

Oklahoma State Senate

Legislative Brief

June 2000

FRAUDULENT DRIVER LICENSES

Issue Background

In 1998 there were 1,298 alcohol-related accidents in Oklahoma involving persons between the ages of 18 and 26 years of age which resulted in 53 deaths. Data showing that a large percentage of these drivers were underage and used fraudulent driver licenses to purchase the alcohol received increased attention from the Legislature, the Department of Public Safety, law enforcement in general and the public.

In the past year, the Department of Public Safety issued 16,172 duplicate driver licenses to the 18-26 year old age group - 7,225 were issued to the 18-20 years old age group and 8,947 were issued to the 21-26 years old age group. These numbers indicate at least three duplicates and sometimes as many as nine duplicates per person have been issued. Computer scanned ID cards and driver licenses and Internet driver licenses are equally as big a problem as duplicates.

In response to the disproportionately high numbers of duplicate driver licenses issued to these age groups and the need to curtail this practice, the Legislature passed legislation to phase in the Digital Image Driver License and has added judicious breadth to the current fraudulent driver license laws.



Summary of Actions

Digital Driver License Provisions

HB 2100

- → Provides Oklahoma with a state-of-the-art driver license and identification card system utilizing digital technology security features including digital fingerprint, photo and signature.
- A Reduces the possibility of identity theft or abuse.
- ♠ Deters under age drinking and purchase of tobacco products.

Senate Staff page 1

- ← Enables fast and accurate replacement of lost or stolen driver license or identification card.
- A Provides the state a secure process for driver license or identification card renewal.
- ♠ Provides law enforcement access to driver license photographs for identification purposes.

Fraudulent Driver License Provisions

SB 1406

- ♠ Requires any male, at the time of application or renewal of a driver license, between 18 and 25 years of age to present documentation that he has complied with the requirements of Section 3 of the Military Selective Service Act, 50 U.S.C. App. Sec. 453, as amended.
- ♠ Requires every applicant for a driver license to provide primary and secondary proofs of identity.
- → In case of lost license, requires every applicant for a duplicate driver license to show a primary and secondary proof of identity which shall include a minimum of a birth certificate and a notarized affidavit of another licensed Oklahoma driver over the age of 21.
- ♠ When renewing a driver license, requires the applicant to show primary and secondary proofs of identity.
- ♠ Authorizes the Department of Public Safety to cancel or deny a person's driving privilege if:
 - the person was not entitled to a driver license issued to that person,
 - the person fails to give correct information in the application, or
 - the person committed or aided another person in obtaining a fraudulent driver license or identification card.
- A Makes it unlawful for any person with fraudulent intent to lend, sell, or otherwise offer the use of the person's name, address, social security number, date of birth, or any other personal identifying information or document to any other person with the intent to allow the other person to use the information to obtain any identifying document in the name of the other person. Any person convicted of violating this provision shall be guilty of identity theft which is a felony offense.

Contact For More Information:

Jeri Trope (405) 521-5693 trope@lsb.state.ok.us

Prepared By: Jeri Trope

The Oklahoma State Senate, Senate Staff

Senator Stratton Taylor, President Pro Tempore

Senate Staff page 2