzano/Quinn) allows 
personnel approved by the State Department 
of Education to conduct vision screenings of 
first and third graders. It authorizes the 
Department of Education to approve the 
vision screeners. 
 
HB 1849 (Fugate/Brooks) creates a sales tax 
exemption for parent-teacher associations 
that are sanctioned by a school district and 
school support organizations, defined as 
sanctioned nonprofit organizations that 
collect funds in support of a school 
organization, club, or activity of a school. 
 
HB 2088 (McCall/Thompson) exempts the 
legislative and judicial branches of state 
government from fees and costs from 
services rendered by an executive agency. 
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HB 2090 (McCall/Leewright) expands the 
membership of the Rural Broadband 
Expansion Council from 14 to 16 members. 
The measure directs the council to develop a 
set of broadband incentive award guidelines 
and make recommendations to the 
Legislature. The guidelines would consider a 
an area’s need for services, existing 
broadband assets, whether existing resources 
have been allocated to broadband in the 
area, a preference for partnerships with other 
governmental or private entities, and the 
capacity of the provider to maintain assets 
for an extended period. 
 
HB 2313 (Lawson/Haste) modifies duties of 
the Office of Juvenile System Oversight 
(OJSO). The measure requires the OJSO to 
conduct inspections of privately operated 
children’s facilities not less than annually or 
as needed. OJSO will have access to all 
children and youth facilities to conduct site 
visits and speak with residents. 
 
HB 2500 (Culver/David) specifies that a 
person serving on the Oklahoma Abstractors 
Board must be a licensed abstractor and who 
has held the Oklahoma abstract license for 
not less than 5 years in a county in the 
district from which the member is appointed 
prior to appointment. 
 
HB 2510 (Kannady/Thompson) modifies 
“approved purpose” as it relates to the 
Political Subdivisions Opioid Abatement 
Grants Act to include addressing the needs 
of parents and caregivers caring for babies 
with neonatal abstinence syndrome. The 
measure also provides for law enforcement 
and emergency responders to receive 
reimbursements for mental health response 
training. Additionally, the measure 
authorizes reimbursements of attorney fees 
and expenses directly related to opioid 
litigation incurred as part of legal services 
agreements entered into before May 21, 

2020. Eligible participants in the program 
are expanded to include any political 
subdivision or first responder organization 
negatively impacted by the opioid crisis. 
The measure provides for the Oklahoma 
Opioid Abatement Board to award grants 
based on criteria approved by the Board. 
Such awards must be listed on a distribution 
table. 
 


